Customer Reviews for

Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Read

Billy Graham's "Nearing Home" is an inspirational book about aging. I read this book, even though I am still in my 20's, because I think that it is important for us to understand that even as we become older, our purpose remains. It always seems as if the most purposefu...
Billy Graham's "Nearing Home" is an inspirational book about aging. I read this book, even though I am still in my 20's, because I think that it is important for us to understand that even as we become older, our purpose remains. It always seems as if the most purposeful time of our life is when we are raising children, taking care of a family, and working every day, but Graham shows us that even as life begins to slow down for us, God still has a purpose for our life. This book incorporates scripture and some of Graham's own life experiences as the backbone for his story. He also talks about practical subjects such as retirement, money, and hope. I think that this book would be a great Christmas present for the loved ones in our own lives who are nearing home, as a reminder that God still has a purpose for them in their lives, and that their journey isn't over yet. For me, it also helped me to appreciate the elderly people in my own life, and understand that they still have a God given purpose to fulfill. I would give this book a 4/5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

posted by SavvyMomma on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

?

Have you noticed the long winded plot spoilers always get their books for free for a 'non biased' review? Do u ppl ever stop to consider that you are ruining a book for others? Why would we pay for a book that you just told everything about? I do not care if you got it ...
Have you noticed the long winded plot spoilers always get their books for free for a 'non biased' review? Do u ppl ever stop to consider that you are ruining a book for others? Why would we pay for a book that you just told everything about? I do not care if you got it for free from a publisher, book club or santa claus. Just stop revealing everything about the blamed book.

posted by 8888649 on November 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Awesome Read

    Billy Graham's "Nearing Home" is an inspirational book about aging. I read this book, even though I am still in my 20's, because I think that it is important for us to understand that even as we become older, our purpose remains. It always seems as if the most purposeful time of our life is when we are raising children, taking care of a family, and working every day, but Graham shows us that even as life begins to slow down for us, God still has a purpose for our life. This book incorporates scripture and some of Graham's own life experiences as the backbone for his story. He also talks about practical subjects such as retirement, money, and hope. I think that this book would be a great Christmas present for the loved ones in our own lives who are nearing home, as a reminder that God still has a purpose for them in their lives, and that their journey isn't over yet. For me, it also helped me to appreciate the elderly people in my own life, and understand that they still have a God given purpose to fulfill. I would give this book a 4/5.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    how to make the most with what God gave you

    "nearing home" is a very special book and very hard to put down. billy graham shares alot of the wisdom from his many years in the ministry and includes some wonderful scripture and comments and very inspirational life lessons that help individuels deal with many of the storms that come along our path like death of a loved one or a friend and how to deal with your later years but the thing that I like most about this book is dr graham has alot of courage to bring to us in this wonderful book it would be great for a Bible study at church or a gift to a pastor or a friend or family member for a birthday or the holidays.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Encouraging

    "I had been taught all of my life how to die, but no one had ever taught me how to grow old," said Billy Graham several years ago in an interview by Newsweek. That started him thinking about writing on the topic of aging. In Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well, the 93-year-old evangelist offers his lessons learned, advice, and encouragement for preparing for and dealing with the difficulties of illness, retirement and aging. While aging is full of challenges, it is also a time that can be full of effectiveness and meaningfulness in living out God's plan for your life, because God has a plan for you as long as you are living. The best way to meet the challenges of old age is to prepare before they arrive. When we plant our roots deep in the Word of God, our faith is strengthened and He gives us strength to prepare us for whatever life has in store. Whether you are 29 or 99, there is much to ponder in these ten short chapters on how you are living out the days of your life and how to be hopeful for the years ahead. But most of all, the words in this book will fill you with a sense of hope, no matter which season of life you are living. If you are fearful of the change of seasons or uncertain of what the upcoming season will bring, Billy Graham's spiritual and practical advice will fill you with courage and prepare you to face it with victory. I have underlined and highlighted many words of wisdom from this encouraging and useful book. It holds a permanent place in my personal library and I plan to open it frequently in the years to come. BookSneeze® provided me a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Nearing Home by Billy Graham

    would read anything by Billy Graham and enjoy it. He is one of my favorite writers and I sure hope he puts on another crusade in Charlotte NC as I will jump at the chance to attend. You can always count on Rev. Graham to show you the direction that you should be turned in to see the light when it crosses that horizon we call faith.
    In this particular book, he speaks to the older crowd and talks about things important to them to help them keep their focus on God for instance will planning and having financial matters in order - not for the sake of so doing but he says to help keep you focused on God and not distracted by worrying about the matters to which you have attended to for yourself.
    This book would be very well suited for older adults as it seems to speak directly to their life options and needs. If you have a grandparent keep inmind that Christmas is right around the corner and consider this a great gift opportunity!!
    I aggreed to receive this book free of charge through the Book Sneeze Program but that did not influence my opinion.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    ?

    Have you noticed the long winded plot spoilers always get their books for free for a 'non biased' review? Do u ppl ever stop to consider that you are ruining a book for others? Why would we pay for a book that you just told everything about? I do not care if you got it for free from a publisher, book club or santa claus. Just stop revealing everything about the blamed book.

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nearing Home

    Nearing Home by Billy Graham, is not simply a book for the old, infirm, depressed or terminally ill. It is a book that contains wise advise for every reader. On numerous occasions the bible speaks of the importance of being aware of the etrnal reality- that life here on earth will end. The book of wisdom and ecclesiastes often speaks of the wise as being aware of the issues of mortality and death rather than the foolish who simply ignore the reality of death.People have only a few useless days of life on the earth; their short life passes like a shadow. Ecc 6:12 The day of death is better than the day of birth. Its better to go to a funeral tahn to a party. We all must die and everyone living should think about this. Ecclesiates 7:1-2 A wise person thinks about death but a fool thinks only about having a good time. Ecc 7:4 Paul's letters make reference to the reality of eternal life: beyond thid physical world. If I live , it will be for Christ, and if I die, I will gain even more. I don't know what to choose....It is a hard choice to make. I want to die and be with Christ because this would be much better. Philippians 1:21-23 CEV even stating if in this life only we have hope then we are to be among all the most pitiable.

    Billy Graham is a well known figure by religious and the secular world alike. There is some comfort in knowing that he, as the author, takes time to ponder the truths of eternity and mortality. His words of strength give greater voice and credibility to the words of the bible in a world that worships the media, materialism, culture and greed. As a blogger for booksneeze, I have received this book in exchange for writing this review. My opinions are my own.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Challenge of Growing Old - Gleaned from the Foundation Truths of the Scriptures

    Often recognized as God's Ambassador, Billy Graham, candidly shares lessons he is learning from his own experience with growing older; facing issues of limited activity, the devastation of having to cope with debilitating disease, releasing the roll of ministry and leadership after a full, active, and far reaching ministry. Graham helps the reader understand that God has a purpose for our life as long as we are left here on earth. Using a balance of stories from real people in contemporary situations, and examples drawn from the scriptures he illustrate how we can learn the lessons God has for us and how we can grow stronger spiritually and closer to God through these experiences. He talks practically and realistically about: Coping with limitations, about pain, financial concerns, family relationships, business involvement, losing love ones, and legal matters. He gives the reader a new out look at the realities of growing old. I appreciate Graham's openness, his integrity, and amazing stamina to take on a project of this nature. His writing is articulate, clear, in layman's terms straight forward and practical. I have followed Graham's career over the years, attended several of his crusades, enjoyed his radio and television ministry, and been blessed by knowing many individuals directly impacted by his life and ministry. "Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well" is another testimony of Billy Graham's determination to finish well. A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own. As reviewed for Midwest Book Review.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Hopeful

    Most "reviews" seem to be editorials. Please separate from non biased reviews - I' going to try it anyway on my nook color - hope it is as good as the regular folks say it is. I'll let you know felow readers. Tish ( bought and paid for my
    Self)!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    You must check it out

    I highly recommend this for all senior adults.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    much needed read

    This Was A Wonderful Book For Me At This Point In My Life.I Wish I Had Read this Book Years Ago.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Good

    Good book, good mssage!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great book!

    Love all of Billy Graham's boojs but this is a great read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Good book, very interesting

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Good Book

    A thought provoking book. Everyone should read this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    This book is excellent!

    As always Rev Billy Graham writes from great wisdom, study from Gods Word and gives great inspiration and incredible hope. After losing our oldest son of four boys to an early Homegoing this book inspired me to finish strong and again reminded me of the Blessed Hope of Heaven and just how real Heaven is and that our son is alive and well in Heaven today. Thank you Rev Graham for taking time to write another wonderful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Recommended

    Billy Graham intimately shares with his readers, the fears, struggles, limitations and changes he himself has faced through his latter years. Within these personal testaments are the reassuring promises for us from God's word and the faith that we have that God has plans for us, no matter the stage of life.

    Though I initially had doubts that this book would have any lessons to offer me at middle age, I was struck by the truths shared within this book that were indeed pertinent to my life today and in the years to come. Billy Graham's affectionate, down to earth rapport with his readers makes this book so enjoyable.

    A must read for those facing their 'golden years' here on earth or for those looking to refocus on the promises of our eternal life at the end of earthly lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    He knows where he is going

    I never doubted where Billy is going. Now he helps the rest of us get ready for that "Great Meeting Day". Billy Graham has always been a bright light in my faith journey. he's helped me & others to live. Now he is helping all of us go the final mile. I hope to se you there someday, Billy.

    MD 5oth Anniv.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Billy Still Gets It Right!

    How does a man who has been preaching, in one form or another, for over seventy years, a man who has shared his faith with twelve presidents, a man who is probably more well known than any spiritual leader alive today, still manage to inspire and encourage believers? By writing his memoirs and sharing his life, both as lived in the past and as experienced today, with the world he served.

    Billy's writing is true and honest - both as he talks about his losses and his joys. He cannot wait to get home, but he also wants to live what years God gives to him to His glory. And as he writes, he asks the same of us.

    As I slowly enter what most would consider elderly (I am sixty), I serve as the pastor/chaplain of a group of men and ladies who are ten to twenty years older than I. Graham provides me with goals for myself and for those I serve. My prayer is that I may be as encouraging as Billy Graham is to his readers when, and if, I reach the age of 93.

    This review is based on a free copy of the book provide by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Billy Graham makes a plea to an older generation not to retire f

    Billy Graham makes a plea to an older generation not to retire from life in the book Nearing Home. He talks about his own personal revelations and struggles as he grows older and encourages others to use their golden years to honor the Lord. He touches on everything from influencing the impressionable around you to addressing your fading strength and building roots.

    Seniors deal with a myriad of trials and struggles and Billy Graham addresses most of them in his book. He talks about depression and how feeling sick can turn you into a selfish person if you choose to focus on the circumstances in your life that are less than desirable. On the issue of money he tells them to make sure and not let their fears allow finances to become their master. On every issue he speaks as someone with personal experience. He opens up about his own personal struggles and what the Lord has taught him through them all.

    I really appreciated the subject matter of Nearing Home. If the older generation quits serving then the generations to follow have no example to follow and what a shame that would be. There is just something beautiful about an older Christian leading by example. It is something special that cannot be found elsewhere!

    My only criticism of this book is that each chapter seemed to go on a little to long. The format was confusing. It would seem like a chapter was summing up to a conclusion and then there would be a whole segment more on the issue. I eventually found it hard to get through a chapter due to this frustrating format. Other readers may not find the same to be true. I will say the content of this book is much needed and I have a great deal of respect for the author for not only addressing the subject but for using his own life as an example.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Good book

    Well written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6