Customer Reviews for

Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Read

Billy Graham's "Nearing Home" is an inspirational book about aging. I read this book, even though I am still in my 20's, because I think that it is important for us to understand that even as we become older, our purpose remains. It always seems as if the most purposefu...
Billy Graham's "Nearing Home" is an inspirational book about aging. I read this book, even though I am still in my 20's, because I think that it is important for us to understand that even as we become older, our purpose remains. It always seems as if the most purposeful time of our life is when we are raising children, taking care of a family, and working every day, but Graham shows us that even as life begins to slow down for us, God still has a purpose for our life. This book incorporates scripture and some of Graham's own life experiences as the backbone for his story. He also talks about practical subjects such as retirement, money, and hope. I think that this book would be a great Christmas present for the loved ones in our own lives who are nearing home, as a reminder that God still has a purpose for them in their lives, and that their journey isn't over yet. For me, it also helped me to appreciate the elderly people in my own life, and understand that they still have a God given purpose to fulfill. I would give this book a 4/5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

posted by SavvyMomma on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

?

Have you noticed the long winded plot spoilers always get their books for free for a 'non biased' review? Do u ppl ever stop to consider that you are ruining a book for others? Why would we pay for a book that you just told everything about? I do not care if you got it ...
Have you noticed the long winded plot spoilers always get their books for free for a 'non biased' review? Do u ppl ever stop to consider that you are ruining a book for others? Why would we pay for a book that you just told everything about? I do not care if you got it for free from a publisher, book club or santa claus. Just stop revealing everything about the blamed book.

posted by 8888649 on November 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Awesome Read

    Billy Graham's "Nearing Home" is an inspirational book about aging. I read this book, even though I am still in my 20's, because I think that it is important for us to understand that even as we become older, our purpose remains. It always seems as if the most purposeful time of our life is when we are raising children, taking care of a family, and working every day, but Graham shows us that even as life begins to slow down for us, God still has a purpose for our life. This book incorporates scripture and some of Graham's own life experiences as the backbone for his story. He also talks about practical subjects such as retirement, money, and hope. I think that this book would be a great Christmas present for the loved ones in our own lives who are nearing home, as a reminder that God still has a purpose for them in their lives, and that their journey isn't over yet. For me, it also helped me to appreciate the elderly people in my own life, and understand that they still have a God given purpose to fulfill. I would give this book a 4/5.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Challenge of Growing Old - Gleaned from the Foundation Truths of the Scriptures

    Often recognized as God's Ambassador, Billy Graham, candidly shares lessons he is learning from his own experience with growing older; facing issues of limited activity, the devastation of having to cope with debilitating disease, releasing the roll of ministry and leadership after a full, active, and far reaching ministry. Graham helps the reader understand that God has a purpose for our life as long as we are left here on earth. Using a balance of stories from real people in contemporary situations, and examples drawn from the scriptures he illustrate how we can learn the lessons God has for us and how we can grow stronger spiritually and closer to God through these experiences. He talks practically and realistically about: Coping with limitations, about pain, financial concerns, family relationships, business involvement, losing love ones, and legal matters. He gives the reader a new out look at the realities of growing old. I appreciate Graham's openness, his integrity, and amazing stamina to take on a project of this nature. His writing is articulate, clear, in layman's terms straight forward and practical. I have followed Graham's career over the years, attended several of his crusades, enjoyed his radio and television ministry, and been blessed by knowing many individuals directly impacted by his life and ministry. "Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well" is another testimony of Billy Graham's determination to finish well. A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own. As reviewed for Midwest Book Review.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great book!

    Love all of Billy Graham's boojs but this is a great read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Recommended

    Billy Graham intimately shares with his readers, the fears, struggles, limitations and changes he himself has faced through his latter years. Within these personal testaments are the reassuring promises for us from God's word and the faith that we have that God has plans for us, no matter the stage of life.

    Though I initially had doubts that this book would have any lessons to offer me at middle age, I was struck by the truths shared within this book that were indeed pertinent to my life today and in the years to come. Billy Graham's affectionate, down to earth rapport with his readers makes this book so enjoyable.

    A must read for those facing their 'golden years' here on earth or for those looking to refocus on the promises of our eternal life at the end of earthly lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Glad This Book Was Recommended to Me

    Short book. Meaningful read for adults of all ages regardless of personal faith beliefs. Excellent. Makes a great birthday gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Good advice

    Such a good man. You can always count on him for solid advice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Well written

    A good book for young and older Christians alike. This book can help teach us how to live and die as godly men and women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    We have a great roll model

    Read and find out how meany jobs God had givin Billy Graham and how his wife helped him become the Man that we all love and treasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Very well written with many Biblical references to aging and old

    Very well written with many Biblical references to aging and old age. Rev. Graham is able to relate experiences of aging and (not morbidly) death a he has now experienced a busy life and is nearing the end of his life. It is a a realistic look at aging through the eyes of a very religious man. This book can also help the younger generation understand the older, aging generation and what each can learned from the other. Not a long book and well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Well written

    I have long viewed Billy Graham on TV and found his messages very powerful andvinspiring. This book is just as good, and it is interesting to hear his thoughts as he has aged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In the evangelical circles with which I am most familiar, Billy

    In the evangelical circles with which I am most familiar, Billy Graham’s lifelong reputation as a God-fearing, God-honoring evangelist and preacher of the Word has not been as celebrated as it should be. Perhaps you are familiar with the sentiment, and perhaps, like me, you have always questioned why in the world this should be the case for a man who not only attracted the massive crowds at his famous “Crusades,” but also helped lead many in those crowds to faith in the Lord Jesus. How could a man who has dedicated himself to a lifetime of preaching like this be looked down upon? Could it only have been that he was successful? famous? Or was is that he was rubbing elbows with people from he should have been distancing himself? The wind that really drove that darn anti-Graham fire into a sweeping blaze occured back in 1957 when Graham joined forces with the liberal Protestant Council of the City of New York, thereby forever buring a rift between “new evanelicals” and what were properly called at that time “fundamentalists” (Nettles, Four View of Evangelicalism, 2011 - Kindle loc. 169). While many still enjoy holding Graham to the fire for his questionable associations, none can doubt the impact he has had on the hearts of millions worldwide, including, might I add, the likes of George W. Bush and other world leaders.

    Nearing Home was for me an exciting look at the thoughts of a man I knew little about, a man whom I honestly thought had died years ago. Far more than a simple recollection of times gone by, and nothing at all like a memoire, the aptly titled Nearing Home is actually a book of what Billy Graham does best, teaching the Word. This is not just a book for the elderly, though they certainly can relate to the 93-year old’s stories of aches and pains. And this is not just a book for the young to whom Billy offers a great deal of advice. It is more a book for those of all ages who can agree that, while society itself has changed far more than any Christian in 1957 could have anticipated, this is no excuse for any Christian to give up or give in to an idea that Satan has already won. Graham ends each chapter with a brief message, a call to near Home (Heaven) with qualities like hope, God’s comfort, or mature faith, and it seems that Billy has been doing just that for years. Despite the declining morality of our country, Billy Graham has great hopes for Christians in the United States, and this book, though perhaps his last, is yet another call for us all to a life of faith and right living.

    [Note: I received this book free for review from Thomas Nelson Publishing]

    ©2012 E.T.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A humbling read

    It would be a lie to say that this 2011 publication was easy to read. This is not to say that the text was too long or not well written. No, this was a difficult read because Billy Graham, popularly known as “God’s Ambassador,” is an honest look into a man’s total awareness of his pending death. It’s emotional and honest; and, the value of its words are well worth the read. At the time of this post, Billy Graham is 93 years old. I have a great-grandmother who turned either 94 or 95 earlier this month (when one’s that old, you cannot expect them to truly know their age) and she’s not ashamed to share life lessons with family and friends. Imagining the immense responsibility bestowed upon Graham at an earlier age to teach the Gospel, and to live this long, is beyond me. Without a doubt, this man has seen a lot! The tone of the book falls somewhere between that of a memoir and a final sermon. Graham does not deny the fact that the end (of this life) is eminent but reminds readers that God can use His people at any age/phase of their lives. Also, Graham does a good job at creating a sense of hope for enjoying the latter parts of life by reminding us of how much of a blessing it is to live “long.” — Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I am not required to write a positive review whatsoever. The opinions I have expressed are completely my own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    highly recommended

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Great Words From Great Man

    Through the years, I have enjoyed Graham’s work as he has tackled many subjects of the Christian faith by writing in terms that anyone can understand. I love how he always backs his thoughts up with Scripture.

    Nearing Home tackles a subject that is on many people’s mind: the latter of life. He writes from the context of approaching his 93rd birthday. He definitely writes from experience.

    At first, I thought this book would be mainly for those entering the “golden years” of life. I thought that I might have to dig to find things to relate to myself as one in his early 30s. I didn’t have to dig too deep.

    Nearing Home contains some wise words for the younger generations. The importance of preparing now for the “golden years” to come later is one key thing I took away from this work.

    Nearing Home is a book that I would recommend to people of all ages. There is truly something for everyone in Billy Graham’s latest work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Wisdom on aging gracefully for adults of all ages

    Rev. Billy Graham continues his life changing ministry through this book. For people, like me, who are frustrated by the changes of aging, his wisdom may cause a paradigm shift. There is excellent advice related to choosing a retirement strategy, advance directives and estate planning. Rev. Graham also discusses how to use knowledge and talent in new ways to make a positive difference in the lives of others regardless of changes in physical condition or personal circumstances.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Nearing Home: A Home Run

    Billy Graham once again strikes gold with this easy to read book "Nearing Home: Life, Faith and Finishing Well." Everyone knows Billy Graham. His wisdom applies to all ages in this book. Mr. Graham addresses not only end of life issues, but also mid-life issues, and wisdom imparted to those who can't even fathom "nearing home" issues. His style of writing is like a friend, giving advice, and gently admonishing when he tells you things you know you should do, but maybe haven't set a goal to do yet. Receiving this book the weekend after my own mother "went home" was a true blessing. A chapter that deals with dying and grief issues hit a poignant chord with me. This book would be a great gift for the holidays, as well as for anyone facing a loss. I read this book as part of the Booksneeze program. I was not obligated to write a positive review. I wrote a positive review because I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2