BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nearly Departed

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely amazing!

This was exactly the sort of book I was looking for. I loved it! It had great, well rounded characters that I could really care about. It also had a juicy mystery, several moments of suspense, humor, and a real ghost!

The book's engrossing mystery plot left enough c...
This was exactly the sort of book I was looking for. I loved it! It had great, well rounded characters that I could really care about. It also had a juicy mystery, several moments of suspense, humor, and a real ghost!

The book's engrossing mystery plot left enough clues that I could start to work things out throughout the story. Yet it still kept me guessing until I thought I had all the pieces of the puzzle, a bit before the main characters did. That was a tense moment, as I wanted to jump in the story and yell at the characters with what I knew, only to find out that there was still more nail-biting worry and suspense to come.

I won't spoil things, but I highly recommend this novel. It was great from beginning to end. I was only disappointed that there wasn't another novel from Max Patrick Schlienger that I could purchase.

posted by Jennifer42 on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not The Greatest

It was a fair mystery,very poor paranormal book. About 500 pages.Story line wasn't great,characters didn't move me one way or the other.Don't think I'd go for another book by Mr.Schlienger. It was free though,so....

posted by chris64CF on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Absolutely amazing!

    This was exactly the sort of book I was looking for. I loved it! It had great, well rounded characters that I could really care about. It also had a juicy mystery, several moments of suspense, humor, and a real ghost!

    The book's engrossing mystery plot left enough clues that I could start to work things out throughout the story. Yet it still kept me guessing until I thought I had all the pieces of the puzzle, a bit before the main characters did. That was a tense moment, as I wanted to jump in the story and yell at the characters with what I knew, only to find out that there was still more nail-biting worry and suspense to come.

    I won't spoil things, but I highly recommend this novel. It was great from beginning to end. I was only disappointed that there wasn't another novel from Max Patrick Schlienger that I could purchase.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I really liked this story. kept me glued to the pages til the en

    I really liked this story. kept me glued to the pages til the end. keep up the good work,max!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    OMG. Fabulous.

    Great read. I hope to see additional books from him.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    :)

    :) Wasn't scary but it was a fun mystery book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Good book

    Very entertaining read

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. Some of the characters are very funny, while others are dark and mysterious. It is a very fast read, even though there are over 550 pages. I would definitely recommend this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Hope to seemore

    Goodbook - a little wordy in parts but fun and well worth the read.....hope to see more adventures with Dennis and crew

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    a good read

    I liked it. The writing was good and the plot was engaging. A fine light mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Entertaining

    Very entertaining, and there were many twists to the story, which i enjoyed. There was some humor in the story too, which made it all the better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    A fun story about a couple of guys who get involved in something

    A fun story about a couple of guys who get involved in something much more than a ghost story. Check it out, it's a fun read. It has some minor language and sexual innuendo so probably more appropriate for ages 14+ or so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Kind of dumb...

    More funny than anything!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Ok

    Decent enough book, ending was a little weak. No spelling or grammatical errors, hooray!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Not The Greatest

    It was a fair mystery,very poor paranormal book. About 500 pages.Story line wasn't great,characters didn't move me one way or the other.Don't think I'd go for another book by Mr.Schlienger. It was free though,so....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Slow moving

    Interesting story but characters not that funny and the pace was very slow and plodding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Great read

    The story kept my interest as well as kept me guessing. First time in a long while I could't tell who did it. Fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Must read!

    Highly entertaining with laugh out loud moments. Reads like a movie. Why isn't this a movie?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    okay, but slow

    okay, not great. a mildly interesting mystery, but it was too slow for my taste. i might give the author another try if it's free. be aware that this is a paranormal mystery with a ghost.
    JB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    A very well told story.  Great characters and action!  So sad I

    A very well told story.  Great characters and action!  So sad I can't find anything else written by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Loved it

    Fun story. Quick read with high entertainment value. Suitable for "tweens" .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    what a waste of time...not funny at all most times confusing

    what a waste of time...not funny at all most times confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3