Customer Reviews for

Nearly Departed in Deadwood

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

Fun is the word that comes to my lips the most when I tell others about Ann Charles' Nearly Departed In Deadwood. Violet, Doc and the others are real people living their lives the best they can, and those lives are being lived with the background of a truly historical c...
Fun is the word that comes to my lips the most when I tell others about Ann Charles' Nearly Departed In Deadwood. Violet, Doc and the others are real people living their lives the best they can, and those lives are being lived with the background of a truly historical city of the Old West. I actually found this book during a search for a Western to broaden my reading list, and I wound up with a story taking place now. This book has mystery, romance, horror, and all kinds of great characters, especially the pretty, smart, tough Violet, who will take you on a fun adventure in Deadwood!

posted by coyote569 on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just wasn't my cup of horror

This is a romance/mystery (kinda) series. The paranormal is almost non-existant. The plot is pretty good but I found myself skipping over half of the book (literally!!) because it focuses more on how desperate this chick is for sex. It's overbearing and I can't bring my...
This is a romance/mystery (kinda) series. The paranormal is almost non-existant. The plot is pretty good but I found myself skipping over half of the book (literally!!) because it focuses more on how desperate this chick is for sex. It's overbearing and I can't bring myself to finish book #2 much less go thru the whole series. I did like the humor tho (when she wasn't in nymph mode) and Harvey by far was the best in that department. I wouldn't call it awful because the humor is good and the plots have potential. I just wouldn't put it in the horror/paranormal genre (which is what I was hoping to read). If I wanted to read sex, I'd go to the Fifty Shades route.

posted by almostlover2 on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Not quite what I expected

    I was looking to try out something new and this was recommended to me. It was only $1 so why not? I figured at best it would be okay but I was wrong. I really liked it, Violet Parker has quickly become one of my favorite protagonists, and Doc is one of the most intriguing characters I've read since Alaska Young. I was so excited to find out this was the start of a series because I'm not quite done following Violet around yet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    A very fun read

    A very enjoyable book. I foind the romance scenes more than a little creepy so i tried to scan past those as fast as possible without losing any vital information. Excluding those macabre portions of the book, it was worth the money and i look forwaed to find out what happens next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Deadwood Mystery series by Ann Cha

    This is the first book in the Deadwood Mystery series by Ann Charles. In this book, we are introduced to Violet Parker, single mom of 9 year old twins and fledgling real estate agent. Violet works for Calamity Jane Real Estate in Deadwood, North Dakota. She is just a few weeks shy of losing her job, because she has yet to sell a house during her 3 month probationary period. Violet works with Jane, her boss, Mona, her mentor and Ray, the smooth talking charmer, to everyone but Violet. To her, he taunts and sneers about not waiting until she loses her job to his nephew, Benjamin, another new real estate agent. Needless to say, Violet is getting a bit desperate to make a sale.

    At the start of this book, Violet finds out that another little blonde haired girl has gone missing in the area. This makes 3 in the past year. And the last little girl was the spitting image of Violet's little girl Addy. When Addy makes a friend of Kelly, who was the best friend of one of the other little girls who went missing, Violet starts investigating the kidnappings to make sure that her daughter is safe. 

    Along the way, she meets the new tenant of the office next door, D.R. "Doc" Neecy. She has a hard time figuring him out, but can't help but feel attracted to him. As one of her new clients, and the the man her best friend Nathalie has "claimed", she tries to keep it professional, but the sparks and tension are high.

    She also ends up with Jeff Wymonds, Kelly's dad, as a client when he has to sell his house due to his wife leaving him for another woman. At first she things he might have had something to do with the little girl's disappearance, and does everything she can to keep her daughter away from that house. But as she gets to know Jeff, she finds it hard to believe that he has anything to do with the girls disappearances. 

    Her first listing, belonged to Willis "Old Man" Harvey, who she is introduced to with the double barrels of his shot gun "Bessie" right in her face. He is quite the character and has some of the best one liners and dialogue in the book. Harvey looks after her and helps her as she works toward figuring out just what is going on in Deadwood.

    After reading the Jackrabbit Junction series, I have become a fan of Ann Charles, and she surely did not disappoint with this book. I couldn't wait to read the rest of the series, which is why writing this review took so long. *g*

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put this book down. I figured out the culprit about h

    I couldn't put this book down. I figured out the culprit about half way through and was thrilled that  I was right. I have the rest of the series on my wish list now. I can't wait to read more about the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    A fun romance that keeps you guessing

    What a fun book. I LOVED the relationship between Violet and her hero. It keeps you guessing for most of the story. Will they, won't they? :) Ms. Charles is very good at diverse (and quirky) characterization and I found a lot to like about this story. The series ought to be a blast to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Looking for more

    So real,loving,sexty too,funny, worth the wait

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    So much fun!

    Fun read. Love the sarcastic humor. Can't wait to start the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Enjoying this

    I am still reading this book, but am really enjoying it. I like the characters and story. Kind of reminds me of Janet Evonovitch's Stephanie Plum. I intend to read the rest of the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great Mystery series.

    I recommend reading the entire Deadwood collection by Ann Charles. Great mystery with humor thrown in. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    I enjoyed the first book by Ann Charles.  It isn't a complicated

    I enjoyed the first book by Ann Charles.  It isn't a complicated read.  It's light and fun.  The mystery is straightforward and you should be able to figure out who the killer is in the first quarter of the book but that down't diminish the fun.  You become invested in the characters as you get to know them.  Ms. Charles tries very hard to be funny and she succeeds for the most part.  Violet, the heroine, is a single mother whose moved to Deadwood, North Dakota to try and make a fresh start with her 9 year old twins.  She works at the Calamity Jane Real Estate.  The people she meets and befriends along the way are quirky and interesting.  They bring humor and color to the story.  If you give it a chance, Violet and her friends will draw you in, keep you interested and make you smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Good read

    I thought the book was great. It kept my interest and not too scary. I hate scary. It was funny. I plan on reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    I'm hooked!

    **4.5 Stars**

    Protagonist: 8/10
    Secondary Characters: 10/10
    Mystery: 8/10
    Humor: 8/10
    Pace: 10/10

    Wow, was this book long! But it was a great book that I enjoyed a lot. Since I only read in bed before I fall asleep (and sometimes at red lights and checkout aisles lol), this took a long time for me to read. There were a few times I postponed sleep for as long as I could just to read a bit more. I loved this authors writing style! My eyes flew across the pages gobbling up every word as quick as can be! I loved all the characters. But Violet was a tad flaky at times. I especially loved the touches of horror and romance as well!

    Like I mentioned above, my only complaint lies in the length. With my reading style I tended to forget some facts from the beginning that were mentioned at the end. But I'd imagine someone who can read the book in a few sittings probably wouldn't have that issue. Anyway, a great book that I highly recommend. I'm looking forward to reading the second book next week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    interesting read

    I liked it alot. An easy read and I wanted to keep going once I started..Read all of them now and I can't wait for the fifth one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    What a surprise this book was! Loved it! Great story and great

    What a surprise this book was! Loved it! Great story and great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2