Customer Reviews for

Nearly Departed in Deadwood

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

Fun is the word that comes to my lips the most when I tell others about Ann Charles' Nearly Departed In Deadwood. Violet, Doc and the others are real people living their lives the best they can, and those lives are being lived with the background of a truly historical c...
Fun is the word that comes to my lips the most when I tell others about Ann Charles' Nearly Departed In Deadwood. Violet, Doc and the others are real people living their lives the best they can, and those lives are being lived with the background of a truly historical city of the Old West. I actually found this book during a search for a Western to broaden my reading list, and I wound up with a story taking place now. This book has mystery, romance, horror, and all kinds of great characters, especially the pretty, smart, tough Violet, who will take you on a fun adventure in Deadwood!

posted by coyote569 on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just wasn't my cup of horror

This is a romance/mystery (kinda) series. The paranormal is almost non-existant. The plot is pretty good but I found myself skipping over half of the book (literally!!) because it focuses more on how desperate this chick is for sex. It's overbearing and I can't bring my...
This is a romance/mystery (kinda) series. The paranormal is almost non-existant. The plot is pretty good but I found myself skipping over half of the book (literally!!) because it focuses more on how desperate this chick is for sex. It's overbearing and I can't bring myself to finish book #2 much less go thru the whole series. I did like the humor tho (when she wasn't in nymph mode) and Harvey by far was the best in that department. I wouldn't call it awful because the humor is good and the plots have potential. I just wouldn't put it in the horror/paranormal genre (which is what I was hoping to read). If I wanted to read sex, I'd go to the Fifty Shades route.

posted by almostlover2 on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Great book!

    Fun is the word that comes to my lips the most when I tell others about Ann Charles' Nearly Departed In Deadwood. Violet, Doc and the others are real people living their lives the best they can, and those lives are being lived with the background of a truly historical city of the Old West. I actually found this book during a search for a Western to broaden my reading list, and I wound up with a story taking place now. This book has mystery, romance, horror, and all kinds of great characters, especially the pretty, smart, tough Violet, who will take you on a fun adventure in Deadwood!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Quirky, funny, and great characterization!

    I read the first sentence and laughed out loud. To my delight, that was a preview of things to come. Ann Charles has a penchant for mixed metaphors that will leave you thinking "Oh - she did not just say that...!"
    There's a great cast of characters here including the always out-spoken Old Man Harvey, the sultry and mysterious Doc Nyce - who can leave Violet running both hot and cold in a single afternoon - and Natalie, the sex-bomb best friend who has sworn off men (again)...or will she become the competition? The protagonist, Violet Parker is no "Shrinking Violet". She is feisty and forthright, but her curiosity may get the best of her, as she cannot resist trying to solve a good mystery. When you reach the end of book one, you will be begging Ann Charles to hurry up on the next installment!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read - Highly Recommended

    The book not only held my attention but had me second and third guessing who the killer was - Who was Doc and what was his special job? Why was Hessler selling his home now? What happened to the swim team? What was this single mother of two going to do if she doesn't sell a house??? Who was her secret admirer? All legit questions that are answered well and with a special twist at the end. Great character development and mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    A must read book

    Love Harvey. It is mystery with romantic and paranormal subplots. I never thought I would like paranormal books, but this was a good introduction to the paranormal. Read and enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    WOW!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. Even though I knew who the killer was right away, i still enjoyed reading it. One reviewer mentioned the numerous sex scenes in the book....she must have been reading a different book, because I only read one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    A fun series that does an excellent job of giving one an accurat

    A fun series that does an excellent job of giving one an accurate tour of Deadwood and Lead. Having been a life-long visitor to the area, it is highly entertaining to know the places sited in the books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    wow!!

    best book i have read in awhile!! going to read the rest of the series. well written, funny, and has a great plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Great read!

    You will fall in love with the characters, and get caught up in their lives. All her books are really good reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Stop whatever you are doing and read this book, stat!

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. Extremely well written, great characters, and laugh out loud funny. I can hardly wait to get my hands on the next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Great read worth the time to read.

    Great read worth the time to read. Fun with every turn of the page and the mystery had some great turns as well. I would recommended this book to anyone who likes mysterys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just another 5 star review

    I knew from the first paragraph or rather section of dialog that I was going to love this story. There's just something about well-written witty banter that I love. This should be made into a movie. I'd watch it in a Deadwood minute. Be still my heart. It's a series!Optical Delusions in Deadwood (Deadwood Mystery Series)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!

    Couldn't put it down! This is a must read! I am counting down the days till the next one comes out. I can't wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    This is a must read!!! You'll be hooked!

    This is a great book! I can not wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Justme

    Make sure you get all 4 books in this seires so you can laugh and have fun for days. I don't know how, but reading these books made me feel happy for days. So I'm going to start reading your next seires while I wait for more Dead Wood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Great book and great series

    Great book and great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    New series to read

    I enjoyed this book and will read the next one by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    GREAT BOOK!! Took a chance on this writer after reading previo

    GREAT BOOK!! Took a chance on this writer after reading previous reviews. Really enjoyed everything about this book. Will surely read her other books. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Can't wait for the next one!

    I can't believe how many times this woman finds herself in the wrong place at the wrong time and how many times the same two guys rescue her. Very funny and riveting at the same time. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great first book!

    I really enjoyed this book! You can tell it is a first book in a series...it is a little slow, but once you get toward the middle, oh boy! It has a little of everything psychopaths, missing persons etc. Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Great series. I really enjoyed all four of the Deadwood Series

    Great series. I really enjoyed all four of the Deadwood Series - hope for a fifth book. I really enjoyed the stories as Deadwood is just about 80 miles west of Wasta, SD. My sister in law have gambled in Deadwood, visited Lead, Sturgis and it was like being where you've had a wonderful time with someone you know. I like the way the heroine always fights back. She was no door mat. Start on the Winnebago series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3