Customer Reviews for

A Necessary Evil (Maggie O'Dell Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Exciting

    This book is very riveting, I could hardly put it down. It took many different turns and I could never have guessed them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Great read

    Kava just keeps me guessing & wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book- well written & suspenseful. I still want more details about Kate & Maggie's future with Nick. I am from the Omaha area so the setting is very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Catch myself yelling at the book!

    SOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD! She dose write great books about people you want to hate and kill yourself. Slow and painfully, Love Alex Kava!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    great read

    alex kava writes great books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Great read

    Lots of twissts and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Recommended!!!!

    A little bit of a slow start, but in the middle and the end it is awesome. I really liked how the murderer is not exposed until the very end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    A Necessary Read

    After reading 'A Perfect Evil', I could not wait until this book came out. As far as the story goes, it was worth the wait! There are three potential problems with this book. One - you need to read 'A Perfect Evil' first. Two - The author attempts to bring you up to speed very often, which is irritating, but there are still things you may miss without reading the first book. Three - There are an incredible number of characters in this book - many people to keep track of during your experience. The good news is, the reason you encounter so many people, is because most of them meet their doom. The characters are strong as usual, and the author's writing is superb. This author's books are so wonderful, they are the ones you set up to pre-order for life. This book normally would get five stars from me, but I thought with the three issues above, it didn't deserve quite as high a rating as my five stars for 'A Perfect Evil'. This author is fantastic. I have read all her books, except 'One False Move' and that is on my list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Manny Medina,a reader

    I thought 'a necessary evil' was a fantastic book. Her grisley detail keeps you wanting more. This book kept me in it for 2 days and hated for it to end. Alex Kava is a phenominal writer. i highly recommend this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AN UP TO THE MINUTE THRILLER

    Alex Kava's heroine special Agent Maggie O'Dell is strong, sometimes strident, always intriguing. She won listeners and readers in four novels - A Perfect Evil, Split Second, The soul Catcher, and At the Stroke of Madness - now, she's back with an up to the minute thriller that puts everything she knows to the test. Monsignor William O'Sullivan is at the airport clutching a briefcase, fearful that he'll be recognized. He's waiting to board a flight that will take him to New York and then on to Rome. Feeling queasy, uneasy and close to nauseous he makes his way to a restroom. After he has splashed water on his face and rinsed his hands he notices a figure standing behind him. 'I'm almost finished,' he says, thinking the person is waiting a turn at the sink. No. He feels an arm around his midsection and then a sharp pain as a knife does its deadly work. The last words he hears are, 'You're already finished, Monsignor O'Sullivan.' Thus begins Kava's goose bump producing A Necessary Evil. The murder of Monsignor O'Sullivan is turned over to Detective Tommy Pakula who realizes this case could be a career maker or breaker. Upon learning of similar deaths of clerics in other cities he calls in profiler Maggie O'Dell. With further investigation this formidable pair discover a rather sick Internet game - role playing by victims of abuse. They can't help but wonder if those who play the game haven't gone a step too far and taken revenge. Then, the unthinkable. There is one person whom Maggie hates and would give anything to find - Father Michael Keller, a brutal killer. She doesn't find him but he finds her and offers to help her solve the murders of the priests in return for protection. Will Maggie agree to such an offer? Veteran voice performer Lorelei King gives fantastic narration to this tale, revealing with her warm, sometimes liquid voice the trepidation and torment felt by Maggie. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Mrs. Kava, it was a pleasure

    After reading all Kava books in german language it was a special pleasure for me to read the first book in english. For me as a german which never read an english book it was hard to get through and finally I enjoyed the hole book. The story is quite fantastic and leaves a great feeling if somedays Mrs. Kava decides to tell us if the father was killed or not. Excellent job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    Yeah - Maggie O'Dell is Back and Better!

    I was SO excited to see Kava write another Maggie O'Dell novel - I get so into her character! I stayed up all night long reading this book and, it being so early in the morning, have nobody to share my excitement with - so I logged on to share it with other readers! I struggle to find an all-around good read, and was delighted that Kava wrote an exceptional novel! Now I eagerly await the next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Great sequel. Another Kava thriller

    Kava does it again. This is the sequel to A Perfect Evil and it is great. I wish she'd have written it 5 years ago. read A Perfect evil again and go straight into this one. This book doesn't rush through but tends to draw you into the characters. But Kava is still able to keep you hanging with her cliffhanger chapters. I couldn't put the book down. Still I would have liked to have seen a bit more romance for Maggie. This is an exceptional read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    The wait was worth it! GREAT READ!

    This is the followup to A Perfect Evil, Alex Kava's debut novel and it was well worth the wait of 5 year! As always Kava writes fast pace and leaves you wanting more at the end of each chapter. I wanted to stay up night after night (had to work) but got to the end in 4 days. Kava has taken the time to develop her characters and deepen their relationships. I agree with the above reviewer that Kava is the queen of twisted endings. I'm glad I re-read A Perfect Evil -- it leads into this story line smoothly. You'll enjoy it. A+ Alex!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Necessary Evil

    It would seem that Maggie O'Dell has two separate serial killers on her hands. One in New England kills young women, then removes their heads and takes the torso for his trophy. The other attacks Catholic priests who have been implicated in abuse cases. Is there any baffling way that the two could be connected? As she follows the trail, things only become more confusing, and more dangerous. ..................... **** This fascinating thriller will keep your attention from beginning to end. Though at times it might seem confusing as two apparently separate killers terrorize the country, the way they are connected is a stroke of genius on the author's part. Ms. Kava has become famous for leaving readers with an startling end, and she does still, but don't skip ahead to see what it is you won't get it unless you read the whole thing. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating O┬┐Dell thriller

    In DC and in Nebraska someone is killing men who have abused power with an emphasis on priests. Though the M.O. is similar and the victims all tainted, FBI profiler Maggie O'Dell begins to think two different perpetrators are at work with a common bond. That assumption leads her with the help of her mentor Dr. Gwen Patterson and Detective Julia Racine to search for the link between the killers, which she believes, is an Internet role-playing game for those who have suffered abuse at the hands powerful males. --- As Maggie worries about her friend Gwen who is acting strange and wants distance from Julia, the case takes a weird spin when the man she hates most in the world, brutal Father Michael Keller, is forced to return based on a package he received while hiding in a remote part of South America, with an offer to help her stop the killings in return for his ability to vanish once again in Venezuela. Maggie debates making a Faustian deal with the child killing devil while vengeance continues. --- Alex Kava¿s latest exhilarating O¿Dell thriller showcases the profiler struggling with a complex case made more difficult by the actions of her beloved teacher Gwen, whose fears of field work hampers her ability to help. The fast-paced story line for the most part contains the two subplots that move back and forth between Omaha and DC before tying together in an exciting action-packed tale. Fans of the series will enjoy Maggie¿s dilemma as to whether to deal with A NECESSARY EVIL or not. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4