Customer Reviews for

Necessary Heartbreak

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Necessary Heartbreak: A modern paradox on the oldest tragedy! In a word, Amazing!

I must admit, I'm not the strongest reader on this planet, but as soon as I picked up "Necessary Heartbreak" I could not put it down! We hear that term all the time, don't we? Well, in this case it can't be overstated! I did not put this book down until I had read it co...
I must admit, I'm not the strongest reader on this planet, but as soon as I picked up "Necessary Heartbreak" I could not put it down! We hear that term all the time, don't we? Well, in this case it can't be overstated! I did not put this book down until I had read it cover to cover! (That's about 7 hours for us knuckle-draggers!) When I had finished it, I felt as though I had watched a major motion picture! It took one of the oldest stories ever told, and put a modern twist on it without disrespecting the original, nor challenging anyone's beliefs! I can't wait for the next installment of this trilogy! I think I smell a movie here! Tell your friends, they'll thank you for it!

posted by CKent on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I bought this ebook because I had received the second volume (Everybody's Daughter) free through the Free Fridays Nook program. Somehow, for $11, I expected something more than 200 pages - almost a short story. It's a good story, but save your money and read Everybody...
I bought this ebook because I had received the second volume (Everybody's Daughter) free through the Free Fridays Nook program. Somehow, for $11, I expected something more than 200 pages - almost a short story. It's a good story, but save your money and read Everybody's Daughter - it stands on its own, and it's a good yarn. And a lot less expensive.

posted by 4622884 on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Story!

    What is a better way to reclaim your faith than through witnessing the moment when Christ gave his life to save ours.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. "When God Stopped Keeping Score" is available here on BN.com.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Necessary Heartbreak: A modern paradox on the oldest tragedy! In a word, Amazing!

    I must admit, I'm not the strongest reader on this planet, but as soon as I picked up "Necessary Heartbreak" I could not put it down! We hear that term all the time, don't we? Well, in this case it can't be overstated! I did not put this book down until I had read it cover to cover! (That's about 7 hours for us knuckle-draggers!) When I had finished it, I felt as though I had watched a major motion picture! It took one of the oldest stories ever told, and put a modern twist on it without disrespecting the original, nor challenging anyone's beliefs! I can't wait for the next installment of this trilogy! I think I smell a movie here! Tell your friends, they'll thank you for it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    Great book!

    The story was great and was hard to put the book down. I read it in one day and I'm so forward to reading the next in the series. This is a possible movie later on down the road. Great job by M. Sullivan!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    The first book in trilogy. It's a gritty read, much different th

    The first book in trilogy. It's a gritty read, much different than Everybody's Daughter and its prequel, An Angel Comes Home. In this story, Michael and Elizabeth Stewart witness some of the brutality Christ suffered. It gives them a new perspective about how much pain Jesus went through. I recommend this for anyone who is also suffering from a lack of faith. 

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Great book!!

    Really enjoyed the extra information that was put in this book from the original. It still kept you in suspense and was sure hard to put down. Already looking forward to the second book coming out and this would be great to see in a movie down the road too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great Story

    What a great story! I look foward to starting the next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Brilliant First Book Of The Trilogy

    Michael J. Sullivan has written an incredible first novel, the first book of the trilogy. He places his characters in First-Century Jerusalem, interacting with the apostles Peter and Judas as well as Christ Himself. It is a tense, action-adventure that keeps you turning the pages quickly. I loved the relationship between the father and daughter. Leah is a beautifully detailed character, both mystical and intriguing. Mr. Sullivan does a fine job with the plot and has us on edge right until the end -- waiting anxiously for the second book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    exciting AND thought provoking

    You MUST read this book! I was so enthralled that I literally read it in one marathon session over the course of an evening. It is a great action/adventure story with a time traveling twist (admittedly, a favorite literary device of mine)... but it is so much more than that! Full of complicated love stories (husband/wife; parent/child, etc.) and questions of faith and belief. I hate to sound trite, but it really did make me laugh and cry at turns... and truly made me think as well. I can't wait for the rest of this trilogy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    A GREAT READ!

    Sad to say but I have not read a book in years!! Now I can not wait until<BR/>this great author MJ SULIVAN strikes again.......I could not put it down.<BR/>I read it with a flash light in bed just so my wife did't at me scream. Although after she read the book she enjoyed it so much that I wouldn't have got in trouble. I love the way the author went back and forth in time and the relation between the father and daughter was so real Sullivan did a great job with it. It justed seem so real like you were there. I can't say enough. Great Work Mike!! Lets get the next one on the<BR/>shelves soon......... Denski NPT

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Disappointing

    I bought this ebook because I had received the second volume (Everybody's Daughter) free through the Free Fridays Nook program. Somehow, for $11, I expected something more than 200 pages - almost a short story. It's a good story, but save your money and read Everybody's Daughter - it stands on its own, and it's a good yarn. And a lot less expensive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    A Readers Dream

    I loved this book. I couldn't wait to finish it because I needed to know what happened. I can't wait for the next books in the series and I look forward to reading them. Wish they were here already. This book makes you appreciate your kids and the people around you that you love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    M.J. Sullivan is a star

    This book will keep you entertained, wondering what the next turn will bring. The character development is strong and predictable, but the relationships and what they are built upon (family, love, etc) are remarkable. I look forward to following M.J. and his characters through many novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Clean book. Good for teenagers. For those without faith or with

    Clean book. Good for teenagers. For those without faith or with faith. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    One of the best historical fiction books I've read in a long tim

    One of the best historical fiction books I've read in a long time. It's a story that moves like a NASCAR race. I read it twice so I didn't miss anything. Caught a few things the second time around. The story takes place during the last days of Jesus when he's taken by the Romans. The emotion is dripping off the page. The ending was frantic too. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Easter is upon us. So I picked this book up with the others in t

    Easter is upon us. So I picked this book up with the others in the trilogy. Michael Stewart travels back in time to Holy Week. He learns up close what a sacrifice our savior has made. The title fit the story well. Forget the eggs and bunnies. Easter is about Christ dying for us. Great story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I read the books in reverse order of the trilogy. I need to go b

    I read the books in reverse order of the trilogy. I need to go back and read them in order. I think it'll make more sense to me and I'll catch more of it. The first in the series is a grueling and graphic look at how Jesus suffered for us, how much pain he endured and what it truly means to love someone. It was a reminder to me to stop worrying about my little woes and enjoy what life I have. It was a big emotional moment when the widow sacrifices herself . 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    The main character is trapped along with his daughter in a viole

    The main character is trapped along with his daughter in a violent world. Filled with doubts, he and his daughter try to escape from a madman and roman soldier. The pace of the book is furious but slows down in enough parts you get to know the backgrounds and flaws of each of the important people in the story. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    !

    Another book ruined by rude plot spoilers intent on ruining the book for other readers. Please get your own web site, blog, whatever and talk about the book there, but please stop coming here and telling everything that happens.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What would you do if you found yourself transported completely b

    What would you do if you found yourself transported completely by accident into the Biblical past, back to the time of Jesus' ministry just before the crucifixion? Well that is exactly what happens to Michael Stewart and his daughter, Elizabeth.

    Having many struggles early on in his life, Michael now finds himself raising his daughter, Elizabeth on his own, having lost his wife, Vicki. Now Michael has turned his back on his faith in God and in a surprising turn of events, while helping out a food drive at the local church, Elizabeth disappears into the basement behind an ancient door in the floor. When Michael attempts to go after her, they find themselves transported into first-century Jerusalem during the last week of Jesus Christ's life.

    Not exactly being dressed in local attire and coming to the aid of a man being severely beaten by Roman soldiers, Michael is arrested for interfering. He soon finds out the man he attempted to rescue was Barabbas, accused of murdering a Roman soldier. Now trapped within an ancient prison, all Michael wants to do is find Elizabeth and get back to their real home. Elizabeth finds herself the center of unwanted attention when one of the Roman soldiers, Marcus, sees a possible wife in finding her. Now she must remain hidden while the Passover feast begins and the city is swarming with soldiers and citizens. She finds shelter and security being taken in by a local woman named Leah, who knows Michael already. How is that possible if they just entered Jerusalem today?

    When Michael is released from prison, he thinks it's because he's befriended by Marcus, only he is using Michael as bait to find Elizabeth. When Michael attempts to find Elizabeth in the busy city, he comes face to face with Jesus Christ as he is entering the city on Palm Sunday. Will Michael and Elizabeth ever find their way back home, or does God have bigger plans by transporting Michael back in the past to find his love for Christ again?

    In the novel, Necessary Heartbreak by Michael J. Sullivan, the reader is given a great look into the historical world of ancient Jerusalem and how we might view this time in history through the eyes of Michael and Elizabeth. This is Michael Sullivan's debut novel and I was fortunate enough to read the sequel to this one first, Everybody's Daughter and immediately found the connection between the two stories. This is a fantastic series for anyone who loves Bible history and who would love to go back in time without the fear of being really trapped there like our characters from the story. I love how both characters view this opportunity to meet Jesus in this once in a lifetime moment.

    I received this book compliments of Michael J. Sullivan for my honest review and once again have to applaud his talents as a writer. Even though this is his debut novel, it was well thought out and the story line is amazing. It truly holds the readers attention throughout and wonder just what the interactions will be during their trip into the past. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and if you love science fiction blended with a bit of history with a Christian twist, then this is the perfect book for you.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    A Necessary Heartbreak!

    A single parent, who had suffered hardships throughout his childhood, Michael Stewart is now raising his daughter, Elizabeth, to the best of his ability. To shun potential relationships, he digs out his wedding band.

    To fulfill her honor society credits, Elizabeth has to attain a certain number of community-related service points, so Michael is taking her to help out with the food pantry at Our Lady of the Bay Church.

    It's here that Michael and Elizabeth find a sub-basement door while stacking excess food donation boxes in the cluttered basement. Returning with the last boxes, Elizabeth is nowhere to be found. That's when Michael notices that the sub-basement door, the one he distinctly told her not to open, is lying flat against the floor. It's at the end of that sub-basement tunnel that we find father and daughter looking through a grate into a time warp of the first century, the week before Jesus' crucifixion, which they first think is a play.

    The cruelty they witness initiates them to push through the grate to rescue a man. Thus, Michael and Elizabeth are transported back into the days of the Roman Empire, filled with all the cruelty, violence, and inhumane treatment of that era. The reality of the circumstances has you imagining yourself getting dusty and dirty right along with the characters, while cautiously keeping out of sight of the Roman officers. The tension and fear are palpable. The descriptions of the locale and customs are fascinating to learn about.

    Since the story revolves largely around Michael and Elizabeth trying to re-enter their world again through the grate without getting caught by the Roman soldiers, while also trying to save Jesus from the lies, cruel beatings and death, it's highly action-packed and dangerous. The romantic tension tempers the dire circumstances Michael and Elizabeth find themselves in.

    The flashbacks of the different characters throughout the story helped bring you 'up-to-speed' as to what transpired in the lives of each of the characters to-date, presenting several different points of view. Great contrast to the storyline.

    The statement, "Heartbreak is necessary for one to understand how great God's gift of time truly is," is so poignant in the story, something Michael needs to contemplate personally. Through this statement, the author also gets you thinking on different levels as you comprehend the circumstances, past, present, and even the future, regarding Jesus and your own life. The descriptions of the customs, fear, danger, and harshness of crucifixion help you understand the background of the Scriptures better.

    I stepped outside my normal genre, and was pleasantly surprised.

    This book was provided by the author in exchange for my honest review. No monetary value was exchanged.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6