Customer Reviews for

Necessary Heartbreak

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

The story was great and was hard to put the book down. I read it in one day and I'm so forward to reading the next in the series. This is a possible movie later on down the road. Great job by M. Sullivan!

posted by Deanocuse on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I bought this ebook because I had received the second volume (Everybody's Daughter) free through the Free Fridays Nook program. Somehow, for $11, I expected something more than 200 pages - almost a short story. It's a good story, but save your money and read Everybody...
I bought this ebook because I had received the second volume (Everybody's Daughter) free through the Free Fridays Nook program. Somehow, for $11, I expected something more than 200 pages - almost a short story. It's a good story, but save your money and read Everybody's Daughter - it stands on its own, and it's a good yarn. And a lot less expensive.

posted by 4622884 on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ROMAN SOLDIERS LIKE CUNNING WOLVES AFTER THEIR PREY

    Michael Sullivan's novel "Necessary Heartbreak" has received so many colorful, descriptive, and eloquent reviews that covered the many positive points about the story; there isn't much I can add. I liked Michael Sullivan leading the reader directly into the story by Michael and Elizabeth's sudden shocking arrival in the middle of Jerusalem, wondering where they were and how they got there. That had me worrying from the beginning how they were going to get back home. The worse the troubles they faced, the more concerned this reader became wondering how Michael Sullivan would figure out where he would take his main characters next. The author's character developments are very keen; the wicked were wicked and sinful. The kindness and benevolence of the good character roles were finely tuned to loving and intensity of compassion. He gave the Roman soldiers the intellect of cunning wolves, seeking out prey with devious and calculating measures that kept Michael and Elizabeth on the run fearing for their lives especially when in the open during daylight. Leah, a woman in Jerusalem, came to Elizabeth's rescue without a second thought when Michael was arrested and thrown into prison for no reason. My favorite part of the story was how like family the three of them became as the story progressed. To each of them, the other had some familiarity that was mysterious. The book was difficult to put down and turn out the light when it was time to sleep. I won't reveal my other favorite parts of this story for fear of spoiling it for the one who hasn't read it yet. "Necessary Heartbreak is an excellent read and I think suitable for the young teen to read and learn the importance of Holy week, the crucifixion and resurrection of Christ. It is my understanding that Michael Sullivan is working on a sequel to "Necessary Heartbreak." I look forward to the sequel with excited anticipation. I'm predicting that the next book will be as full of surprises as this one, and will be another five star novel. Congratulations, Mike, on your success with this great novel. Reviewed by: Barbara J. Shelton

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    Lyric

    She ran in tears streaming down her face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Short but thrilling story about finding a miracle in a church. 

    Short but thrilling story about finding a miracle in a church. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Nice story

    I feel that this story is more for teens/young adults who are versed in the stories of the bible. The description and content are geared to that audience. The storyline is endearing and has a lesson. This would make a wonderful family made-for-TV movie to be shown around the Easter holiday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    This is an awesome book. I read the whole trilogy, and  I love i

    This is an awesome book. I read the whole trilogy, and  I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

     . 

     . 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Jesus is here for all of us. 

    Jesus is here for all of us. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Read this for Easter. The story gave me hope about making it in

    Read this for Easter. The story gave me hope about making it in this cruel world. Christ gives me hope. He gives all of us hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Fast story about holy week. Wish there were more interactions wi

    Fast story about holy week. Wish there were more interactions with Jesus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    ..

    ..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    I thought Necessary Heartbreak and Everybody's Daughter were ver

    I thought Necessary Heartbreak and Everybody's Daughter were very good reads. I felt like I was right there with them as they experienced Christ giving his life to save ours.  Michael and Elizabeth Stewart  step back in time and witness some of the brutality Christ suffered. It gives them a new perspective about how much pain Jesus went through. He places his characters in First-Century Jerusalem, interacting with the apostles Peter and Judas as well as Christ Himself. It is a tense, action-adventure that keeps you turning the pages quickly. I loved the relationship between the father and daughter. Every teenage religion should be required this as part of their curriculum.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Cute

    If you're looking for an interesting time travel book, don't get this one. Don't get me wrong, this story is cute, a father and daughter trying to reconnect during the terrible teenage years, but lacks any real time travel traction.

    The story has the father and daughter walking through a church basement tunnel and finding themselves in Jerusalem during the time of Christ. No one there finds the pair to be particularly out of place, despite their clothing and lack of knowledge with local customs. When the father realizes whats happening, he only seems to be remotely interested in a major historical moment taking place. Theres an occasional wow-look-where-we're-at, but thats it.

    The time travel aspect of this book is about as scene setting as a tree or a bush. If you read this, do it for the father/daughter dynamic, theres not much more than a passing mention to anything else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    ...

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    Absolutely fantastic!! I actually read these first two books out of order. The first one ,was a "free Friday" feature. Had to purchase this one after reading the first. Can not wait for the third. I even contacted Michael, the author to see how much longer I have to wait. Amazing concept of writing. A Must read!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Fast paced story. Wish it had slowed down a bit. But exciting!

    Fast paced story. Wish it had slowed down a bit. But exciting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Good. Second book is better. Waiting for third.

    Good. Second book is better. Waiting for third.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Uniquely Inspiring, Adventurous Thriller I had given up on Chri

    Uniquely Inspiring, Adventurous Thriller

    I had given up on Christian fiction, but Necessary Heartbreak changed my mind by speaking to my heart. I'm a die-hard romantic and had deducted from the few Christian fiction books I have read that most of them seemed to cut the passion off in a human aspect and become a great bore while over-emphasizing religion. Not this book!

    Necessary Heartbreak is transcendent because the story is primarily an adventure, discovery, and heart-wrenching tale emphasizing Michael Stewart's faith journey as he travels back in time. It is faith based and love driven. A courageous single Father who finds strength through love despite his wavering faith in God and humanity. With the vivid setting taking a reader back to Jerusalem, beautiful relationships, and suspense, this page-turner is a must read for someone looking for an original and inspiring story.

    I was intrigued with the Father/Daughter relationship. Michael struggled with, but willingly carried the heavy burden of juggling work, family, and faith as a single Dad. Like many single parents, he didn't have much of a choice but to work and shove all other matters aside for survivals sake. At times he felt guilty for doing so. He somehow managed to keep a close bond with his Daughter through their hardship. The love is apparent, had me smiling, and was very endearing.

    It is when Michael is torn from his Daughter Elizabeth by a brutal Roman soldier that my heart squeezed with trepidation. In that moment, there is a realization that he is forced to trust a complete stranger with the safe keeping of his most precious treasure: His daughter.

    The book smoothly and comfortably alternates scenes from Michael's experiences in Long Island to the adventure in Jerusalem. The reader is introduced to Michael while he is homeless on the E train, a look into the raw emotion of hopelessness that will have them rooting for justice for him in that situation. There are memories of his late Wife and the time they shared that will entrance and romance the heart. His childhood is another reminder of the extent of loss and grief he had to bear.It accentuates his great love for family and a crossroads in his faith.

    I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to read a page-turning tale of faith, love, and adventure. It will not disappoint!

    When you read this book be prepared to smile, be intrigued, and have a tissue handy. It will make you thankful for each day, each breath, and each moment. A realization that can only be reached on a higher level of understanding that a relationship with God begins in the heart and from the heart. In addition to his unending mercy, grace, and love, the greatest gift God has given us is time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Direct and to the point about Jesus' suffering, witnessed by a w

    Direct and to the point about Jesus' suffering, witnessed by a widowed father. Turning away love, he finally recognizes the blessings of his life at home in modern times. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Gritty look at Jesus' last week alive

    Gritty look at Jesus' last week alive

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Faith is questioned here and the answers are sobering

    Faith is questioned here and the answers are sobering

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6