Customer Reviews for

The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Get Ready to be Positioned.....for Purpose!

    From the humerous stories to the biblical teachings as it relates to our own personal lives, Apostle Ron uses his lifes trials as well as triumps as a basis to catapult and encourage each believer in their own purpose and destiny in Christ. I laughed, cried and praised God all throughout this book as I was taken on a journey that often reflected me and my own life! You will be challenged to be more of who God created you to be and how to recognize the "enemies" in your own life. This book does not disappoint.....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Loved It!

    This book was well worth my money! It did not let me down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best

    The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity


    byRon Carpenter is among the most motivating books that I have recently read. Ron Carpenter challanges rthe way we view blessings and God's favor. In contrast to common belief, comfortable living and financial prosperity and health are not always signs of God's favor. Just because your life is "good" does not mean it is because you found favor with God. It might actually mean the opposite! In fact the reverse may be true! Those so called "blessings" may mean that you are spiritually dead and that satan feels no need to bother with you because he has already won you over! The author address real issues- true enemies, tangible, spiritual and circumstantial- job loss, financial and professional ruin, slander, terminal illness, grief and loss. This book is designed to help those who are suffering from extreme circumstances. If you are bellyaching because you burned your husband's dinner, or the grass stain won't come out of the soccer uniform, or if missed an apointment for your pedicure, or your favorite coach bag sold out before you reached the mall, then this book isn't for you. What you need is a fluffy, superficial, condescending, feel- good, women's devotional book. But, if you truly suffer from life's heartaches, and true hardships and adversity, then this book will offer the strength you need.
    The author writes in an animated, personal easy to understand style that communicates biblical truths to the reader. He went through serious hardship and he shares his personal experience candidly with the reader. His books bring bible stories and biblical truth to life in an inspirational way that speaks out to the reader. For example David had his Goliath, Job had his adversary, and you have yours- he explains that bible heroes had enemies. He even explained that Judas was a neccessary enemy for Jesus to accomplish the will of God. In fact, he claims that Peter- a so called "friend" actually at times attempted to hinder God's greater purpose.

    His use of colorful language and his conversational tone, make it so that biblical truths are memorable and meaningful to the average modern reader. You need not be a theologen, educated in an expensive seminary or college to understand. This inspirational book will be certain to leave the reader with a lasting impression. In today's self centered society, without offense the author illustrates the importance of living life based on biblical principles. After reading this book, and really meditating on the biblical truths communicated via the author , one can feel a renewed sense of embpowerment to live a selfless life style. Max makes use of personal anecdotes as well as bible stories to illiustrate the importance of depending on God rather than on the material things of this world. If you are looking for bible based motivation and a relief in a world that takes pride in materialism, selfish ambition and competition, then this book is perfect. As a blogger for booksneeze, I receive books from Water Brook publishers in exchange for writing an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Pretty incredible!

    Our ladies Bible Study has decided to use Ron Carpenter's book for our upcoming study - it is excellent. The book is very well written, and the honest reader will relate to much if not all of it. If "it" hasn't happened to you, it has to a friend or family member. As a matter of fact, you will not want to put it down. I am so glad that Pastors Ron and Hope didn't give up in the midst of their trials. Many would have! God will speak to you throughout the book, He'll motivate you, teach you, and encourage you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Awesome!

    This is for anybody that goes through trials and hard times.......which is everybody! Gives you a better understanding that God's ways are not man's ways. We want to avoid difficulty, He wants us to walk over them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ron Carpenter, Jr. in his new book, ┬┐The Necessity of an Enemy┬┐

    Ron Carpenter, Jr. in his new book, “The Necessity of an Enemy” published by Waterbrook Press tells us How the Battle You Face Is Your Best Opportunity.

    From the inside jacket flap: “Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” — Jesus

    Congratulations! Your Goliath Has Arrived.

    Enemies often seem to get in the way of our plans, leaving us discouraged and disoriented. But what if these obstacles are a part of God’s plans for us?

    Our enemies – whether our weaknesses, circumstances, deep-seated sins, other people, or any other challenge—can become our stepping stool to new breakthroughs in life, if we leverage the opportunity. Just as David’s encounter with Goliath transformed him from a delivery boy to a national hero, our enemies can be a blessing in disguise – if only we recognize and face them head-on.

    Human nature tells us to flee our enemies, but Ron Carpenter will challenge you to embrace them. In The Necessity of an Enemy, Ron shares engaging insights like:

    • God intended for every enemy to be your footstool for promotion.
    • If you want to be number one, you can’t just beat number nine.
    • The depth of your battle gives you insight into the greatness of the potential God put in you, and enemies are your key to unlocking that potential.
    • All battles are fought over your future, not over your past or present circumstances.

    Are you ready to reach your next goal in life? Do you want biblically-based wisdom to help defeat every enemy and move with confidence to your destiny? The Necessity of an Enemy will give you the tools to change your perspective – and find meaning and purpose in all of life’s trials.

    When you read the Bible story of David at Ziklag you find that the enemy had burned the whole town, taken all the goods as well as the remaining people. David and his men have lost everything. He is brokenhearted and his men want to kill him. Then David rallies, asks God for restoration and God says it is his. So David and his men pursue the enemy, beat them, get everything and everyone back and much more in abundance. Without an enemy David would not have grown spiritually or succeeded in this area. It is sad to say but we need enemies. Enemies are the people, mindsets, weaknesses and situations that try to destroy our passion for God’s purpose and plans for our life. Enemies get us going, strengthen us as we fight them and then when we beat them provide us the spoils of victory. Pastor Carpenter has given us a book that will give us new thoughts of who our enemies are, why we have them and how to beat them. “The Necessity of an Enemy” is not a book that you will read once and then pack away. It is a book that will impact you on the first read and change you and then continue to change you with each subsequent re-read. It is that good! I recommend it highly!

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    The Necessity of an Enemy

    Not only is Ron Carpenter and excellent Preacher chosen by God Himself, but this book will help you to understand how the enemy works in your life, the need for the enemy and the purpose behind it all. You will be blessed and your eyes will be open, I know because I read this book and I will never view the enemy in my life the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    The Necessity of an Enemy: How the Battle You Face Your Best Opportunity

    The greatest book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Wonderful story of Victory!

    Encouraging and uplifting, seeing what God does for us always amazes me! A MUST to read, could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Encouraging!

    The Necessity of an Enemy by Ron Carpenter Jr. is an interesting book. The title alone is inviting.

    This book was full of a lot of wisdom, it was like reading a sermon a day. Ron Carpenter Jr. writes in a real and down to earth style. He shares all of the things he has learned in his spiritual journey. He presents things in a very matter of fact way and with humility.

    I personally gleaned a lot from this book. Before reading this book, I didn't know who Ron Carpenter Jr. was. I didn't know anything about him actually, so it was refreshing for me to get to know him in his book.

    Unfortunately, he has been through some pretty tough circumstances which he was completely candid about. Ron Carpenter Jr. shares his personal experiences and testimony in The Necessity of an Enemy. All the principles he writes about in his book, he has applied in his own life.

    This book is very encouraging and teaches you a lot about adversity and overcoming the enemy in your life. I was inspired by Ron Carpenter's life and wisdom. He has spiritual insight based on all the trials and hardships he experienced. He generously shares how he overcame it in The Necessity of an Enemy.

    My favorite chapters are "Seeing Is Not Believing", "Dream Killers" and "The Three Courts of Intimacy."

    If you have been undergoing great conflict and difficulty in your Christian walk, I highly recommend this book. The Necessity of an Enemy will definitely encourage and inspire you.

    In conclusion, I want to personally thank Waterbrook Multnomah for sending me this complimentary book to read and review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    A Book Written for Your Battle!

    Pastor Ron Carpenter has written a book for your battle! There has been a lot taught on the topic of spiritual warfare and God’s protection from our enemies, but Pastor Ron reveals how your enemies can promote you when you find yourself in a face to face with an unexpected enemy. As the subtitle reads: the battle you face is your best opportunity, Pastor Ron takes you on a guided tour of one his own personal battlefields. When at times he felt like he had lost the victory; with honesty, transparency and authenticity he shares with the reader how he began to understand how God didn’t want his enemies to destroy him, but God wanted to use his enemies to bring him into his destiny.

    Who is this book for?
    If you are in the midst of a personal battle and you need a fresh perspective on what God is doing in your life, read this book.
    If you are in ministry and you feel like it’s not worth the fight, read this book.
    If you feel as though you’ve been defeated and the enemy has beat you down, read this book.
    If the battle is behind you and your wounds are healing, read this book.

    Pastor Ron has written this book in a very unique format that makes it easy to read and include in your daily quiet times. I personally used it as a devotional because of its brief bite size chapters which makes the book easy to pick up and put down. Again, I appreciated reading about and learning from a pastor’s personal battle that too often is kept private to protect image and position. Pastor Ron’s vulnerability helps lead the reader to victory!

    I received The Necessity of an Enemy for free in exchange for this review from the Blogging for Books program.

    What book is currently on your night stand or on your digital book reader?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    "The Necessity of an Enemy" is an awesome book written

    "The Necessity of an Enemy" is an awesome book written by Ron Carpenter Jr. This book focuses on turning the usual attitude of "Why is this bad stuff happening to me" into using those bad situations to create an opportunity to be used in the way that God intended. I think that it is so easy to get caught up in feeling sorry for ourselves, or being disappointed when the twists and turns of life become difficult. This book does a great job of helping us change our attitude, and understand that when the enemy attacks, we can still let God's light shine!



    "The Necessity of an Enemy" has very short chapters, so you could definitely read it as a devotional if you choose. I liked how many different topics that were in this book, and they all tied back in to the main point of the book - as followers of God, we are bound to encounter resistance from all sides - especially from the devil. Carpenter uses this book to show us how to be prepared for that resistance, and how we can use those situations to fulfill God's purpose for our lives.

    I thought this book was great - I liked that there was a study guide at the back of the book, so that you can really soak up all of the useful insight that is in this book. I liked that the chapters were shorter, and that each one really was useful to me. I think that this book would be appropriate for anyone - we all go through hard times, and sometimes feel like we are alone, but as Carpenter puts it: "The teacher is always silent during the test". I believe that anyone can benefit from the wisdoms in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    When I came across this book on Waterbrook’s Blogging for

    When I came across this book on Waterbrook’s Blogging for Books site I was immediately interested. Maybe it was nothing more than the bright yellow cover, but it certainly felt like more than that.

    The title of this book intrigued me. Why on earth would an enemy be necessary? Hoping to find out the answer, I opted to receive this book (for free!).

    The author, Ron Carpenter Jr. spends the book telling a lot of personal stories. He tells about many difficult times in his life, how it affected him and his family, and how they have all played out overtime. Sometimes Carpenter will begin to tell one story and then begin another chapter with a completely different story. It may be several chapters later before coming back to his original point. It does not help that each chapter is anywhere from 1-4 pages long. Many of the chapters may have served better as headings in one larger chapter.

    The points that Carpenter tries to drive home are not solid. He quotes some words in Scripture, saying they mean one thing in the Greek or Hebrew when they really have a completely different meaning. He completely misinterprets Jesus’ approach to both Judas and Peter in the Garden. Carpenter says that Jesus approaches Judas as a friend because Judas is fulfilling God’s purpose while He views Peter as an enemy because he is trying to get in the way of God’s will.

    He also says that Mary is an enemy to Jesus while He is hanging on the cross. Carpenter says Jesus tells John to take Mary away from the cross. Where is that in the pages of the Bible?!

    The author tries to prove that we all need an enemy. While it is true that we often grow to be stronger after difficult situations arise in our lives, I think that by calling the Enemy “necessary” we give him too much power.

    Our focus should be on God and what He is doing in our lives. He does not bring about terrible events just so that we can grow. He uses the events in this fallen world, but it was never His original intent.

    I had a difficult time making it through this book because of the terrible references and choppy chapters. I put it down for two weeks because I couldn’t keep reading. When I finally picked it back up I read the rest in two days just because I wanted to finish it and move on. I would not recommend this book to others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended! A must read!

    Anyone experiencing a season of testing especially in the area of "character assassination", this insightful and most profound writing by Ron Carpenter, Jr., is sure to be a most indelible resource in girding you to your victory. Ron shares his personal storm and ultimate triumph with biblical examples and scriptures to bring you to an understanding of "The Necessity of an Enemy". A must have addition to your biblical resources and a spiritual guide to your inevitable WIN.

    K. Larkin, Orange, NJ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2