Customer Reviews for

Need (Need Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(652)

4 Star

(353)

3 Star

(189)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Great

Wonderful book I enjoyed reading. would totally recommend

posted by booksonmynook on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Very Twilight-esque .. but badly.

I read this with a recommendation from a few of my friends. It was, to put it lightly, okay. There were several situations where I found myself thinking I was reading a re-write of Twilight. For example, Zara, the main character, ends up being sent to a tiny, dreary lit...
I read this with a recommendation from a few of my friends. It was, to put it lightly, okay. There were several situations where I found myself thinking I was reading a re-write of Twilight. For example, Zara, the main character, ends up being sent to a tiny, dreary little town in Maine to live with her grandmother after her step-father passes away. She remarks often that she misses the sun, the heat, etc. Gets a new car when she gets there, too. Then the typical awkward staring ensues, with random little friends popping in and the "all around good guy/bad boy" Nick presents a charm for all of about 5 seconds. I won't spoil the whole book, but needless to say it was too fast, often times the author would pull up Twilight highlights, and there were parts that made no sense. Overall, I would only recommend this to someone very bored and in desperate "need" of something to read.

posted by Kyokou on January 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Sorry.

    I hate to leave a negative comment but this was just boring :/ it wasnt a page turner at all. Wish i could get my money back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Ufufj

    Ehh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Sucked

    Suckiest book ever worst 3 hours of my life

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Headache

    This was really bad, predictable. Young girl is sent to live with relative from Florida to Maine. She hates the cold, very clumsy and always the damsel in distress. Two boys take an intrest to her. She gets saved by one of the boys in a car accident. Oh and there might not be sparkles but there is gold pixie dust. The boy is always very protective of her but hes really pushy and demanding. Nope cant say I would recommend this dilluted version of Twilight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    It's downhill for YA fiction

    I got this book from the library when a friend recommended it to me, saying that it was so bad it was hilarious. So, I went in with the mindset that this was going to be a bad read. I don't really think that would've changed my opinion in the end though. This book was BAD and I can't quite understand how people aren't frustrated and turned off by the book's obvious flaws. So the story starts off with Zara who is forced to move to Maine to live with her grandmother after her stepfather dies. Her mother makes this decision because it seems like her daughter isn't quite herself as a result of the recent loss and that a change of scenery would be good for her. I could buy this if 1. we had any indication that she had seen a counselor beforehand and 2. if she wasn't sent to the very town where her father grew up. Because of course she's not at all going to be reminded of her stepfather while living with her (step) grandmother, being in the same house that he lived in for a while before moving to Charleston, being with people who knew her mother and stepfather and remind her frequently that they knew them. This single plot point has a load of things wrong with it that become apparent later in the story. Moving on, Zara gets to Maine and we observe her going through the settling in period at home and at school while thinking about her stepfather and just how much it hurts, etc. Ever since her father's death, she has been seeing a strange man staring at her outside of her house, the airport, school, etc. She talks with her new friends about this: Nick (the "most gorgeous guy in school" and she will not let you forget, with a "hero/cop" complex), Issie (a very hyper, bouncy individual who is incredibly "sweet and cute" in Zara's words) and Devyn. They combine this with recent events of boys mysteriously disappearing and eventually they come to the conclusion that it must be . . . pixies. The jump to this conclusion is pretty ridiculous. As far as I can tell, there are only two things that could warrant this kind of jump: either they exhausted all possible, real world possibilities OR they found themselves confronted with damning evidence of other wordly elements. I guess they try to use "pixie dust" as "damning evidence", but it's pretty weak and the jump to "it must be pixies" just came off as stupid. They figure out that there is a Pixie King who is in need of a Queen to be at the height of his power and if he doesn't have her, the pixies have to kidnap and sacrifice young men to hold off their hunger. So they think that the King is after Zara to make her his queen. I won't say anything more about the plot because it might "spoil it", but I will say the follow through is not done well. Zara is a weak character who later on becomes disgustingly hypocritical.
    As for the writing, Jones has potential, but here she makes so many awkward decisions in her writing that I can't find myself taking her or her story seriously. Here's an example: Zara and Nick are sitting on the floor talking after serious events and this sentence comes up: "He leans forward, hands flat on the floor, like the downward dog yoga position." Now go google the downward dog yoga position and tell me you wouldn't crack up.
    There's a lot more I could say and a lot more I could complain about - I could write an essay. But BN has its limit. I'll end with this: reading this made me question our modern

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Age

    What age group is it good for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eeehh,,,

    Not that great of a book. I mean, it doesnt even describe what the main chick looks like till like the very end.!!!!!! it went to slow, i barley got any of it, and it overall had a good story line and a cool idea, but it could have bee wwaaayy better. i got to the point when there was only like 30 pages left and i skipped to the end to see what happened.
    I overall dont recomend this book to ANYONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    EVERYONE IS A CREATURE!!

    Ok so as i read this book it turned out that like EVERYONE was a pixie or "were" creature. SO lame. TERRIBLE writing. TERRIBLE. I never in a million years thought i would say this but...Twilight was better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    B&N not so great

    I would have loved to have read the book, but b&n removed it from my library after it was downloaded to my device for a couple weeks. hmmm.. strange! it was 1.99 at the time of purchase and now is 9.99.. they told me to re-purchase it. Umm.. nope not for that price. i will look for another site to purchase e books from. my one star is for b&n! E-books should not cost 10 and 15 dollars. u can have an actual hard copy in your hand for that price

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    Disappointing

    The first book was okay,but while i was reading the second book i lost my interest. I put down the book and never opened it again when i read what happened to Nick. It felt wrong to place it on my book shelf when i really wanted to sell it. Then i was mad when i realized i could have returned it to the store months ago. So don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    Terrible - weak plot and flat writing

    When I picked this book up at the store, I expected it to be a fun read. I had read the reviews and decided to give this book a chance despite the recent bad reviews. The paragraph on the back of the book makes this story sound exciting and different, unfortunately it is everything but.

    The biggest flaw in this book is that the writing is completely flat, and so the entire book reads as something a 15 year old might write as his or her first novel. The characters have no depth, many of the events that take place make very little sense or make the characters seem as if they lack any ounce of intelligence. For instance, the author writes about a snow storm at one point in the book saying that no one can get to the house because of how horrible the conditions are on the road. Yet the characters decide to try to drive down a long driveway (which the author has just described as being un-drivable). It goes from a snowstorm of epic proportions with the lead character saying that they are snowed in, to the characters walking outside and simply dusting off the windshield and opening the door to climb into the MINI. This is just one minor example that doesn't even delve into issue with the plot or character development.

    As one review has already pointed out, there are a great deal of similarities between this story line and the Twilight series. The main character is a young girl who is sent to live in a cold and dreary place with a family member that she doesn't know very well. She goes to a school where people are a bit different and she falls in love with the hot guy who is just oh so amazing. There is little to no introduction to this undying love; it seems to just happen instantaneously, which to any reader over the age of 12 is just laughable.

    I would recommend reading the Twilight series if you enjoy paranormal romantic suspense for the teen reader. Those books have more depth and better writing. Don't waste your time or money reading this garbage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Horrible.. Just horrible...

    This is one of those books that look good, sound good, seem good, but is the complete opposite. The plot is weak. The romance is pathetic. The action is non existent. I kept waiting for the "dun dun dunnnnn" part to happen, but it never did. Nothing remarkable happens in this book. The only reason this is worthy of discussions or unforgettable is because of how bad it is. This was one of the most disappointing books I've read in a long time. I want the 2 days of my life I spent reading this book back

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Are you kidding me?

    I picked up this book expecting to like it. It's description reminded me somewhat of Holly Black's or perhaps Stephenie Meyer's. So when I read a book that ended up being nothing but a high school romance, I was bitterly disappointed. The whole thing is completely boring and nonchalant. A somewhat likable girl and somewhat likable guy fall in love, with plot completely pushed to the side. I felt like a read a never ending introduction to the story. There was nothing at all dark and sexy like the Twilight series, and even though it could have potentially been interesting, Carrie Jones completely ruined all hopes of that. The only part I liked was learning new phobias. Otherwise, it's a total waste of your life.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I tried...

    I truly did try to read this book but I found it to be so condescending and boring. The girl is completely messed up in the head from the get-go. I think the author tried to pull a Meyer like book which turned out to be a total boring disaster. It was very confusing at times because the author switched from first point of view to third of view with out any warning (almost every other sentence). The girl is a phobia collector, something you'll learn from the first page. Every chapter has the name of one of her adapted phobias.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    Let Down

    This story is wayyyyyyyy too rushed and many bits and pieces are left out. It had the potential to be way better.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4