Customer Reviews for

Need (Need Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(653)

4 Star

(353)

3 Star

(189)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Great

Wonderful book I enjoyed reading. would totally recommend

posted by booksonmynook on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Very Twilight-esque .. but badly.

I read this with a recommendation from a few of my friends. It was, to put it lightly, okay. There were several situations where I found myself thinking I was reading a re-write of Twilight. For example, Zara, the main character, ends up being sent to a tiny, dreary lit...
I read this with a recommendation from a few of my friends. It was, to put it lightly, okay. There were several situations where I found myself thinking I was reading a re-write of Twilight. For example, Zara, the main character, ends up being sent to a tiny, dreary little town in Maine to live with her grandmother after her step-father passes away. She remarks often that she misses the sun, the heat, etc. Gets a new car when she gets there, too. Then the typical awkward staring ensues, with random little friends popping in and the "all around good guy/bad boy" Nick presents a charm for all of about 5 seconds. I won't spoil the whole book, but needless to say it was too fast, often times the author would pull up Twilight highlights, and there were parts that made no sense. Overall, I would only recommend this to someone very bored and in desperate "need" of something to read.

posted by Kyokou on January 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Twilight-esque .. but badly.

    I read this with a recommendation from a few of my friends. It was, to put it lightly, okay. There were several situations where I found myself thinking I was reading a re-write of Twilight. For example, Zara, the main character, ends up being sent to a tiny, dreary little town in Maine to live with her grandmother after her step-father passes away. She remarks often that she misses the sun, the heat, etc. Gets a new car when she gets there, too. Then the typical awkward staring ensues, with random little friends popping in and the "all around good guy/bad boy" Nick presents a charm for all of about 5 seconds. I won't spoil the whole book, but needless to say it was too fast, often times the author would pull up Twilight highlights, and there were parts that made no sense. Overall, I would only recommend this to someone very bored and in desperate "need" of something to read.

    47 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    NOT REALLY THAT GREAT!

    I basically only picked this book up at the library cuz I thought the cover was pretty(pitiful on my part I know LOL)This book could have been much more than what it is. It has a great plot and seems like the villian is cool but her writing style sucks. It just seems she jumped around too much and would go on and on about the cuteness of one character instead of building his character and other characters as well. We really don't know why most of the stuff happens,it just happens. I'd give it a C if I was grading it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    An Okay Read

    This story was okay. As I began to read this book it shared a lot of twilight characteristics. For example girl moving to small town. The story was too predictable for my taste, but kept me reading. Some of it sounded really not real, but it is a fantasy book afterall. The story is okay to read for fun, but the author was trying to make her version of Twilight. I like it if it was her own style. There was also a couple grammer mistakes.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    How did this get published?? I very rarely, if ever, NOT finish

    How did this get published?? I very rarely, if ever, NOT finish a book but I put this one in the charity box 3/4 the way through the book. It is amateur at best. The story is a complete rip-off from Twilight, the characters are cliche and annoying, and the dialogue is choppy, repetitive and unrealistic. I admit, I was drawn in by the pretty cover but please, do not waste your money on this. It's like a 12 year-old's fanfic that someone published on a whim.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    DOES NOO DESERVE TO BE IN SAME CATEGORIES AS STEPHANIE MEYER AND MELLISSA MARR!!

    I was totally excited to see that there was a new author along the same lines as Stephanie Meyer and Mellissa Marr so I rushed out to pick up Need right away.... and was totally disappointed! This book is so unrealistic for one major reason....

    THE ENTIRE BOOK TAKES PLACE WITHIN MAYBE THREE WEEKS!!!!

    For as much detail as Jones tryed to pack into a novel barely 300 pgs, she left out incredible amounts of details and has the main characters in a serious relationship within a week! On the first day of school the girl is informed of all the information it would realistically take months to obtain. While the plot line had the potential to be a great story, it was so rushed, with childish lingo, and too much fixation on "how hot" the male lead is that you roll your eyes going, "is it over yet?" You keep thinking the lead will mature and stop with the over exageration but it just gets worse. We're not talking Bella attraction, we're talking fifth grade crush attraction. The entire story is missing one great element to this great idea: a good author!

    Twilight, House of Night, and Blue Blood fan will be highly dissappointed in this let down of a book! We can only hope they don't allow Jones to publish a sequel... or anything else for that matter!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    Twilight Replication

    I wasn't impressed. A not so great imitation of Twilight. The story and characters bored me, especially Zara. Although the wolf character (Nick) I enjoyed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Disappointing

    I was really excited about this book at first. Although the author's use of phobia's were neat, the story was awful. I never just not finish a book so that was the only reason I finished. And of course, since there's going to be a sequel, I will have to read that as well. The characters were just too underdeveloped and the main character accepted the the reality of everything too easily. It wasn't built up enough, even though there was a point I got really creeped out and had to stop reading. Hopefully in the sequel, the characters and story will be more defined. If you really want this book I recommend trying to find a used copy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Copycat!

    When I saw this book I thought I would read it just to find out if it was any good. I got it from the library and started reading it. I was very disappointed. The story line was weak, the writing was not good at all, and the charaters were shallow. I was able to read the whole thing but just barely. It was hard to get in to it, and I kept having Twilight flashbacks. Overall I was not impressed, and I will not be rereading this book any time soon. If you want a quick, rather boring read, that is way to much like Twilight, read this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    In "Need" of better writing

    I found this book as a recommended book that now after i have read it, i wouldn't recommend to people who like reading. This book is a horribly written version of twilight but with pixies. A girl moves to a really small town that is freezing cold, is given a truck when she gets there, and starts liking a cute guy on the first day of school. The characters are very undeveloped, the story doesn't give much detail of anything, and you will find yourself confused throughout the book. Sure, it may not include the whole vampire thing, but it does include the whole werewolf thing. The book makes it really lame with all of the different "were" creatures that come out of nowhere. It took me less than a day to read it since it wasn't a very developed story. If the author would've taken the time to give you more insight into the characters and story, it actually would have been a good book, but with the lack of it, its not worth reading if you can find something else. The author did actually have a cool idea though of naming every chapter after a different phobia.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    This is...

    Twilight meets Tinkerbell meets Shiver.
    A horrible trio. This book honestly one of the worst YA books i have ever read. The only thing i liked was the personalities. Other than that it was crap. Not a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    I read this book a couple of years back...

    and I thought it was pretty good, but now I realize it's just okay. It can even be annoying at times - some of the characters as well as the the writing. Plus, I think there are times when the author tries to include details that are random, insignificant and unnecessary and that detract from the surrounding passages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    I couldn't really get into this book and i'm a HUGE reader.This

    I couldn't really get into this book and i'm a HUGE reader.This is definitely not my type of read. I think Zara get close to her new friends WAY to quickly and this pixie thing becomes evident way too early. Not very realistic for a high school girl. I won't be reading the next one. I wouldn't recommend this. If you like corny lines and nonrealistic/awkward conversations that just could be avoided, then this is the book for you. Disappointed to waste my money :[

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Not a fan

    Had to force myself to finish this book, badly written, extremely boring. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Sample Not Long Enough

    The sample portion of this book is too short to give the reader a good idea of the storyline. It is slow and only covers Zara's plane ride from Charleston to Maine where she meets up with her grandmother. That's it. The sample gives the reader no incentive - no teasers about the pixie character - to continue on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Eh ok

    Its just a retelling of twilight, nothing special. Not realy worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Do you like twighlight???

    If you do you will love this book as well, since it is twighlight with different names and places. I enjoyed reading the book however i probably wont read the next one because i already read the second twighlight book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All right, i guess

    I got bored with this series really fast. I bought the next book hoping to get into the series more,but i just couldnt finish it i felt like i was wasting my time. Im 23 though so maybe this book is geared more for teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    An okay read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    iffy

    the book wasn't bad, but if you have read wicked lovely you will see the rip off it takes on. Need is just like a lousy version of Wicked Lovely.
    Worth a read, i guess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Eh.

    I did finish the book...and there were 2 lines in it that I really liked, but other than that..eh. I don't think I can go on to try the next book. Twilight is too echoed throughout, and if I read about how one more person goes "all ___________" about something, I'm going to go all ape about it. :) I'll make a Twilight comparison because they are so closely related-- whereas SM wrote from a teenage perspective, this sounded like a teenager actually wrote it. I was let down at the big moment we were led to, and while Nick sure sounds hot, there's too much cheese in the whole thing. Apparently I need more angst. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3