Customer Reviews for

Needful Things: The Last Castle Rock Story

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    This was a very good read. It had me on the edge of my seat the

    This was a very good read. It had me on the edge of my seat the whole time and I could not put it down! This is one of my favorite King books and he is not called King for nothing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    Pretty Good

    This is the only Stephen King book that I really enjoyed. I think the story-line is good, especially the way all the separate elements get woven together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Good job Stephen King. Needful Things is only the second Stephen King book I've read but I am already hooked to his writing style. He is so talented! I loved how all the characters and "pranks" came together. I loved that there was a detailed back story for every character and I felt like I truly knew every resident of Castle Rock! Such a great read and I would totally recommend this to everyone I know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    Not so scary as weird & creepy

    Very interesting plot line. King very artfully pulls you in
    to the story but you have to put it down & digest what's going on
    before proceeding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book

    To me, this story is about the devil, temptation, and corruption. An evil proprietor comes to an average small town and opens up a shop that sells your heart's desire, but for a ridiculous price that has nothing to do with money. It basically demonstrates how easily people will choose to do the wrong thing in exchange for something they want. It's a lot like the idea of someone selling their soul to the devil. In this book, there are some characters from other King books that resurface, so it might benefit a reader to check out other King books first so these characters will make more sense. I recommend reading Cujo and The Body (a shost story) first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Love it

    I thought it was great, I disagree with anyone who says that this book is less then four stars,Read it you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    Ah yes.

    While compiling a list of top ten movies over dinner and a bottle of red, we soon discovered that two of the films that crept in were originally Stephen King novels. This led me to recall, or at least attepmt to recall, this novel. After reading The Tommyknockers (brilliant) I was in the mood for more and I stumbled upon Needful Things at my local library. I really couldn't care what the New York Post or Times Literary Supplement have to say, as a person who should read more than I do, this story grabbed me, held me and didn't let me go. If you want a book for the holidays, seek it out. If you want something you can eat a chapter of before bed time, leave it on the shelf. Needful Things, indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    A decent book

    This book was good, borderlining decent. Sometimes it was hard to keep track of all the different characters since there were so many and that was kind of a turn- off for me. I enjoyed his novel Dreamcatcher much more (I wrote the review with the recomendations of Red Dragon and Lost World: Jurrasic Park, where I mean the novels). It had some very good moments in it, but overall I didn't find it scary. The characters are well developed espcially Alan Poghorn. I think Leland Gaunt is one of the best villians I have ever read about in any book but my favorite book villian was Franics Dollarhyde a.k.a. the Red Dragon in Red Dragon. I got into this book after seeing a couple of minutes of it on TV (only the part in the beginning when Brian walks into the store). I read reviews about the movie and people said it twisted it around too much, which is something I noticed in another scene I briefly saw. Overall an entertaining book, although I found the length not needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    I Love this Book!!!!

    This book was really great!! The first Stephen King book that really made me think that he was a great writer. This book is good if you don't like to be too scared. It has alot of great characters and the ending was really good too. I would strongly suggest picking this book up. Also, check out the movie, if you can find it. It dosen't follow the book all that well, but it is still a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    Great Book

    This book is long and intimidating, i am only 15 years old but i loved it. i read it fast and it was a great read. i suggest you buy it and enjoy it as much as i did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Are You a Needful Thing?

    This book starts off kind of slow, but as more of the characters are introduced the plot thickens. The characters range in age and they are all in dire need of 1 thing that Needful Things has to offer. This book is greatly entertaining, and not too horrific (considering that it was penned by Stephen King).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4