BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nefertiti

Average Rating 4.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(202)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down.

Having no real knowledge of who Nefertiti was I decided to buy the book, quite honestly, because of the cover. I have 4 young children and rarely get a chance to read these days so choosing a book that will capture my full interest in the first 10 pages is paramount to ...
Having no real knowledge of who Nefertiti was I decided to buy the book, quite honestly, because of the cover. I have 4 young children and rarely get a chance to read these days so choosing a book that will capture my full interest in the first 10 pages is paramount to the reality that the book will actually be read.
I tend to gravitate toward historical novels ...history books seem to lose me and often novels aren't enough substance for me.
I was mesmerized from the very beginning and grabbed the book every time I had but a few minites to read. Having Nefertiti's sister as the narrator of the book was brilliant. Having never studied Egyptology, I now feel like I know Nefertiti.
It was a very good read and I would highly recommend.

posted by ClosetBookWorm on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The author is frecuently repetitive and superfitial.

I can't understand this complex description of characters from wish so little in known. The author repeats over and over the same issues. What happened in the fist three quarters of the book could be very well described in no more than fifty pages, and then, in the la...
I can't understand this complex description of characters from wish so little in known. The author repeats over and over the same issues. What happened in the fist three quarters of the book could be very well described in no more than fifty pages, and then, in the last quarter, 'everything happens' with scarce regard of what we know from the history of that period. Very disappointing!

posted by Anonymous on February 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Couldn't put it down.

    Having no real knowledge of who Nefertiti was I decided to buy the book, quite honestly, because of the cover. I have 4 young children and rarely get a chance to read these days so choosing a book that will capture my full interest in the first 10 pages is paramount to the reality that the book will actually be read.
    I tend to gravitate toward historical novels ...history books seem to lose me and often novels aren't enough substance for me.
    I was mesmerized from the very beginning and grabbed the book every time I had but a few minites to read. Having Nefertiti's sister as the narrator of the book was brilliant. Having never studied Egyptology, I now feel like I know Nefertiti.
    It was a very good read and I would highly recommend.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved escaping back to my Egyptian Paradise

    I honestly have loved Egypt and everything about it since I was a child. And although I've never traveled anywhere near Egypt, I love fantasizing about the Egyptian lifestyle. It's so different from today, yet similar in so many ways to the way we live. I finally found a fictional book that has captured Egypt the way I would hope to see it told. Not as some Discovery Channel/History Channel/Textbook version that are no doubt filled with great facts and information, but no real story line that captures the imagination. Michelle, you certainly captured my imagination to the point where I got so fascinated with the characters and the story, I couldn't put the book down. I literally read the last 1/3 of the book for a few hours, and then picked up my Heretic Queen Copy and read it all in one day. I am hooked. I will definitely read those books again. You made it so easy for people to love the story. I also liked how you thought of those who may have not known details about Ancient Egypt vs Today's Egypt, and made it easier for others to understand. I am waiting to get my copy of Cleopatra's Daughter both in hard and paper back in case my toddler son tries to get to it like he did with my other books. I wish you would write more Egyptian novels soon. I realize that you have another book moving away from Ancient Egypt, but I hope you will see this and try to bring some more Ancient Egyptians back to life!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    perfect

    This book is great! Moran has really out done the best of the best. When I first started reading I was surpised that the book was from Mutnodjmet's view not Nefertiti's but as I read on I understood that it made the book beter. I love this book I couldn't put it down once i started reading it. Everybody needs to read this book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Nefertiti

    Well, the year is over (all right, it's been over for two months... so I'm a little behind!), and after reviewing my reads for '07 I think I can safely say that NEFERTITI was my favorite, not just in the historical fiction category, but overall. What I enjoyed most was learning about ancient Egyptian history through a story that didn't whomp you over the head with details, but let everything flow naturally. Even for people who aren't interested in ancient Egypt, the story of the two sisters is interesting enough to make anyone pick up this book. Five stars... Maybe even six!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Pure magic

    Okay, so we all know who Nefertiti is. I mean, who hasn't seen the incredible bust of this famous queen?? The magic in what Moran has done lies in how she not only brings Nefertiti to life, but in how she tells this story through the queen's half sister's POV. I LOVE historical fiction told in first person and Moran nails it. This book is loaded with accurate historical details, plenty of political intrigue and a spot on portrayal of how religion can be used by the powerful for so many earthly pursuits. The stand-alone sequel comes out July 2008. Count me in! If you're looking to move beyond the Tudors of England, who seem to dominate historical fiction land right now, travel back to ancient Egypt and enjoy Moran's take on dynastic politics.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic read!

    This book is a great read. It is a historical fiction that sticks to the facts, but it still gripping. I found myself being constantly pulled in to the story, and the history is very fascinating. Never a dry moment. I would recommend this book to anyone, especially those with an interest in ancient Egypt or ancient culture.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Nefertiti

    I could not put down this book. Being of Lebanese Christian descent, I love reading about these kind of topics. The characters are really defined about who they are and what role they play. It really makes you think about what the characters are facing and what would you do if you were in their position? THis book can be used anywhere and can be discussed amongst all ages. The author has a way of making you visually see what is going on in the story, as if you are watching a movie!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic read!

    I'd passed over this book a few times before finally buying it. The only thing I'm sorry about was not reading it sooner! Moran's characters are well-developed and come to life on the pages. I'd recommend this to anyone, Egypt-buff or not.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    The author is frecuently repetitive and superfitial.

    I can't understand this complex description of characters from wish so little in known. The author repeats over and over the same issues. What happened in the fist three quarters of the book could be very well described in no more than fifty pages, and then, in the last quarter, 'everything happens' with scarce regard of what we know from the history of that period. Very disappointing!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    An Amazing Historical Fiction Book!!

    I had to get a historical fiction book for school, and since my techer highly reccomended this book, I chose this one. It is truly one of the best books I have ever read. I don't really like to read for fun, but this book is great. It is an entertaining version of history, which is great. I developed great mental images when reading this. I would definitley reccomend this book to anyone middle school and up!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    An awful Egyptian soap opera.

    This book was throughly, completely and utterly terrible.

    The main characters.. no ALL of the characters are without any morals.
    While I do not think that any person (and hence any character) is without faults. This was ridiculous.

    I read Cleopatra's Daughter and loved it! I was expecting something similiar in style though not in plot. You can barely tell these were written by the same author.

    Mutny, our main character gets pregnant out of wedlock and under age. And is without remorse. This sets a very bad example for young readers.

    There was an over emphasis on getting pregnant. Characters take potions to try and get pregnant and take potions to get rid of them. That inning of itself was suggesting that abortion is fine. Which I whole heartedly disagree with. Plus, painting of ladies' breasts is talked about frankly and at least every other chapter.

    Anyways while the book is vivid (often too vivid) with settings, and egyptian beauty methods and character's actions. It is devoid of any real plot or any characters we could really root for.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love Historical Fiction - couldn't get into this one.

    I was interested in reading this book after seeing it on the shelves and reading an exerpt. Unfortunately, I was dissapointed I'd spent the money. I had to force myself to finish this one and was totally bored after the first 100 pages. Up until then, I was interested. In the end, I was glad to have it finished and crossed off my list! Too bad, as I think there was much potential. GRADE = C-

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Good read

    Slow start. Ultimately a good read. I had difficulty putting the book down as it delved more into Mutny's emotional perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    A Good Read but...

    I was so excited to begin my reading of Nefertiti and for the most part I enjoyed the book ( I read it all in three days) but I have to say, this book reminded me a little too much of The Other Boleyn Girl by Phillipa Gregory.

    With that being said, I believe the book was thouroughly researched and what I liked most, that the most imfamous couple in history had a story, which of course was surrounded by mystery, even though Nefertiti is protrayed like Anne Boleyn, Queen of England.

    I know I'm sounding like a wet blanket but I do recommend this book, I just get a little board with formulas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    A bit of an Egyptian version of The Other Boleyn Sister

    I think the book is entertaining and well-written. I love the historical fact that is brought into a very human story-- exactly what I look for when choosing to read historical fiction. There are many similarities to The Other Boleyn Sister, but with a very different context. A good, entertaining read that gives you a clearer picture of life in Ancient Egypt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nefertiti

    One of the best books I have read. It is not only a very wonderful novel, but also a very educational one. It takes you back to times of Nefertiti and teaches you a lot about Egypt in those days. At the same time, though, you won't feel like it is a history book. No, it is a beautiful novel, you'll enjoy it to maximum, an after you'll realize you've learned so much about Egypt.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book!

    This book was so interesting to read. It kept my attention and made me want to read on to see what was going to happen. I feel that it has an wonderful educational side to it in relation to history. Would recommend to someone looking for a great book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    An enthralling novel of Ancient Egypt

    In the eighteenth dynasty of ancient Egypt (1351 to 1331 B.C.) one woman, Nefertiti, rises to power and infamy in the annals of history. The story of Nefertiti¿s life unfolds through the voice of her younger sister, Mutnodjmet. Nefertiti is beautiful, ruthless and narcissistic who seeks affluence and supremacy. Mutnodjmet, the younger sister, is pretty, level-headed, and pragmatic and she has no desire other than to live a simple life surrounded by a loving family. At an early age, Nefertiti marries Prince Akhenaten who becomes heir to the throne after the mysterious death of his more capable older brother. Mutnodjmet is assigned to be Nefertiti¿s companion, eyes and ears, and voice of reason. Akhenaten is a youth bent on forcing his own religious views onto the people. It is his mother¿s hope that Nefertiti be the sound of reason and restrain his impulsive, reckless actions and thoughts. Instead, his ego, and that of his new wife, Nefertiti, knows no bounds as together, they raise their status, create a new god named Aten for all to worship, and build an entire city to glorify. Nefertiti¿s obsessive dependence on Mutnodjmet is so extreme, that it threatens her own future happiness. While Nefertiti becomes more and more involved in building her and her husband¿s fame, Mutnodjmet seeks to escape her sister¿s clutches. Conspiracy and treachery abound throughout this novel. Michelle Moran brings to life multi-dimensional characters through rich dialogue and intricate historical detail. Highly credible, the story captivated from start to finish. The level of research into this period and Nefertiti¿s life is impressive. For all aficionados of ancient Egypt, this is a must have book that will not disappoint. It has my highest rating and I will be eagerly anticipating future books by Michelle Moran.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    Excellent!

    I could not put this book down, it drew me into the world of the characters from start to finiseh. Moran picked a likeable and sympathetic heroine in Mutnodjmet the sister of Nefertiti. Mutny as she is called by her family narrates her family's raise to power within the Egyptian royal family when her older sister Nefertiti marries the unstable future pharaoh Amunhotep who will stop at nothing to reshape Egyptain society and religion. While this book is far from being 100% historically accurate it is a fun fictional version of events. Read this for the enterianment value, not as a history book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Awesome

    I love the point of view this was written from page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16