Customer Reviews for

Nefertiti: The Book of the Dead (Rahotep Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Goof Good but ramblrs

This was a very good book. I found myself scanning the paragraphs at times because it rambled.

posted by WandaFG on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Had potential

What started off interesting with a decent context of history, devolved into more of a fantasy with vague historical over-tones which lost the sense of mystery or even history, in my opinion. The writing style itself was rather good though, at times, got a little repeti...
What started off interesting with a decent context of history, devolved into more of a fantasy with vague historical over-tones which lost the sense of mystery or even history, in my opinion. The writing style itself was rather good though, at times, got a little repetitive. This would not have been an issue if the story hadn't spiraled into something more out of fantasy than mystery.

About midway, I would have stopped reading if I wasn't the type of person who simply must finish a book once started. Generally that philosophy has proven beneficial, as many books end strong. This wasn't one of them, for me. Thankfully it was an easy and fast read.

I would give it 1.5 stars and hope that those who are planning on reading Nefertiti will enjoy it better knowing ahead of time it's really more a Fantasy written in a loosely historical setting.

posted by 10450552 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Goof Good but ramblrs

    This was a very good book. I found myself scanning the paragraphs at times because it rambled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Great book if you like history!

    This was a great book if you like the history of Egypt and ever wondered 'what happened?' It was very well written and well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Pretty good/ some parts are boring

    This story gets bogged down in the middle and is boring for a while. This is a fault of many detective stories. As the series continues I hope this fault will be corrected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Highly recommended for a mystery of it's time period.

    If you like murder mysteries in a historical setting. This one kept my interest. Lots of information on Egypt and the changes of power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Really Liked it

    I love novels about ancient Egypt and this one was really well written and held my interest all the way through. Just when you think everything about these times has been written, it is great to see a fresh spin to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    A little unusual.

    The writing style felt origonal and a bit refreshing after reading many historical fiction novels that all sounded the same. It didn't always keep me going in terms of suspense, but overall a pleasant read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Nefertiti, the beautiful woman is mysterious!

    An good historical mystery, with engaging characters. Nefertiti and the court at Tell-Amara come alive. Interesting view of Akhenaten's character and ideals. A very good mystery set in an exotic locale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Spellbinding

    From the first sentence of this book I was hooked by Drake's beautiful prose, his vivid descriptions and complex characters. I've read several books set in ancient Egypt, but only Drake & author Brad Geagley really make me believe I'm there, walking the streets, smelling the pungent atmosphere, eating the food. The mystery itself is compelling and takes a few nice twists and turns, though the final outcome should not be a surprise to anyone who has studied the Amarna period. - Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    Nefretiti is NOW

    Mr. Drake's first novel 'Nefretiti: The Book of the Dead' turned out to be quite good despite the few negative reviews. Overall, folks liked this book but some had misgivings (as I did at the start of the novel). I love to read everything that covers the Amarna period so at first it took me a while to get past some of the novel¿s shortcomings (what first novel does not have any?). Specifically, the modern language was a little off putting but it seems the author is trying to attract a newer and/or younger audience to the genre. Once I got past the language, the story moved well and the action was good. Particularly interesting was they way the author could weave a dream sequence and make it appear real and vice/versa. Another enjoyable plus to the novel is how Mr. Drake draws our attention to the similarities between the politics of ancient Egypt to that of today. Religion, magic/technology and politics do go hand in hand in as much then as it does today. Just look at the big political conventions. The use of live entertainment and spectacle to win over the voting populace. So did Akhenaten and here is where the story begins just days before the crucial festival to celebrate the new capital, Nefertiti suddenly vanishes. Rai Rahotep (our hero), the youngest chief detective in the Thebes division, with a rising reputation for his original methods, is secretly assigned by Akhenaten himself to investigate. He has ten days to find the Queen and return her in time for the celebrations. Success will bring glory -- but if Rai fails, he and his family will surely die. I bought this book to read while on my trip to see the King Tut exhibit in Philadelphia. Seeing the art and reading this story made everything come to life. I highly recommend this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2