Customer Reviews for

The Neighbor (Detective D. D. Warren Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 687 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(226)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

THE NEIGHBOR

In this twisted tale of intrigue, Gardner never lets us pause for even a page or two to try to figure out who is really who, and what motives they have for their bizarre actions.
Each of the characters in this story, Sandy, the wife who disappears, Jason, the husband w...
In this twisted tale of intrigue, Gardner never lets us pause for even a page or two to try to figure out who is really who, and what motives they have for their bizarre actions.
Each of the characters in this story, Sandy, the wife who disappears, Jason, the husband who does not act in the manner of a grieving husband, the precocious 4-year old daughter, the neighbor with secrets coming from all directions, and even the law enforcement officers and detectives keep relevant details to themselves.
Who are Sandy and Jason Jones exactly? Where did the $4 million come from, and did Sandy get kidnapped or just disappear?
Detective D. D. Warren gets more and more frustrated as she tries to untangle the webs surrounding each player in this drama. She has her own fears and foibles to deal with, and all of these mis-directions are getting her riled up.
The ending is one you would not see coming. This is a fast-paced novel with hot spots of action popping up all over D. D.'s Boston, and she is tackling the fires as fast as she can.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I am a BIG fan of Lisa Gardner... and this book did not disappoi

I am a BIG fan of Lisa Gardner... and this book did not disappoint. However, I will say it was not AS good as the first 2 books in the series, Alone and Hide. I didn't really care for the ending. There was no "wow" that made me feel like there was a big twi...
I am a BIG fan of Lisa Gardner... and this book did not disappoint. However, I will say it was not AS good as the first 2 books in the series, Alone and Hide. I didn't really care for the ending. There was no "wow" that made me feel like there was a big twist to round out the book. But while reading, it did keep me very interested in finding out what the heck happened!! I love D.D. Warren too. She makes me laugh! Good read... just don't expect a big surprise at the end.

posted by BigTexasAJ on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 692 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE NEIGHBOR

    In this twisted tale of intrigue, Gardner never lets us pause for even a page or two to try to figure out who is really who, and what motives they have for their bizarre actions.
    Each of the characters in this story, Sandy, the wife who disappears, Jason, the husband who does not act in the manner of a grieving husband, the precocious 4-year old daughter, the neighbor with secrets coming from all directions, and even the law enforcement officers and detectives keep relevant details to themselves.
    Who are Sandy and Jason Jones exactly? Where did the $4 million come from, and did Sandy get kidnapped or just disappear?
    Detective D. D. Warren gets more and more frustrated as she tries to untangle the webs surrounding each player in this drama. She has her own fears and foibles to deal with, and all of these mis-directions are getting her riled up.
    The ending is one you would not see coming. This is a fast-paced novel with hot spots of action popping up all over D. D.'s Boston, and she is tackling the fires as fast as she can.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD ONE!! A nail-biter!

    When a pretty young schoolteacher disappears, leaving her 4-year-old daughter alone in her home, suspicion immediately focuses on her husband.The victims and suspects are seemingly normal people. The nicest neighborhoods can mask the ugliest secrets. GOOD ONE! A nail-biter! Wonderful!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    The Neighbor by Lisa Gardner

    Reviewed by Russell Ilg

    Again this spring and summer brings you the best crop of thrillers and suspense novels ever to be released. Lisa Gardner takes you on a journey that can never be imaged. The novel involves a small family that seems perfect yet there are so many dark secerts that you never know where you will get blindsided next.
    It is said so many times but take this from a person that reads 4-5 books a week.
    Do not, again, do not pick this up if you want to get any sleep the night you do. Even if you are able to finish it you will never be able to shut your eyes just watching everything you read fly by in your mind hoping that it is only fiction and this could not happen as you glance over at the person sleeping beside you and wonder!! You will be running around making sure that all the lights are on and doors, windows, everything is locked tight.
    I have already written about 4-5 books that I thought would be must reads and sure to be award winners well I have to add another to that list of some of the greatest writers in the country. Lisa Gardner takes you on a journey that is so real and compelling you are pulled in so far and deep right from the beginning that you seem to be fighting for air the whole time you are reading then notice that you are holding your breath to see what happens next and praying it is not what you think it is.
    Lisa has always been one of the very best when it comes to doing her research before she writes, which makes this oh so real! I live and have been in the area that she has placed this novel and she has hit the nail right on the head. Is this tomorrows headlines in the beleaguered Globe? I sure do not want to give away a minute of this great novel you are going to have to buy it yourself and go on one of the most terrifying rides of your life and pray that it is only a book. This is a must read for everyone that loves thriller and suspense. Make sure you are one of the first to buy this must read of the summer, and if you have never had the chance to meet Lisa Gardner at one of her signings you are missing the best part of the book she does a great job letting you know how it became such a great thriller so please try and get out and meet her if she is any where that you can get to. Sure to be on the Times list right out of the gate. By far one of her
    greatest works to date.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Like a cross between Robert B.Parker and Michael Crichton!

    Like most Lisa Gardner books,most of the stories take place in Boston(As do Robert B.Parker's)but Lisa Gardner's books are literally,a cross between Robert B.Parker and Michael Crichton. Most of them take place in Boston,but their suspense level is on that of Michael Crichton's. They're DOUBLY scary! The Neighbor is one of Lisa Gardner's novels you don't want to miss.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    Awesome Book!

    This is the first book that I've read by this author and I absolutely loved it. I couldn't put it down so if you want a great mystery who-done-it read, this is the one for you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    A must read for any Lisa Gardner fan.

    Just when I thought I had it all figured out, Boom! I love the way you get drawn in to the lives of the characters. And a little bit of revenge on the creeps of the world doesn't hurt!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Couldn't put it down. Read it in one day! A definite page turner!

    This story grabs you from the beginning and keeps you guessing till the end.
    Jason Jones, husband, doting father and now possible suspect in the disappearance of his beautiful young wife. Mysteries everywhere.

    I think it's Lisa's best!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "A bad neighbor is as great a calamity as a good one is a great advantage." Hesiod

    4 1/2 Stars.

    Sandra Jones is a high school teacher. She has a four year old daughter, Ree. After putting her to bed one night, Sandra returns to her own room and her bed. Then she hears a noise coming from the stairs...When her husband, Jason, returns home from his night job at the newspaper, Sandra is gone.

    Sgt. Det. D. D. Warren, last seen in Gardner's novel "Hide" knows that the spouse is usually the prime suspect when the other spouse goes missing or is killed. However, when she attempts to interview Jason, he is uncooperative, even nonchalant.

    Gardner presents the reader with multiple suspects in this enjoyable work.
    Is Jason the guilty person who did whatever happened to Sandra? Is it the neighbor, Adrian Brewster, whose room overlooks the Jones' bedroom and is a registered sex offender? Could it be Ethan Hastings, a 13 year old student in Sandra's high school who has a crush on her? Or, could it be a late comer in the story, Wayne Reynolds, a state police computer analyst who has been seeing Sandra at the weekly high school basketball games?

    Sandra's father enters the story. Sandra doesn't have anything to do with him and has accused him of mistreatment and maybe having something to do with her mother's death. Now that Sandra isn't around, the father, Judge Maxwell Black, arrives at their home and demands to be given visitation rights to his granddaughter.

    We are able to read the thoughts of the characters and still, it is hard to see who might be the guilty person.

    It is obvious that the author enjoyed writing this book. Her sense of having fun with the plot comes thought. "The Neighbor" is a well written, fast moving story that would have made Alfred Hitchcok proud.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down

    This is the best book I have read in awhile. The way it is written keeps you going to find out what happened in the past and how these events are contributing to what is going on in the present. I have always enjoyed Lisa Gardner's books but this one truly stands out. My husband kept encouraging me to finish it so he could pick it up next. It is the perfect summer beach book. Being a New Englander I also loved the Boston setting. Can't say enough good things about this book. Lisa Gardner and Harlen Coben are the best writers out there today.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Untangle this mystery!

    story evolves around the disappearance of a young mother from her Boston home...readers will be taken on a wild ride as they discover her secrets and try to figure out why and how she disapeared. As you untangle the mystery, you will get clues about her past, question every move her husband makes, the life she has led as a elementary school teacher and then throw in the storyline, the suspicious sex offender neighbor... as you continue to read, everyone becomes a suspect, every action is suspcious and the climatic ending is a nicely wrapped shock!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL!

    I love Lisa Gardner's books!! I totally do not agree with the bad reviews!!! The Neighbor is terrific!!!...Two other books I fell in love with this year are EXPLOSION IN PARIS by L.M. Pirrung and BREAKING THE RULES by, B. T. Taylor....

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good taut read

    I really enjoy Lisa Gardner's books, but I liked this one even more than the last two. The police procedural items are pretty accurate and the story is a very engaging read that keeps you turning pages. I read this in one day, as I couldn't put it down. The characters are familiar yet feel fresh. The writing was tight with the exception of a little overkill on the computer processes descriptions. Overall, highly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A STELLAR DRAMATIC PRESENTATION

    To simply label this an audio book is a misrepresentation as it is a stellar dramatic presentation with an outstanding cast, a triad of accomplished performers who bring Gardner's suspenseful tale to life.

    Actress, singer, writer and director Emily Janice Card is obviously multi-talented. She's the daughter of noted author Orson Scott Card, and may be found leaving interesting notes on her personal blog. With stage experience and a singer's ear she brings both authenticity and understanding to her reading.

    Kirby Heyborne has headed features and short films as well as appearing as a regular on TV's Free Ride and Everwood. (Mr. Perkins). He has also released several CDs on which he sings and plays the guitar. His voice is strong, resonant, and a perfect foil for his fellow readers.

    TV watchers will remember Kirsten Potter for her roles in Judging Amy and Bones. A graduate of the Boston University School for the Arts (Summa Cum Laude) her voice is melodious, clear, distinct - easy on the ears.
    With 11 novels to her credit Lisa Gardner has fashioned an intense thriller propelled by surprising yet plausible twists and turns that keep us reading/listening. A young woman has disappeared. She is Sandra Jones, a pretty teacher, wife of reporter Jason Jones, and mother to four-year-old Ree. Was it a kidnaping? No evidence points to that, and there has been no ransom note. Did she simply walk away? Why when she is apparently an extremely devoted mother? Detective Sergeant D. D. Warren is called upon to answer these questions.

    A prime suspect is Jason who isn't acting like a distraught husband devastated by not knowing his wife's fate. In fact, he is uncooperative. However, there are also questionable others - a neighbor, Aidan Brewster, a great looking young fellow, and a convicted sex offender who spent time in prison for raping a young girl. What about a student who may see Sandra as more than a teacher?

    We discover more as Gardner relates much of the story in flashback form through the eyes of Sandra herself. What we learn is just enough to keep us securely hooked until the last words. A splendid thriller ingenuously crafted!

    Enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book I've read this year!

    This is the best book I've read this year. It takes a little warming up, just like her last book, "Say Goodbye", but then you cannot put it down. I read it in one day. I always enjoy anything by Lisa Gardner, and I appreciate that her writing style has changed in a positive way in the last few books, that enhance the suspense.

    I like how she gives you the the view from the multi-person perspectives; makes every character human.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lisa Gardner is at her best with THE NEIGHBOR

    Boston Dailey reporter Jason Jones comes home one night to find his beautiful wife Sandra is missing and their preschool daughter Ree is alone. He searches the house for her until he realizes she was no where to be found. He waited three hours more before calling the cops. Sergeant Detective D.D. Warren questions Jason, but comes away uneasy as the man holds his daughter while refusing to cooperate with the authorities; Jason denies Warren access to the computer or his car.------------

    D.D. immediately assumes Jason is a person of interest, but there is also another man in the neighborhood who could be connected with Sandra's disappearance; Aidan Brewster is a registered sex offender. Although there is no physical evidence to tie Aidan or Jason to the missing Sandra, the cop believes the woman is dead and one of these two men killed her. Her father, a judge, who has not spoken to her in years, arrives with the intention of gaining custody of his granddaughter. Sandra once warned Jason to never allow her father alone near Ree. Jason is doing his best to keep the police from arresting him for his daughter's sake, but fears his secrets will destroy his efforts if discovered.---------------

    Lisa Gardner gives her audience a chilling terrifying glimpse of what goes on behind closed doors. The neighbors thought the Jones were the perfect family, but deadly secrets if known would have ended that illusion. This thriller is a one sitting read; filled with characters who have broken laws to prevent an even bigger tragedy from happening. There is plenty of action and misdirection that keeps readers spinning as to what is going on especially with Sandra and Jason. Lisa Gardner is at her best with THE NEIGHBOR.---------

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    excellent suspense novel

    I have always been a fan of Lisa Gardner but I had not read anything by her recently. Her latest book, The Neighbor, caught my attention and so off to the library I went. I loved this book! It was an excellent and masterfully written suspense novel. Jason and Sandra Jones are married with a four year old daughter and one night Sandra disappears. But they are not just your average couple. They both have secrets and Jason isn't talking to the police and he is the prime suspect. He is a very enigmatic character and the only thing I knew for sure as I was reading was that he loves his daughter. We hear from Sandra in the past, events leading up to the night of her disappearance. I thought I knew the ending 3/4ths of the way through but then changed my mind several times up until the very end. Gardner does an amazing job of giving parts of the story then moving to another character, and really leaves the reader guessing until the end. Lots of plot twists. Sergeant D.D. Warren, the lead detective on the case is a favorite character of mine and I hope she continues to show up in future Gardner novels. A must read for lovers of suspense novels.
    my rating 4.5 stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Thriller with Heart

    If you know any thing about the marvelous Ms. Gardner, you'd know that she loves to scare the socks off us and she does it with such flare that you're engrossed from the very first page. The Neighbor is no different, it's a fast track of murder, mayhem and mystery and it surrounds a married couple that you're scratching your head about from the first moment you meet them. As much as you want to agree with DD Warren, a cop who we've met in earlier novels, that the husband did it, but we can't do that because there's just something too innocent about him, something too caring to convince us. So take the wild roller coster ride called The Neighbor and find out "who done it" and what exactly did they do. The Neighbor isn't as scary as some of her other novels, so don't be afraid to read it with a heart ailment.
    The characters are so wonderful that you'd like to meet them for real, the dialogue is excellent, and the plot is so unique and exciting and if you're a fan you'll find a big surprise as to who the husband really is.
    So lock and load at get your copy fast because this is sure to be #1 soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    keeps you hooked

    I am starting to develop a real love of Lisa's books. This was about my 3rd one in a row and it didn't disappoint. It kept me hooked the entire time and I didn't figure the case out until the end. I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    First time I read her books NOT disappointed.

    The book was gripping I could not stop thinking about it! It scared me too, but it was so good and I started reading the whole series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Never wanted to put the book down!

    Never wanted to put the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 692 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35