Customer Reviews for

Neighbors

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    Title: Neighbors - Entangled Flirts Novella Author: L. S. Murphy

    Title: Neighbors - Entangled Flirts Novella
    Author: L. S. Murphy
    Publisher: Entangled Publishing LLC
    Published: 11-11-2013
    ISBN-13: 9781622663743
    E-Book ASIN: B00FILC0Y0
    Pages: 65
    Genre: Romance
    Tags: Contemporary


    Rena Woods, Interior Designer on the rise, is late to an appointment with her most influential client when she finds her car is blocked by a moving truck. She marches to the truck and demands that it be moved immediately. Staff Sargent C J Riker climbs out of the truck to berate Rena that he can't move the truck and that she needs to maneuver her car around his truck. That's when she notices the prosthesis where his leg should have been, but it doesn't stop her from loosing her temper with him. So began the animosity between the two new neighbors.


    While on a the blind date from Hades Rena is embarrassed to find none other that her new neighbor seated behind her. While arguing with him her date leaves her without a word. This does not improve her relationship with Riker. When Rena's former employer steals her biggest client she feels as though she is a failure and goes for a drinking binge. Who should walk in but Riker. Just what she needs the perfect ending to the worst day in her life.


    How can two people who have such a volatile relationship survive living so close to one another? Or is there something else going on? Why is Riker so hostile to everyone? How did he loose his leg and does it have anything to do with his temperament? This short novella is long on pleasure to the reader. Once you begin you will laugh and you will gasp. Then you will be looking for your own Alpha with a secret tender heart. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for allowing me to read this delightful story in exchange for an honest review. I am interested in knowing if there will be more about some of the characters to be found in the story. If so I will definitely looking to add them to my Must Read List.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    Rena is sassy and fun, Riker is a bit moody but also swoon-worth

    Rena is sassy and fun, Riker is a bit moody but also swoon-worthy, and while their story was short, it was still a great read!

    Rena’s personality made this book. She was feisty, snarky, and hilarious. She has this way of saying and doing things that just totally entertained me.

    Riker wasn’t so easy to like at the beginning but in a way that is totally understandable. He is recently released from the military due to losing his leg. He is not only learning to deal with his injury but he is also struggling with being out of the military.

    Riker has received enough pity stares to last him a lifetime. When Rena let’s him have it despite his noticing his physical state, he becomes interested to say the least. One of the best parts of this story was these two started off has near enemies, progressed to acquaintances, slid into friendship, and non-surprisingly, that developed into romance. I loved that L.S. Murphy was able to develop these two characters and their relationship so much in a little bit of time.

    Even though I so wish this was a full-length novel so I could immerse myself in more Riker and Rena, I am still happy with how this story turned out. Definitely worth a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating 3 1/2 Stars All right, I just finished Neighbors by L.S.

    Rating 3 1/2 Stars
    All right, I just finished Neighbors by L.S. Murphy. I must say that it was a really cute read. At the beginning you have Rena Woods who's running a little late for work and she meets the new neighbors, Riker and his buddy. Let's just go with the fact that Riker and Rena didn't hit off right away. As the story progresses they start to become friends. 

    As I said a cute read, but I think this novella was a bit too short. The story has great potential, but I think it just happen too fast. I think if the story had been drawn out a little more it would have been fantastic. However, it was cute story in the end. So, if you are looking for a quick novella to read and don't mind being short, you might like Neighbors. 

    Copy provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Neighbors is a novella from author L.S. Murphy and is the first

    Neighbors is a novella from author L.S. Murphy and is the first work I have read from her.  I really enjoyed it!
    When Rena meets Riker, it’s not exactly in the best of circumstances.  She needs him to move his truck so she can move her car.  She’s annoyed with him and he’s annoyed with her.  Well, the circumstances don’t get much better and it seems like every time they see on another it’s not exactly a pleasant exchange.  Rena knows a bit of his back-story.  He was in the military and has a prosthetic leg, so clearly he has some reason for being less than happy these days.  She could only imagine what must have happened to him, and it broke her heart.  Still, Rena doesn’t think too highly of his gruff attitude…until she sees him around their apartment complex every now and then doing something nice for someone. Soon Rena realizes she may not have given him a fair chance and when her job suddenly takes a nosedive, she thinks maybe giving him shot at friendship could be the distraction she needs.  Who knows, maybe something more than friendship is what they both need?
    This novella was really great. Sometimes a quick and entertaining read is just what the doctor ordered in between full-length novels.  I enjoyed both Rena and Riker and would love to see more of them in the future!
    Thank you, L.S.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Neighbors was a pleasant way to spend an hour reading, but  it d

    Neighbors was a pleasant way to spend an hour reading, but  it didn’t go much beyond that. Though I liked the characters and enjoyed their interactions, I didn’t ever feel a deep connection to them and their problems. Part of it is no doubt the fact that this is a very short read–knowing more about the characters and their backgrounds definitely would have made me feel more invested in their struggles–but overall, it just didn’t pack much of a “punch” for me. While reading, I just felt as if I were floating along the top of their lives, mildly interested in what was going on with them but not terribly concerned about it one way or another.




    Riker’s character was obviously experiencing some major effects from his military service, and that aspect alone really deserved more attention than this short of a novella could really deliver. Still, I didn’t dislike L.S. Murphy’s writing, and would definitely pick up another book by this author in the future in the hopes that I would be able to find a better connection with it and its characters.




    C+ rating.




    I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    The characters seemed so real, almost like friends instead of fi

    The characters seemed so real, almost like friends instead of fictional characters, and their relationship developed in a very real life manner.

    Neighbors is sweet, sassy and funny. It is the perfect length with the right amount detail to tell a complete and touching love story in a tiny little package. Full review available on RomanticReadsandSuch at wordpress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Gotta love a man in a uniform! Riker is a Marine who lost his le

    Gotta love a man in a uniform! Riker is a Marine who lost his leg in battle. Rena is the interior decorator with the super sexy Marine for a neighbor. He irritates her with his gruff manner and defensive attitude. She fascinates him with her argumentative ways. Read this fabulous short story about these neighbors and how they find their way towards each other.

    This was a feel good story about a guy that was injured in war and how he's dealing with it and his attraction to his new neighbor. It's also about a woman that's attracted to her new neighbor that has an attitude problem. I love a good story about a brooding hero that looks AWESOME in a uniform. 

    I received a copy for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1