Customer Reviews for

The Neighbors Are Watching

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book sucked me in and didn't let me go until the end!

The Neighbors are Watching is a gritty tale of one hot and fiery summer and fall in a San Diego neighborhood. The people on Fuller Court could be the neighbors on any affluent, middle class block. They mostly keep to themselves, furtively watching each other as they go ...
The Neighbors are Watching is a gritty tale of one hot and fiery summer and fall in a San Diego neighborhood. The people on Fuller Court could be the neighbors on any affluent, middle class block. They mostly keep to themselves, furtively watching each other as they go about their daily business, but never really becoming involved. Until one blistering summer day when Joe Montana's pregnant, 17 year old daughter, the one his beloved wife didn't know he had, shows up on his doorstep. The arrival of Diana throws everything on Fuller Court into turmoil. She doesn't play by the unspoken rules of the neighborhood and, soon, dark secrets are being revealed. All this plays out against the back drop of the vicious Santa Ana winds and the arrival of wildfire season. The intensity of emotion that Debra Ginsberg creates in this book sucked me in and didn't let me go until the end. There weren't any big surprises for me in the plot, but I couldn't put the book down. The use of the wildfire to ratchet up the tension was very effective and really had me hanging on the edge of my seat. There is also a prevailing theme of people having hidden sides, not always being what you think they are from first impressions that made me think about the relationships in my life. You will never look at your neighbors the same, that's for sure! The intrigue, everyday drama, and dark secrets combine with characters I could relate to and sympathize with to make The Neighbors are Watching one of my favorite books of this year!

posted by Frisbeesage on November 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

This was a good book, however it took me a while to warm up to it and the characters. In the beginning there seems to be very little "likeability" with the characters on this street. Gradually you get wrapped up in just what happened to Diana?
I would recommend this ...
This was a good book, however it took me a while to warm up to it and the characters. In the beginning there seems to be very little "likeability" with the characters on this street. Gradually you get wrapped up in just what happened to Diana?
I would recommend this book, the characters begin to flesh out and your interest in the what happens to them will grow as you reach the midway point.

posted by AreaderAR on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    This book sucked me in and didn't let me go until the end!

    The Neighbors are Watching is a gritty tale of one hot and fiery summer and fall in a San Diego neighborhood. The people on Fuller Court could be the neighbors on any affluent, middle class block. They mostly keep to themselves, furtively watching each other as they go about their daily business, but never really becoming involved. Until one blistering summer day when Joe Montana's pregnant, 17 year old daughter, the one his beloved wife didn't know he had, shows up on his doorstep. The arrival of Diana throws everything on Fuller Court into turmoil. She doesn't play by the unspoken rules of the neighborhood and, soon, dark secrets are being revealed. All this plays out against the back drop of the vicious Santa Ana winds and the arrival of wildfire season. The intensity of emotion that Debra Ginsberg creates in this book sucked me in and didn't let me go until the end. There weren't any big surprises for me in the plot, but I couldn't put the book down. The use of the wildfire to ratchet up the tension was very effective and really had me hanging on the edge of my seat. There is also a prevailing theme of people having hidden sides, not always being what you think they are from first impressions that made me think about the relationships in my life. You will never look at your neighbors the same, that's for sure! The intrigue, everyday drama, and dark secrets combine with characters I could relate to and sympathize with to make The Neighbors are Watching one of my favorite books of this year!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it in one sitting!

    I picked up this book expecting a domestic drama, and was unable to pry myself off the couch for the rest of the day. A contemporary novel about the distance between us, in her novel Ginsberg adeptly captures the judgmental summations we rush to in our interactions with our "neighbors" and how divided we -- as suburban Americans -- have become. A thrilling novel with a moralistic bent, I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    It could have been better

    No of the characters were likeable. I dont understand the reason the pregnant teen had to be black. The story would have been just as sad if she was white. Everyone was self centered and lied. In the end no one really knows what happened to the victim and what her life really was like or even why she made the choices she made. Its all hearsay. It could have been better. The story dragged on. I skipped ahead and skimmed. I dont recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Pretty Good

    This was a good book, however it took me a while to warm up to it and the characters. In the beginning there seems to be very little "likeability" with the characters on this street. Gradually you get wrapped up in just what happened to Diana?
    I would recommend this book, the characters begin to flesh out and your interest in the what happens to them will grow as you reach the midway point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Engrossing - don't want to put down!

    Excellent story with intriguing characters. Lots of unsympathetic types, but there is always more than meets the eye. The author digs around in their thoughts and makes you wonder how the character became what they are today. The action is set against the oncoming monster "Witch Fire" that San Diego endured in 2007. A rich plot device, perfect for showcasing the characters. Literary yet highly readable, funny, sad at times. Love it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining thriller

    In the summer of 2007 seventeen year old pregnant Diana Jones arrives at her father Joe Montana's home in the upper crust Fuller Court of San Diego. Joe's wife Allison is shocked by the biracial Diana's arrival because her husband never mentioned a teenage daughter. Feeling betrayed and irate as she had an abortion as Joe wanted no children, Allison cannot cope without alcohol as even her hair is no longer brushed.

    Neighbors Dick and Dorothy Werner gloat over the scandal next door. However, a few months later they are taken aback as their son Kevin is attracted to Diana and likes her newborn Zoe. In October wildfires threaten the area while Diana vanishes. Foul play is suspected as the teen's extended family and the neighbors are suspects.

    The Neighbors Are Watching is an entertaining thriller that looks deeply at the impact of Diana's disappearance on her family and the neighbors though their eyes. The cast is solid except ironically the missing person who may be the focus of the tale, but is more a shadow as there is not much action re what happened to Diana. Still this is en enjoyable tale that centers on degrees of connection between people.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No One Watching Here

    This is a hard tale to enjoy. The idea that my neighbors are all watching me is preposterous. They all have better things to do. The story is not well plotted, the characters are unlikable. I found myself napping often when I was planning to be reading this novel. Not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Engrossing!

    Debra Ginsberg has done it again! Great read! She is the master of making regular people fascinating characters! This quiet cul-de-sac is turned upside down when a teen goes missing during the wildfire evacuations leaving her newborn behind. Where is she? And what will happen to this innocent baby and the not-so-innocent cast of characters in the midst of the drama. You won't be able to put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    thoroughly enjoyed this one

    So excited for my very first Nook book. This one didn't dissapoint. The book flowed along nicely and was a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3