Customer Reviews for

Neil Armstrong Is My Uncle and Other Lies Muscle Man McGinty Told Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nan Marino's Great Story

I happened to listen to the audio version while my daughter read the book. Nan Marino is a terrific writer and is a great storyteller. She paints a vivid picture of 1960s Long Island, a time where innocence is lost due to the Vietnam War. Marino allows us inside the min...
I happened to listen to the audio version while my daughter read the book. Nan Marino is a terrific writer and is a great storyteller. She paints a vivid picture of 1960s Long Island, a time where innocence is lost due to the Vietnam War. Marino allows us inside the mind of the main character, a bully, so effectively.
While trying to understand why no one on her block sees "Muscle Man McGinty" for what he is, a lying snake, she battles her own emotional shortcomings.
I recommend this book to families to read together and understand why bullies may act the way they do. While I do not sympathize totally with any bully, there are reasons, as so accurately pointed out by this brilliant book, for their hehavior.
It's the first book I've read from a perspective of a young, female bully. And Ms. Marino hit a home run.

posted by AuthorMichaelJSullivan on November 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Jcfiesta

Ok book

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    Nan Marino's Great Story

    I happened to listen to the audio version while my daughter read the book. Nan Marino is a terrific writer and is a great storyteller. She paints a vivid picture of 1960s Long Island, a time where innocence is lost due to the Vietnam War. Marino allows us inside the mind of the main character, a bully, so effectively.
    While trying to understand why no one on her block sees "Muscle Man McGinty" for what he is, a lying snake, she battles her own emotional shortcomings.
    I recommend this book to families to read together and understand why bullies may act the way they do. While I do not sympathize totally with any bully, there are reasons, as so accurately pointed out by this brilliant book, for their hehavior.
    It's the first book I've read from a perspective of a young, female bully. And Ms. Marino hit a home run.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Really great book

    Good book


    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Jcfiesta

    Ok book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    great book

    i have something to say mt teacher is a very nice person she blows me away with her ideas she is a great and lovely teacher and a huge football fan but sometimes she can get mad but she will always be my number one teacher inthe world i feel very lucky to have her and god bless that her and her family will live a safe happy life and also she is so inspiring to me and she teaches us a lot of stuff the fun way not the boring so i feel blessed to have her as a theacher i hope evryone can read about my beautiful fun and rad teacher before i end i want to say some other things sbout her like her outragous personalty to her smile and her giving heart so i adore her wonfurl personalty she always make boring things fun and if your down in the blues she'll make you feel better in a jiffy and i love how she is so giving like she does a classroom store every month and she always keeps promises like if you tell her you were not their for the classroom store she would promise you that you could mske it up another day she always tells us stories about her childhood and about her weekend and she always talks about football she alsodoes funny things with spelling words it is so funny this teacher is ms conroy and she teaches at seagate elmentry school and please give her a special award please

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

       

       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Pretty good.

    I like it. Sunshine State Young Readers Award( SSYRA) the year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Awlesone Awesome book

    I think that this is a great book for kids It can be funnie or sad at the same time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    BEST Best book

    BEST FUNNY BOOK EVER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Best Book Ever!!!

    I love this book! All of the characters' personalities fit them perfectly. Our teacher read this to our fourth grade class. We all loved it!

    P.S. If you liked this book I highly suggest The Fabled Fourth Graders of Aesop Elementary School it was so funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    PRETTY GOOD BOOK

    ITS A GOOD ONE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1