Customer Reviews for

Nemesis (Harry Hole Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Gritty European Police Series Continues

In the tradition of the great European crime novels like "The Laughing Policeman", "Smilla's Sense of Snow" and Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther series, Nesbo continues with his Harry Hole novels in this terrific new entry.

Hole, struggling with his alcoholism as w...
In the tradition of the great European crime novels like "The Laughing Policeman", "Smilla's Sense of Snow" and Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther series, Nesbo continues with his Harry Hole novels in this terrific new entry.

Hole, struggling with his alcoholism as well as his new love relationship and the death of his partner, finds himself caught up in trying to solve a murderous bank robbery while trying to convince his superiors that his partner's death is - contrary to their belief - still unsolved and that he should be allowed to pursue an investigation into it.

This is a compelling entry in the series, with rich characterizations and impeccable plotting.

The only thing that readers should be aware of is that the novels of the series published in English thus far have been translated and published out of sequence; this is actually the second book of the series, though it's come out in English third, and the plot line about his partner's murder was resolved in the third book - which was actually the second (last) one published in English (The Devil's Star)) Did you follow that?

If so, dig in and enjoy.

posted by Brian_Baker on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay

This book has gotten some rave reviews and I hate to knock it but I didn't get it. I followed along as Harry Hole (the investigator) tries to deal with his personal life and the work (solving a bank robbery). Maybe, it was the translation from Norwegian that lost me. ...
This book has gotten some rave reviews and I hate to knock it but I didn't get it. I followed along as Harry Hole (the investigator) tries to deal with his personal life and the work (solving a bank robbery). Maybe, it was the translation from Norwegian that lost me. Everyone else who has reviewed it felt the drama and the suspense of this character driven novel, but I didn't. I read it to the end, but will not pick up Jo Nesbo's next book.

posted by grumpydan on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty European Police Series Continues

    In the tradition of the great European crime novels like "The Laughing Policeman", "Smilla's Sense of Snow" and Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther series, Nesbo continues with his Harry Hole novels in this terrific new entry.<BR/><BR/>Hole, struggling with his alcoholism as well as his new love relationship and the death of his partner, finds himself caught up in trying to solve a murderous bank robbery while trying to convince his superiors that his partner's death is - contrary to their belief - still unsolved and that he should be allowed to pursue an investigation into it.<BR/><BR/>This is a compelling entry in the series, with rich characterizations and impeccable plotting.<BR/><BR/>The only thing that readers should be aware of is that the novels of the series published in English thus far have been translated and published out of sequence; this is actually the second book of the series, though it's come out in English third, and the plot line about his partner's murder was resolved in the third book - which was actually the second (last) one published in English (The Devil's Star)) Did you follow that?<BR/><BR/>If so, dig in and enjoy.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Okay

    This book has gotten some rave reviews and I hate to knock it but I didn't get it. I followed along as Harry Hole (the investigator) tries to deal with his personal life and the work (solving a bank robbery). Maybe, it was the translation from Norwegian that lost me. Everyone else who has reviewed it felt the drama and the suspense of this character driven novel, but I didn't. I read it to the end, but will not pick up Jo Nesbo's next book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Maybe a bad translation?

    I've seen great reviews for Jo Nesbo, but I couldn't make it through this book. The story never became interesting, and the writing was equally dull, at times nonsensical. A couple scenes left me wondering if years had passed or a few hours. A dog lunges at a man's throat but bites him on the neck instead. What does that even mean? I suspect the translation is at fault, but I wish I hadn't purchased this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent European Mistery

    Easy reading, good plot, surprising characteres (even more if you met some of them at "The Redbreast") and something that I realy like in a mystery book - not easy to find ending :).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Nemesis

    Fair, didn't paticularly care for any of the characters. Plot ok, writing ok, initial approach was original

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    A 3+

    Very interesting characters, but not too much mystery. I am likely to read another by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not as good as i expected

    I loved The Girl w/ the Dragon Tattoo, the Girl Who Played with Fire, and have just started reading The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest, all by Swedish author Stieg Larsson. My boss, who travels a lot and happens to be Greek (which may be completely irrelevant to this post, but whatevs), also loves these books and knows that I love them. So, he handed me this book, "Nemesis", and told me I'm going to just love it.

    Huh. Can I tell my boss he's wrong without risking my job? ;)

    I didn't love it. Nesbo has a different writing style than Larsson; it's more choppy and harsh. Maybe the translation from Norwegian to English messed up the flow of the narrative, but it was also hard to keep all of the events straight. Not only did I have to keep up with the main event of the bank robbery, but so many other little stories were happening at the same time that I got confused. I'm sure Mr. Nesbo was trying to be suspenseful, but he only succeeded in adding wrinkles to my forehead.

    And I wasn't a fan of Harry Hole. Some reviewers saw him as a "bad-ass cop", but I see him more as a cop stumbling his way through the case not really knowing what he was doing or where he was going. One section he was working on the robberies. The next section he was investigating his lover's suicide. He didn't really seem to have a focus. I understand he was an alcoholic, though he didn't really do anything about that either, since he still drank despite this issue.

    I guess it just wasn't my type of book. I normally do love mysteries and thrillers but this one just didn't catch my interest the way that others do.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    nemisis is a topnotch thriller.

    I wecomed another Scandanavian mystery after reading all of Sweden's Henning Mankell.Like Kurt Wallander Jo Nesbo's hero is also depressed with lousey social skills. The fun is getting into their heads and working out the puzzles. lean writing and advancing plotting. No wasted words.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Great Nordic Thriller

    Suspensful. Makes you want to read more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nesbo is a winner

    Nemesis, the third book in this series, keeps us wanting more. Good characters that you like and care about. Not super heroes, just people that are good at their jobs while still showing us that we are all flawed. Bad guys that are evil and you can hear the hiss whenever they appear. Eagerly look forward to the next book in this series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Came across this author by accident. I have read 2 of the Harry

    Came across this author by accident. I have read 2 of the Harry Hole books so far and have a third on tap. Will more than likely continue to read the series. The author's writing style and story telling runs along smoothly. A decent read if you like crime/detective stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Very good book

    Jo Nesbo does an excellent job of writing out a story that is easy to follow and interesting. The thrilling nature of the novel makes you want to keep turning the next page to find out what is going to happen to Detective Hole next. The only downside I have with the book is that the story is well thought out, but the ending seemed somewhat rushed. Overall a very good read! I would recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    Sometimes I feel as though I¿m genetically hardwired to be a con

    Sometimes I feel as though I’m genetically hardwired to be a contrarian. Not because I actually like being different than everyone else or going against popular opinion, nor do I actually want to stand on the mountaintop and scream “All you bastards are wrong.” Because let’s face it, it’s easy to follow everyone else, to march in line and in step, even if it sometimes means you’re headed for a cliff or the occasional mountain lion. Nor do I get some sort of sick, demented pleasure from bashing other authors and other people’s books, because I’m right there in the trenches with you, buddy. Not necessarily holding your hand, but we’re in the same foxhole, staring out at the same battlefield, and trying to make heads or tails of the opposition. Not that writing is a war, but it sometimes feels that way, to get those pesky words down on paper, and then actually have others get behind the words that you have written, until they make them their own.

    So what does all of this mean for NEMESIS? Well, if you’re looking at the date I started this novel (by the way, that is not a misprint), and the day I finished it (that’s not a misprint either), there’s a massive gap between the two. Where I know I had plenty of fun, and most of this fun was had while not reading said novel. Does that mean it’s badly written? No, absolutely not. But it felt repetitive and redundant, and I was never fully engaged in the story. To be honest, it wasn’t even really all that close of a call. But I wanted to be engaged, I wanted to be fully invested, and I wanted to like this story, because so many others have called it a great and wondrous read with high ratings and glowing reviews. But I just can’t consider myself one of them. Maybe I was built with a different set of Legos.

    You see, the characters resembled emotionless pits; the dialogue felt trite and pedestrian; the plot plunked along like a Corvette ambling down the train tracks on a Sunday afternoon, to the point that I had to reread the back cover copy to figure out what it was I had just finished; and I ended up so lost within the twists and turns of the story that I forgot where the heck I even was.

    If I were to sum up this novel, I’d say it made me want to kick Justin Bieber. Which isn’t that much different from how I normally feel. What I really want to find is the novel that makes me want to hug the Biebs. I’m thinking it’s not possible, but I’m going to continue to hold out hope that it’s out there somewhere, and I will continue to expend energy looking for it.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    John Allerdyce

    Walks in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Venom

    Watches*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Another good mystery

    Well written and keeps your interest throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Enjoy it!

    I read The Leopard first and was hooked by the Harry Hole character. Decided that I wanted to read all the books in the series. Finished reading Nemesis recently and enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Marveous Page-turner

    I was ready to try something new, and I found it here. Set in Norway, this gripping murder mystery gives the lie to the maxim that there are no new stories. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Scandinavian thriller

    Love Jo nesbo books. You will not be disappointed with this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I've read a lot of Nesbo's books most of which I enjoy. This one

    I've read a lot of Nesbo's books most of which I enjoy. This one missed the mark for me. I hope readers who have read this as their FIRST of his books will give The Snowman a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7