BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Neon Angel: A Memoir of a Runaway

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cherrie Currie is a Cherry Bomb

    I have been listening to The Runaways and Joan Jett and the Blackhearts for about 2 months now and I cannot get enough. On top of seeing the movie I needed more and was anticipating the release of this book for a while and it was the basis for the screenplay for the movie. I have recently got my hands on it and could not be happier. Cherie Currie did a wonderful job writing her memoir and it is a touching, fast-paced, thrilling story. She get's very personal with many of the traumatic events that have happened to her as early on as a young child. She also does an amazing job describing what it was like to be a part of the band and the ups and downs they had together. It is a must read for any fans of The Runaways, Joan Jett, Cherie Currie, music lovers, and anyone interested in stories about drug-use, parties and the affect it has on family and friends, etc. It's a wonderful book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great look into Cherie's life and stuggles.

    I loved this book, and kept picking it up everytime I had a spare minute. It's an intriguing look into all the struggles the band went through personally and together. Also at the pain and suffering behind all the glitz and glamour. The experiences Cherie had at such a young age are riveting, and some of the things she went through after her time in the band will leave you with your jaw on the floor! I would defintely recommend this book for any fan of The Runaways, and if you loved the film, it's a much more in depth look at what went on in the lives of these girls. You will appreciate the film more after reading the book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Throughout reading "Neon Angel" i became very inspire


    Throughout reading "Neon Angel" i became very inspired! Knowing that Cherrie Currie herself, wrote this novel made me feel well
    connected and I could understand and feel her emotions so much more. She keeps the book very fast-paced and makes you continuously wonder and thrive to know what's going to happen next. She tells her whole life story of all her life experiences and the hard things she has gone through. She even has around 16 pages of real life pictures of herself and her family throughout her life. I don't feel like this could have been written any better. It has everything you want in a book, suspense, emotion, excitement..etc. This book kept me excited throughout the entire story and I think it is a highly recommended book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Im even a bigger fan of the runaways than before.

    I loved this book so much that i stopped reading it for a few nights becaue i really didnt want to finish it =(. Im not big on reading but boy am i happy that i read this. I wish i had such an amazing story to tell about my life. The runaways are lucky to have had so many memorable experiences.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent-her story will drag you in.

    I just finished reading Neon Angel, and it was amazing. I admire Cherie Currie, the lead singer for The Runaways, for overcoming her drug addiction of over 10 years, and the many hardships she was faced with, during her time with the band as well as after she left. She seems like such a strong person who follows her heart and although there are many dark moments in her life, her story is an amazing and touching one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended- Best book I've read in a while

    Cherie Currie's story in Neon Angel is absolutely amazing and inspiring. The movie, which I did enjoy, could never have possibly done Currie justice; her struggles with abuse and addiction are relatable, while her struggles with life in the fast lane of rock and roll stardom are unique and different. Still, she writes in a way that makes sense of every emotion and choice she makes through the book, and though she ends up in some situations that few people can ever claim, her story remains completely relatable.
    I would like to note, however, that if mild typos bother you, this might be an issue. At least in the e-book edition, I did find a few errors.
    None the less- her writing style feels as though someone is sitting next to you, telling you their life story. An incredible, surreal, amazing, relatable, life story. I liked that.
    I would recommend this to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Fantastic Book!

    I have been a Joan Jett fan for a while, but didn't know about her time in The Runaways until the recent movie release. I enjoyed the movie tremendously and found that it was based on this book. Naturally, I bought it (eBook) and read it. There is so much more material and information in the book that if you enjoyed the movie, you really should read the book. Absolutely fantastic! I have a deep respect for Cherie Currie now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    The Love and Work put in it

    I read the pages in the see inside icon and automattiacaly could tell that the runaways have been in so much promblems to become famous so i would reccomand it to all of my family and my friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Great inside look into The Runnaways, Cherie Curry, and teen fame

    Interesting inside story of Cherie Curry's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    This Is for Every runaway fan love it!

    Read this book it starts with cherrie curries life and goes into how she entered the runaway i love this book very interesting!!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    good book

    i think the story is skewed in cheries favor,but it was a good read. ithought about fot days

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Best book I've read this year!!!!!!! READ

    Neon Angel, by Cherie Currie, and published by Harper Collins, is truly a book that takes you in deep to a 348 page world of young Cherie's rebel past in a 70's setting in the San Fernando Valley of, Southern California. How can someone deal with the hurt and pain of a broken home with no dad to support you no mom to comfort you and a world of anxiety mixed with drugs and music can never satisfy the need of knowing that everything is not a dream but reality. Neon Angel is a life based book that appears to be very movie like but every word of every page actually happened to Cherie Currie and the consequences from her actions are riveting. Cherie was only 15 when she joined a rock band known as The Runaways, an all girls band consisting of five members including Cherie herself. She came involved deeply with the music and the words that they became real life to her as she would sing songs that talked about drugs, sex, rebelling against all authority, and resorting in the end to a reputation of shameless exposure to a corrupt society. Neon Angel is not just about the life of a young troubled girl but about the life of many teens her age at this point of history. Fifteen years old is a sensitive age where many girls and guys try to find a nook of friends to fit into but always wanting to be accepted as a popular type by others around them. Drugs is a main issue for teenagers because peer pressure is very relevant and addiction is likely possible to be the outcome of excessive usage of drugs. Reading this book you will find that Cherie was no ordinary teenage girl but yet looking for someone to love her as a result of a dysfunctional home and family. This book opened my eyes to a world of ups and downs during a perilous time of free spirit, heightened divorce rates in the home and young teens trying to find themselves just to fit in to society. If you're someone looking for a plain Joe Shmoe biography then Neon Angel is not the book for you unless you're willing to convince yourself that you're ready to read word on word extreme outtakes of a young girl caught in the middle of life and death, CAUTION: this book may cause serious brain hemorrhaging and shortness of breath due to the nonstop reading and fidgeting of wanting to know what will happen next. The first day I opened Neon Angel to read I was so caught up in the moment of Cherie's story I could not stop but wonder what will happen next and how the only way possible to know what will happen is by continuing to read. My favorite part of the book has to be the first chapter when Cherie and her twin sister lie to their mom get dressed in a dirty gas station bathroom and sneak off to a concert to see their favorite singer for the first time. The description of every moment placed into Neon Angel is incredibly well worded as well as a Shocker and mouth dropper for someone looking to read a biography of all things considered the good, the bad, and.the crazy. Neon Angel has shown that life lived to the fullest degree may not always be fun and games but can come at a high price of near death experiences which makes you think twice on what your next move will be and how to avoid the unexpected turnout. I would recommend Neon Angel to high school students looking for a refreshing book without the fantasy characters and fake upbringings of fiction but to see that some biographies should not be left on shelves to collect dust. Please read this book you will not regret it TRUST ME. : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    The Runaway Generation

    As a big fan of the Runaways in the 70s, I couldn't wait to read Neon Angel. The book took me on a trip (pardon the pun) down memory lane. Cherie Currie's memoir is a behind the scenes look at sex drugs and rock-n-roll in the 70s. The book also details Cherie Currie's personal hardships and ultimate triumphs, from conquering drug addiction to overcoming emotional/physical abuse by unscrupulous adults in her life.
    Neon Angel details the formation of the Runaways and their rise to stardom as the first teenage, all-girl punk band. But more than that, it is the story of an entire generation growing up during the end of countercultural revolution. For many who grew up during the 70s (and can still remember it), Neon Angel will likely jog a few memories.
    The 70s presented the "perfect storm" of circumstances necessary for the Runaways to exist. The combination of casual parenting, prolific drugs, and sexual freedom and naïve teens resulted in a musical phenomenon that exemplified a generation. Unfortunately for Cherie Currie, the fame came at a price. Her life both on and off the stage is poignant and distressing - I felt guilty for loving the story knowing that the harrowing events actually happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    read it, you won't regret it!

    wow, what an amazing book! I haven't read the previous one but sure like the newer version. I think THE RUNAWAYS had gone through some pretty rough ****! Cherie Currie almost destroyed her life by being with the runaways! The book tells you about as well as their experience as the all-the-girl rock band and also Cherie's personal experience on what happened before and I think most importantly AFTER the runaways!
    Amazing book, amazing story!
    I even cried on some parts of the story. Touching!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my favorite book of all time! It skipped unnecessary det

    This is my favorite book of all time! It skipped unnecessary detail and went straight into the action, everything Cherie said I could imagine it in my head so perfectly, as if I was there. It gave me a good vision as of how a celebrity lives and how it starts. I've read this book about five times already and I never get  bored with it even though I know what comes up next. Amazing book! I recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Bella

    Nite!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Omg

    AMAZING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Emm

    I need a beer. Stat

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    BIRTHDAY PARTY

    For vivian at poool result 2 speed word

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    One of my favorite books of all time

    I first watched the movie. Repulsed by the raw sex, I only finished the first half. But, when I went back to watch it again, it was like my eyes were being opened for the first time. Opened to sex, drugs, rebellion, and rock n'roll! Then, I bought the book and fell even more in love with the 70s rock scene! This book and its movie have changed my life--for the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5