Customer Reviews for

The Neon Rain (Dave Robicheaux Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

First Time Robicheaux Reader

Started at the beginning of this series and I'm glad I did. This book is simply outstanding. Burke introduces a strong, deep and complex character and surrounds him with a great story and a load of other folks that draw the reader's interest. I finished this one pr...
Started at the beginning of this series and I'm glad I did. This book is simply outstanding. Burke introduces a strong, deep and complex character and surrounds him with a great story and a load of other folks that draw the reader's interest. I finished this one pretty quick and will jump right into the next in the series. This will have you hooked within the first couple of pages and it never slows down.

posted by SlapShot62 on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Over-detailed Environment You have no idea how much I wanted to

Over-detailed Environment

You have no idea how much I wanted to like this book. Really messed-up characters always makes for an interesting read and "Neon Rain" has that aplenty. The interesting storyline attracts you with the different intertwining relations...
Over-detailed Environment

You have no idea how much I wanted to like this book. Really messed-up characters always makes for an interesting read and "Neon Rain" has that aplenty. The interesting storyline attracts you with the different intertwining relationships among characters. And the dialogue is amazing. So what's so bad about "Neon Rain"? In my opinion its the too detailed description of the environment. Yes, I get that the author is trying to create an audio-visual-olfactory world in which the events are happening. Yes, I get that the author is trying to show that the environment mirrors what the characters are feeling. But, like I said, it was too, TOO, much details that killed the excitement for this book.

posted by J3v0n on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I can't understand why this book is so highly praised...it's dow

    I can't understand why this book is so highly praised...it's downright terrible.

    Predictable cliched plot, uninteresting characters and mind-numbing dialogue aside, this novel suffers greatly from one laughably unrealistic moment after another.

    For example, in one chapter, the main character Dave Robicheaux (a New Orleans Homicide Detective) is pulled over and harassed by corrupt sheriffs in bayou country who attempt toarrest him at gunpoint. Dave is quick on the draw though, and handcuffs the two cops to their car (really?). He then hitches a ride with a female stranger, a witness to the whole event, who ends up becoming his love interest after a day or two (really?!). Then on their very first date, three goons break into her apartment, they beat Dave bloody and nearly drown him in the tub, and one of them molests the woman. The goons escape before the cops arrive, and after being questioned by the police DAVE AND THE WOMAN ARE STILL TOGETHER AND THEY SHARE PERSONAL STORIES WITH EACH OTHER (REALLY?!!).

    It's pretty much like this the whole book. Dave gets in serious deadly trouble, survives, then ignores every higher rank's orders and gets himself in trouble again, rinse, repeat. No real detective work, no consequences from the brass whatsoever. Just mindless action and tough guy attitudes, with Vietnam flashbacks tacked on for good measure.

    The star is for it's setting New Orleans, the only reason I got the book and the only interesting thing about it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Over-detailed Environment You have no idea how much I wanted to

    Over-detailed Environment

    You have no idea how much I wanted to like this book. Really messed-up characters always makes for an interesting read and "Neon Rain" has that aplenty. The interesting storyline attracts you with the different intertwining relationships among characters. And the dialogue is amazing. So what's so bad about "Neon Rain"? In my opinion its the too detailed description of the environment. Yes, I get that the author is trying to create an audio-visual-olfactory world in which the events are happening. Yes, I get that the author is trying to show that the environment mirrors what the characters are feeling. But, like I said, it was too, TOO, much details that killed the excitement for this book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Time Robicheaux Reader

    Started at the beginning of this series and I'm glad I did. This book is simply outstanding. Burke introduces a strong, deep and complex character and surrounds him with a great story and a load of other folks that draw the reader's interest. I finished this one pretty quick and will jump right into the next in the series. This will have you hooked within the first couple of pages and it never slows down.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Endless descriptions of this thar and the other thing.

    10 pages of very perdictable action, 210 pages of sunsets and how he felt about them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Just TERRIBLE !!!

    I really tried to read this book but I just can't get past some glaring problems that relate to my own personal experience. It seems as though the author did little to no research about law enforcement and even less about guns. Maybe he thought watching a few episodes of "Cops" was enough research. The author also describes guns and what they're capable of doing in a very strange, unrealistic way.

    Disappointed

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Good+ole+fashioned+southern+fried+noir

    Great+sense+of+atmosphere+and+character.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Another Notch in Burke's Literary Gun

    Just love Dave Robichaux, Burke's nearly fatally-flawed protagonist, who has more internal demons than hell can dream up. But he gets the job done, another helluva of a mystery.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    This Man Can Tell a Story

    I was turned on to Mr. Burke by the NY Times Book Review Crime Page. I have now read several of Mr. Burke's books, including 'The Neon Rain' and fully intend to read his entire output. I find his style of writing unique, knowledgeable and so different from any other plodding mystery writers. I note that on the cover of this book Publisher's Weekly says 'Reminiscent of Elmore Leonard....' and I beg to differ. Any prospective purchaser reading that quip and having read any of Leonard's drivel would immediately forget buying 'The Neon Rain'. In my ever humble opinion there is absolutely no companrison between James Lee Burke and Elmore Leonard. If I were Mr. Burke and read that comparison I would consider at least ending my writing days or at most, shooting myself. James Lee Burke is a real writer who writes in detail of what he knows. I suspect he has spent a great deal of time on backgrounds, on notes and on the streets in the real life of his characters. Well done Mr. Burke!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    One of Burke's best!!!!

    If you're a big fan of Burke's or just want to read a fast-paced crime drama about the side of New Orleans that you never see, then this book is for you!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Awful

    Awful

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    not one of his best.

    got bored with it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Good read.

    I thought the book was well written and had good pacing. I enjoyed the way he used his phrasing and the words he used to express his thoughts. It was my first James Lee Burke book but it will not be the last. Overall I would give it 3 and 1/2 stars. Command of words 4 stars and plot 3 stars. That is a good rating from me because I would only give something that was a truly profound novel 4 or 5 stars. For what this was as easy read to pass the time I truly enjoyed it and I will read more books by Burke.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great beginning to an outstanding series

    If you haven't read Burke, this is a great place to start. Robicheaux is a wonderfully complicated and flawed protaganist, and Burke does a first-rate job of projecting the atmosphere of the bayou.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    H

    B

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    very boring

    Too many rabbit trails that led nowhere. I will never read this author again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    WOW!

    My mom kept telling me about James Lee Burke and his Dave Robicheaux series and I finally bought this one. I really enjoyed it and didn't want to put it down! The author's way of describing a scene makes you feel like you are really standing next to Robicheaux in Louisiana. I could feel everything he was feeling. I will continue to read these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Got through 137 pages & that was enough! Description after d

    Got through 137 pages & that was enough! Description after description. Dave getting repeatedly beaten up & back to drinking
    yada yada yada.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Lexi

    Waited ,hoping Alex liked her

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4