Customer Reviews for

Nephilim

Average Rating 4.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was really a great book. I really enjoyed reading it. It

    This was really a great book. I really enjoyed reading it. It was
    well written and you are drawn into the story right away. It is an
    urban fantasy that takes place in a world just like ours. But angels
    when they need a break spend time on earth living among humans. This
    though provides them with a lot of temptation and when they give in, you
    end up with a nephilim. Faye is one of the nephilim, a half human/half
    angel. Her father was an angel who fell in love with her mother after a
    chance meeting that led to them becoming friends. After a horrible
    accident Faye wants nothing more to do with angels or their problems.
    However, her guardian angel knows she has a stalked that she needs to be
    protected from. This is where he arranges for her to meet and
    "investigate" Nathan and the methods he uses in his mission on
    earth. All the characters were interesting and well developed and you
    really root for Faye to discover what everyone around her knows and is
    keeping from her to try and keep her safe. You also really want Nathan
    to be friendly and try to help influence people more towards happiness
    than the usual despair and anger his tattoos bring out. Its easy and
    enjoyable to follow them on their journey and see how they change and
    grow as characters. It has a good ending, pretty much what you would
    expect from an urban fantasy. Not everyone gets their happily ever
    after but most things work out for the best. I am really looking
    forward to reading more of her books and hope we revisit this world and
    characters again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Nephilium – Mary Ann Loesch Tattoo artist Nathan Ink is m

    Nephilium – Mary Ann Loesch

    Tattoo artist Nathan Ink is more than he seems. An angel living in secret on earth, he forces his clients to face their flaws by tattooing images of their sins on their bodies, but this glimpse into the soul often results in his clients' deaths. Although Nathan avoids the other angels, when they ask him to keep an eye on Faye, a nephilim being stalked by another of her kind, he reluctantly agrees.

    The angels have kept Faye in the dark about her stalker, but to keep her close to Nathan, they've tasked her with investigating the high mortality rate of Nathan's clients. Despite her distaste for his methods, she finds herself fighting a growing attraction to Nathan, and discovering he's not a rogue after all forces her to question her own mission. When Faye learns her stalker is another nephilim who intends to use her to breed a new race of hellish beings, teaming up with Nathan may be the only way to prevent a genocide.
    Contains strong language and violence.

    From the first page, I was intrigued by the world that Loesch has set up. The characters are well fleshed out, and are interesting.
    Faye is a florist by trade, but as a nephilium (angel & human crossbreed) has healing powers and the ability to help people cross over.
    Her faith has always been strong, until an unthinkable tragedy strikes...she blames her guardian Azal and turns away from the Angels.
    For 7 years, Faye has kept to herself, not getting close to anyone... Until Azal makes it impossible for her to ignore him.
    While Faye investigates, she uncovers a vital piece of information that she thought had been lost a long time ago.

    Azal, the Angel of Good Fortune sets her on a mission to investigate a sketchy, but sexy tattoo artist, Nathan Ink. It seems that several of Nathan’s clients have wound up dead... Nathan a killer? It just doesn’t add up, none of the deaths are similar – other than spending time in his chair and getting inked.
    Nathan is a loner, and prefers it to be that way. When Azal approaches him to help keep an eye on Faye, Nathan decides he will do all he can to help.

    You’re in for a ride while reading this book...just when you think you have it figured out – you’ll be sent in another direction! Hold on to your seat, this is a thrilling ride – and you’ll never guess just how it ends.....

    I sincerely hope that Ms. Loesch plans to write more about the Angels...I’d love to learn all the different abilities they have.




    Mary Ann Loesch is an award winning fiction writer whose urban fantasy, Nephilim, was published by Lyrical Press Inc., in July 2011. She has contributed stories to the anthologies Red Reader 1 and All Things Dark and Dastardly.
    This biography was provided by the author or their representative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    First of all, I just want to start off by saying, HOW HOT is tha

    First of all, I just want to start off by saying, HOW HOT is that cover? I love it!


    You will notice my tags for this review are under Paranormal, but not Paranormal Romance. There is a lite romance to this book, but not enough to be considered a Paranormal Romance.


    I loved Mary Ann's writing style. I felt like everything flowed very well and the characters were very easy to become attached to. This is the kind of book that you become engrossed in.


    This story is imaginative and I personally loved the tattoo twist with the Angels.


    If you are interested in a roller coaster ride with many twists and turns than this is definitely the book for you. There are plenty of times where I said to myself "Whoa, didn't see that coming."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An emotional thrill ride that will leave you yearning for more!


    An emotional thrill ride that will leave you yearning for more!

    Born half human, half angel (a Nephilim) with healing powers, Faye has lost all her faith in angels and the divine after losing her parents and fiance who were murdered. She blames her guardian Angel Azal for her loss and refuses to use her gifts to work with the angels on Earth. When another of her kind begins to stalk Faye for his dark purposes, Azal must resort to enlisting the help of Nathan, a "rogue" tattoo artist and angel living in secret among humans. Nathan is a loner, but when he learns about the danger Faye is in he agrees to protect her. If Azal's plan is to work, he's to keep Faye in the dark by assigning her the task of investigating a slew of deaths connected to Nathan and his tattoos. Faye isn't a fan of Nathan and his ways but there's something about this unconventional angel that stirs up an intense attraction whenever she's around him. When the truth of the other nephilim's plan is revealed, Faye finds herself joining forces with Nathan to stop what could be the extinction of angels.

    I'm a huge fan of angels in PNR and Urban Fantasy and I must say ms. Loesch does not dissappoint with Nephilim. In a world where angels roam the earth among humans, the author has created a superb and original storyline that grabs you from the first sentence. The complexity of this paranormal world is executed in great detail and the plot is easy to follow, there's just enough intrigue and tension to keep you turning the pages. The characters are complex and each one brings an element of depth to the story.

    Nathan is the hero every romance fan loves, he's tall, dark, handsome and has a little dark side! As the story progresses you see that he is not what he seems and has a softer side to him making him a good guy. I adore a strong and independent heroine and that's exactly what Faye is. She' s smart, sassy and compassionate but has a little edge that makes her bad a**! She instantly became a favorite while reading. I like that the relationship between her and Nathan started out as an uncomfortable situation for both and slowly became more emotional. I was hoping for an explosive romantic moment and felt this particular element in the story was a bit rushed for my taste. That said, the story was wonderfully executed and the take on Lucifer and the angels is sympathetic and not the typical good and evil roles we're accustomed to in literature. The flawlessness of the characters is what really draws you into this dark and gritty world the author has created.

    Nephilim is a well crafted urban fantasy that brings you into a dark and dangerous world of intrigue and suspense. There's never a dull moment and the suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat with anticipation. If you enjoy your angels a little on the dark side then I suggest you add this one to your list! I'll be impatiently waiting for the next installment in the series after reading the last page, I won't post any spoilers but I'll say there are some unresolved issues I'm hoping to get closure on in book two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Frankly I only read the book because I like the premise, but I h

    Frankly I only read the book because I like the premise, but I have to say that I got pulled into the world of bad boy angles and nephilim. My only regret is that there was not more or a sequel (hint, hint)
    Although I borrowed the book from the library I plan to purchase it because I think that it's good enough to read a couple more times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Faye is a nephilim who, for the most part, just tries to live a

    Faye is a nephilim who, for the most part, just tries to live a normal life. After her family was murdered seven years ago she has pretty much lost her faith in God. It also doesn't help that she thinks that God is the one that murdered her family. A punishment for her angel father for falling in love with her human mother and creating Faye in the first place. Ever since then she has left behind anything tied to the angel world...that is until Azal, her guardian angel, shows back up and asks for her help with a rogue angel, Nathan Ink. It seems that almost everyone that walks into Nathan Ink's tattoo shop ends up dead shortly after sitting in his chair. Is Nathan causing these deaths and taking his angel status to far?

    Unfortunately Faye's curiosity gets the best of her and even though she wants nothing to do with angels and God she finds herself sucked back into their world. Little does she know that Nathan is actually there to help protect her. Protect her form an evil greater than the one she thinks she was sent to uncover.

    When I first started this book I was under the impression that this was a PNR novel, but after reading it I would say it is more of an Urban Fantasy. Had I known that in the beginning I may not have been inclined to read it since I don't usually read that genre. Still this turned out to be a great book. The writing was strong and spot on, and the characters were well developed.I also loved how Lucifer was portrayed. It was original and I liked how he wasn't the villain that he usually is.

    Overall this book kept me entertained and wanting more. I did wish that it didn't fade to black during the adult scene with Nathan Ink and Faye, but other than that this was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If the reader is willing to forget his Christian preconceptions and take the story at face value, there is much to recommend this well-written and diverting work.

    Reviewed by Stefan Vucak for Readers Favorite

    Azal, an angel of good fortune, asks Faye to investigate Nathan Ink, a rogue angel, whose tattoos of one of the seven deadly sins cause people to die as they give in to their evil impulses. Seven years ago, Faye's parents and fiancé were killed, and Faye thinks that Azal was responsible. Lucifer's son, Sammael, stalks Faye, wanting to mate with her to produce a race of superior beings. Both are nephilim, a product of an angel and a mortal woman. Sammael is killing angels, trapping their essence in a magic knife. In a final confrontation, Sammael's power is destroyed. Because Nathan dared to mate with Faye, God turns him into a mortal.

    In Nephilim, Mary Loesch takes the reader into a world where angels and nephilim walk the Earth, doing God's bidding to guard humanity and keep it from sinning, not always successfully. In this world, there are no demons, and Lucifer is an angel who brings chaos into a person's life - which is a test of faith. The angels are afflicted with very human emotions and earthly desires, and God really doesn't know what is going on with his creations.

    If the reader is willing to forget his Christian preconceptions and take the story at face value, there is much to recommend this well-written and diverting work. There are some slow passages the reader can skip, and the idea of very human-like angels reduces the potential impact of the book, but the work still offers a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    An absolute must read!!

    From cover to cover, this story kept me wanting more. I will definitely be recommending this to friends, and I am looking forward to a sequel or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1