Customer Reviews for

Neptune's Inferno: The U.S. Navy at Guadalcanal

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    EMPHATICALLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    For a person who personally thought that he knew a lot about the war in the Pacific, I am humbled in my attitude about my knowledge of the subject. Having first read "Last Stand of the Tin Can Navy" because my wife gave it to me for a Christmas present, I was eager to jump into this book. I was not disappointed. There were moments while reading "Neptune's Inferno" I felt like jumping on top of my chair and screaming at the hierarchy of the Navy (not a good thing to do at 35000 ft on a crowded airplane) for decisions that nearly lost this battle, in what appeared to be in the name of the Naval Academy brotherhood on one hand, and leadership incompetence on the other. Incredible loss of American blood and treasure, that if not for the seamanship and determination of the junior officers and enlisted sailors actually in the battle for the sea around Guadalcanal, may have turned the battle into a major defeat for the U.S. and her Allies. Having 20/20 hindsight is great as I try to keep this in perspective, and am doing my best to not judge some of the leaders too harshly. But my gosh, it has to make you wonder what they were thinking. I have removed my rose colored glasses towards the military leadership of that time because of this book and am casting a more critical eye towards other events and the how and why's. The book is not so much an indictment of the Admirals, as much as it is a celebration of the American fighting man. Mr. Hornfischer provides extraordinary detail to allow the reader a vivid look into the past with excellent research through the records and personal interviews with survivors and families. The author has inspired me to read more and update my knowledge about this battle and others in the Pacific during WWII. I am hoping that he writes a book on the battle for Okinawa, as my father and father-in-law were both there, Navy and Army respectively, and have since passed away, unfortunately, before we could get more of the details of their experience. An excellent read

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Gripping! A story of dedication and courage for the ages.

    James D. Hornfischer's book Neptune's Inferno holds the reader from paragraph to paragraph, page to page, and chapter to chapter. It's a story of men doing their duty under conditions that would make most of us shake with terror. They are going into battle, each sealed in his own duty station, many below the water line, hearing all hell break loose all around them,feeling the ship shudder when struck by enemy fire, hearing the screams of the wounded,and going about their job. It is, in short, a stirring tribute to the American sailor of World War II. Set in the waters around Guadalcanal in late 1942, it tells the story of outgunned American cruisers and destroyers fighting more heavily armored and gunned Japanese forces attempting to dislodge American Marines from their positions around a a former Japanese airfield, now named Henderson field in a series of night battles. The waters in which the battles were fought became known as Iron Bottom Sound because of the large numbers of warships that went to their graves there. This is not a story of ships fighting each other at long range. They were often less than 100 yards apart, firing at point blank range.It was not always one formation against another. American vessels steamed into the center of Japanese formations and it quickly became a battle of one ship against another. It also features men who entered the history books, such as Admiral Yamamoto for Japan and Admiral "Bull" Halsey of the United States. Its real story however, is of heroic men fighting not only to sink Japanese vessels but simultaneously fighting to save their own badly damaged ships from sinking. Hornfischer provides graphic details of the epic battle to save the cruiser San Francisco and the losing battle to save the cruiser Helena. He tells of an American destroyer sailing so close to a Japanese battleship during a night battle that they were looking up at its main deck as they went by.The reader feels the sheer terror that could grip the men in such a a battle, but the reader also comes away from the story with a real appreciation of the heroism and dedication of the men who fought their ships. What really got to this reviewer was that the officers and men who fought these ships had no control over anything. The Admirals decided on the course of action, and the captains of the ships went where they were ordered to go. The men in the gun turrets, control centers and engine rooms and other parts of the ship were sealed in their compartments to preserve water right integrity, and those compartments could easily become, and some did become, their coffins. As a World War II and Korean War Army veteran, at least I could look around and see what was happening. I could even make minor decisions. These men had none of those options. They simply did their duty. God bless them !!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    WWII Naval History at its Best

    Hornfischer captures in very readble fashion, the complex South Pacific naval battles between the US Navy and the Imperial Japanese Navy in late 1942. The well researched 400+ page account captures the military, human,logistical details of this multi-month conflict that is probably the largest such naval encounter.

    The author of Last Stand of the Tin Can Sailors and Ship of Ghosts has done it again with another literary gem rounding out his personal WWII Pacific Naval trilogy that is essential for any home naval library.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Outstanding

    For those interested in naval history, this book is a must. It provides great detail without reading like a textbook. In fact, it reads more like a blow by blow account of a heavy weight fight. Readers may find it difficult to put down,and, find themselves hungry for more by the end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A new standard in naval literature

    There are two things that I may say of a James Hornfischer book since he burst onto the naval literature scene in 2004 with The Last Stand of the Tin Can Sailors. First, the book will be as well researched and documented as any I've seen and second, it will be historical data that has been rigorously examined, augmented by many first person accounts and newly obtained material, and crafted into an imminently readable volume that reads like a thriller. Such a book was his first. His second, Ship of Ghosts, has even made Hornfischer a member of the USS HOUSTON (CA-30) Association's extended family.

    Now comes his third naval history book, Neptune's Inferno: The U.S. Navy at Guadalcanal. There have been several books, many of them very good, on the half-year-long battle in 1942 for that island but they focus on the Marines and their engagements ashore. For the first time there is a book that examines the entire campaign from the perspective of the navy. There were several engagements during the period, some decided losses for the Americans and Hornfischer describes not only the events but the underlying reasons. He takes us through lessons learned as the American Navy, still moribund from the inactivity of the interwar years and the Depression, comes to life in the heat of battle.

    Taking each battle in turn, Hornfischer educates the reader without seeming to do so. We are being entertained by history; more than that we are enthralled with the stories he so deftly weaves as history becomes alive and real to the extent that I almost expected to feel salt spray on my face.

    From the understanding of the need to stop the Japanese advance at a point where Allied forces would have a real place to start the war, to the departure of the last Japanese evacuees when Guadalcanal was safely in American hands, every aspect of the campaign is presented in a fresh and compelling way: a history that is a page-turner.

    James Hornfischer fans will not be disappointed. If anything, the bar he set so high with The Last Stand has been raised and all future naval historical literature will be improved as a result.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Great read

    This was the most in depth book I have read about the sea battles around Guadalcanal. The subject interests me because I have an uncle that was onboard the Helena when it was sunk, and like many vets he doesn't talk about the experience. This book didn't cover that action because it was after the timeline for the book, but it does give me an idea of what led up to that sinking. Mr Hornfischer's book "Ship of Ghosts" is also what got me to read this one, also an excellent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Best of class

    "Highly recommend, must read, couldn't put it down" are all overused but in this case spot on. I was a little reluctant to buy this book because my interest in naval history is a recent thing and not as well developed as military aviation, which is where my true interest and experience usually takes me, but I don't know how many times while reading this book I found myself saying "this book is worth every penny of it's cost" (not something I usually find myself saying lately) and "this book should be required reading by every American citizen." So good I searched everything I could find by Hornfischer and I'm working my way through them all. It's that good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Ginger on December 4, 2012

    Read this book in 2 days. Second book that I've read by him. Last Stand of the Tin Cans was the first. Another 2 day read. Can't wait for his next. Good writer. Great reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Prim

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Highly recommend the read by real book, not the Nook version

    James Hornfischer does an excellent job of fleshing out the background of the many naval battles fought in Iron Bottom Sound. I highly recommend his book. The Nook version failed in the reproduction of the battle maps, which were extremely tiny and blurry when a magnifying glass was used. I am disappointed in the Nook book's failure to spend more time developing this very important part of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Highly recommended, enthralling and compelling!

    One of the most interesting and fact filled books detailing a major yet little documented battle of World War II. Not only does it lay out the fiasco resulting from inept leadership both in Washington and in the Pacific arena, it also gives specific background details leading up to this historical event. The reader will learn that based on our protocol, the United States should have lost this war. Only through the tenacity of and sacrifices made by the sailors, soldiers and marines were we able to overcome these shortcomings in leadership. "Neptune's Inferno" is a glowing example of what happens when any nation becomes so absorbed in control that it loses the ability to look for a newer, better and more efficient way of operating its military as well as an excellent example of egos getting in the way of success by not listening to men in the field as they developed better approaches and improvements to communications. It truly is a must read for anyone who wants to understand the effectiveness, or lack thereof, the U.S. Navy exuded during World War II. On a personal note, having had a father and four uncles engaged in this battle, James Hornfisher captured the emotions and frustrations felt by each and every participant. It was as if I, the reader, was with each of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Exact and still exciting

    Absolutely fabulous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    A very good history lesson

    Amazing chronology of events surrounding Guadalcanal. A very good history lesson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Dawn

    Okay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Awesome book

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    I enjoyed reading this wonderful book very much! Highly recomme

    I enjoyed reading this wonderful book very much! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Well researched

    I found the book to be too detailed. I was looking for more of an overview of the battle which I fell was lost in the continuous flow of
    facts .
    It all depends on what you are looking for and if it is a comprehensive accounting of the battle, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Must read

    Fairly presents US Navy in the paridigm shift to naval aviation, while still fighting a well prepared/trained opponent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Highly recommended. For those of an historical bent, it is a must read.

    Accuracy with a breadth of detail portrayed in a writing style that in itself creates drama of the greatest intensity.

    Hack34

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great Book. Very educational.

    I enjoyed this book very much. After many years of reading about this time period of Naval and Marine history, I've learned so much more reading this book. The links also so greatly explained in depth, the damage to the US and Japanses Battleships. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8