Customer Reviews for

Nerd Camp

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nerds Are Cool!!

This was a great, funny chapter book. The story is about a 10 year old boy name Gabe, who is okay with being smart, but may be being cool is the way to go. Gabe is excited to be accepted to Nerd Camp, but once he is there, he must decide if his adventures there are too ...
This was a great, funny chapter book. The story is about a 10 year old boy name Gabe, who is okay with being smart, but may be being cool is the way to go. Gabe is excited to be accepted to Nerd Camp, but once he is there, he must decide if his adventures there are too cool or too nerdy. He does this the nerdiest way he knows how- with a logic proof. The adventures Gabe has at camp are really funny and entertaining. Kids can really relate to the plot and the characters in this story. Elissa Brent Weissman does a terrific job with developing them. Their dialogue and their actions are so believable. Behind all the humor in the book, there is a lesson. We don't have to change for anybody, and we should like who we are. We can learn a lot from each other, whether we are cool or a nerd. It was a terrific read!!

posted by mreese on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

uhhh

pretty boring i say two stars dont call me a hater i just think it is not that entertaining

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Nerds Are Cool!!

    This was a great, funny chapter book. The story is about a 10 year old boy name Gabe, who is okay with being smart, but may be being cool is the way to go. Gabe is excited to be accepted to Nerd Camp, but once he is there, he must decide if his adventures there are too cool or too nerdy. He does this the nerdiest way he knows how- with a logic proof. The adventures Gabe has at camp are really funny and entertaining. Kids can really relate to the plot and the characters in this story. Elissa Brent Weissman does a terrific job with developing them. Their dialogue and their actions are so believable. Behind all the humor in the book, there is a lesson. We don't have to change for anybody, and we should like who we are. We can learn a lot from each other, whether we are cool or a nerd. It was a terrific read!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ELISSA BRENT WEISSMAN'S "NERD CAMP"

    ELISSA BRENT WEISSMAN'S "NERD CAMP" (REVIEW)

    This is a fantastic book for kids from ages 8 to 12. I just finished it and it is not only an entertaining story but it's fun and teaches a kids a valuable lesson about how important it is to just be themselves. The story is written with just the right amount of humor to keep you interested and even teaches you a few interesting facts along the way! I would definitely recommend this book to children of this age group and even to adults that enjoy a good middle grade book read from time to time.

    Elissa Weissman writes with knowledge and the kind of humor that is somewhat reminiscent of the "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series. I really loved this book and have passed it on to my daughter who was just dying to add it to her collection to read.

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Nerd Camp

    Nerd Camp is a great laugh for kids 8-12. It really draws you in and makes you want to read all day. Gabe is really smart and is so excited to be accepted into this extra education camp. It got the name by....well you have to read to find out. Read about Gabe and his friends on their nerdy adventures!

    - Young Mind Reporter

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was awsome. I recommend it to anyone. It keeps you off the edge of your seat and you even learn while being entertained. Best book ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Almost done

    Best ever read it it is for all ages

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Amazing

    Read this over the summer good so amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    uhhh

    pretty boring i say two stars dont call me a hater i just think it is not that entertaining

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    The best!

    Love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book is great. It's a great summer read for kids. So I truly liked this book! So you should read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    &heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    ARSENAL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    H

    I saw this book at barnes and noble and it was ten bucks! It is cheaper and veru funn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Nerd camp

    Worst book ive ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Awesome

    This is a funny book for all ages and just keeps you wanting to read more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Book is soooo adorkable!

    Great book this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Proud

    Im a nerd, and i'm proud!!!
    And this was a nice book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    DANI TO ALL

    We are moving camp because too many people got locked out. New place is taekwondo all results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    My book?

    My friend is reading this book and she says it is amazing but, i don't know if i should get it or not. What do you guys think?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2