Customer Reviews for

Nerves of Steel

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Suspenseful Page-Turner

I was hooked by this medical thriller and am eager to read more from this talented author. It's obvious that CJ Lyons has vast medical experience and the authentic details make the hospital scenes come alive. Dr. Cassie Hart is a compelling and well-drawn character with...
I was hooked by this medical thriller and am eager to read more from this talented author. It's obvious that CJ Lyons has vast medical experience and the authentic details make the hospital scenes come alive. Dr. Cassie Hart is a compelling and well-drawn character with an interesting past. She is strong yet vulnerable at the same time, and this makes for a three-dimensional protagonist. I suspect that the author chose the last name Hart for a reason, as Cassie finds herself growing close to Detective Drake and letting him into a heart that has taken a beating over the years. The mix of romance and suspense makes for a page-turning read. I'd highly recommend this book for mystery lovers, as well as fans of romantic suspense and medical thrillers. This novel is a steal for the low price.

posted by bookloverSJ on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fast Paced Read

I've just discovered CJ Lyons and I'm definitely hooked! I enjoyed this medical thriller and found myself drawn into the story very quickly. Yes, sometimes I had to wonder what the characters were thinking when they took particular actions, but, for me, it didn't detrac...
I've just discovered CJ Lyons and I'm definitely hooked! I enjoyed this medical thriller and found myself drawn into the story very quickly. Yes, sometimes I had to wonder what the characters were thinking when they took particular actions, but, for me, it didn't detract. I recommend - it's a good read.

posted by CherubsLibrary on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    A Suspenseful Page-Turner

    I was hooked by this medical thriller and am eager to read more from this talented author. It's obvious that CJ Lyons has vast medical experience and the authentic details make the hospital scenes come alive. Dr. Cassie Hart is a compelling and well-drawn character with an interesting past. She is strong yet vulnerable at the same time, and this makes for a three-dimensional protagonist. I suspect that the author chose the last name Hart for a reason, as Cassie finds herself growing close to Detective Drake and letting him into a heart that has taken a beating over the years. The mix of romance and suspense makes for a page-turning read. I'd highly recommend this book for mystery lovers, as well as fans of romantic suspense and medical thrillers. This novel is a steal for the low price.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Reading!

    If you're in the mood for a thrilling read you can sink your teeth into, look no further, Nerves of Steel is the book for you! I truly enjoyed this book, Nerves of Steel by CJ Lyons. It delves into the world of medicine, pharmacology and police work. The main characters seemed true to life to me personally. The book was everything a romantic suspense should be. I won't provide a blow by blow because the blurb does a pretty good job of telling what the book is about. I'll talk about the characterization because I thought the characters were well drawn. The heroine was a victim of spousal abuse, and yes, she does get training in marshal arts but that training only goes so far, especially emotionally. She acted in a manner that was consistent with her past. If she had been the strongest heroine with no backlash reactions, it would have been a tad unbelievable. The hero of the book was also true to character. He wanted to believe in Hart, and he did. He struggled to find a balance in his life and career. His struggle with his past and his new developing relationship is evident in his behavior. I loved the suspense, the romance, the supporting characters. I really did enjoy reading this novel and I have all ready purchased the second in this series featuring Hart and Drake. I can honestly recommend it to fans of romantic suspense. Other authors I've enjoyed: Kylie Brant, Cynthia Eden, Annie Solomon, Jill Sorenson, Ramona Richards, Stephanie Newton, Vicki Hinze.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Great Book! Highly Recommend!

    Another Great medical thriller by Ms. Lyons! It is easy to get fully engrossed in this romantic thriller with two great characters in Cassie Hart and Det. Drake. A page turner that keeps you rooting for the characters to solve the mystery. One of my new favorite authors, she does not disappoint! If you haven't read any of Ms. Lyons books, please don't hesitate to try them, you will not be disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Great new series by CJ Lyons.

    I was a huge fan of CJ Lyons after reading the Angel of Mercy series, but I have to say that now I am addicted,lol. This new series that begins with Nerves of Steel is excellent! This story keeps you guessing until the very end, a gripping read. So excited that she has started a new series, can't wait to read the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ideal suspense novel

    C.J. Lyons is an absolute mistress of suspense. With each and every book she 'gifts' to the masses, the plots, characters, and mysteries that she writes are so elaborate and well told, that there's absolutely no way to put one of her novels down. With this story, we arrive in Philadelphia on a cold, rainy evening with a huge storm about to unleash itself upon the rescue helicopter that Cassie Hart is flying in. Cassie is a doctor on a rescue call made to Three Rivers Hospital about a young girl who has been found in the Ohio River. Although Cassie feels like she's about to die in her metal coffin that's bouncing between the huge steel buildings, she is always the first to do her duty and wants to do anything within her power to save this young girl with no name. When 'Jane Doe' is wheeled to her room in a coma, Cassie heads straight to the police station. It's been found that the girl suffered from an overdose of the latest drug to hit the streets - FX. Not only is Cassie sick of FX taking the lives of so many in Philadelphia, she also discovers that the plastic bag of deadly pills found on Jane Doe's body came from the pharmacy at Cassie's very own hospital. Enter.Detective Rembrandt Michael Drake, who goes by plain, old Mickey. Mickey has been on the FX 'case' for a long time, trying desperately to bring down one of the famous FX dealers, Lester Young. When Young dies without giving Mickey the information he needs, Cassie Hart suddenly shows up in his station with a plastic bag full of FX.and a story he can hardly believe. Getting an undercover job at the hospital, Mickey delves into what's actually going on at Three Rivers, and tries to find out if Dr. Hart is the good soul she seems to be, or the "bad" guy he's been searching for. As Mickey is slowly drawn to Cassie, he seems to be the only one who believes in her innocence. Seeing as that every time Cassie is in a location, someone dies - Mickey takes it upon himself to not only solve the crime, but protect Dr. Hart from the others in his department who wish to put her behind bars. Add in Cassie's crazy ex-husband who has been released from rehab and reinstated at the hospital; a dealer who is impossible to catch; an officer who wants Cassie to know Mickey's horrific secret; and, a wealthy family who seems to have ties with everyone from drug dealers to shoddy lawyers, and this becomes one of the best suspense plots ever created. C.J. Lyons does an outstanding job of leading the reader through fast-paced scene after faster-paced scene, and tossing in a passionate romance to boot. This is one fantastically twisted, thrilling book readers will never forget. Quill Says: Trust no one and assume nothing in this ideal suspense novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Fast Paced Read

    I've just discovered CJ Lyons and I'm definitely hooked! I enjoyed this medical thriller and found myself drawn into the story very quickly. Yes, sometimes I had to wonder what the characters were thinking when they took particular actions, but, for me, it didn't detract. I recommend - it's a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Wonderful Weekend Read!

    C.J. Lyons delivers again! This book had me on the edge of my seat wanting to findout what was going to happen next. The characters could of been real people. Author did a great job balancing the action and the romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Nerves of steele

    I liked the book......doctor cop lawyer suspense romance. Over 900 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Love This Series!

    I have read all three of the books in this series, and love them because the action gets started right from the beginning and flows through the book, keeping you guessing until the end!

    I could do with a little less descriptive sex scenes - I know how that works by now. ;-) Will watch for more books with Hart and Drake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    highly recommend

    only finished 3/4 of the book, can;t wait for the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Med Cat den

    ''Shelves'' for herbs and a bunch of Cozy nests for sick cats. Tunnel exit in the back. Seperate room in here for med cat to sleep in. -Featherstar Ps- I am allowing the med cat to have a mate and kits if they want to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Nerves of Steel

    Another great CJ Lyons book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    SIMPLY THE BEST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This was the first book i read

    SIMPLY THE BEST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This was the first book i read by this author and it won't be my last. Once i starting reading it i didn't want to put it down. I fell in love with the main characters immediately. The book has everything that one would expect from a great mystery novel. Suspense, intrigue, passion, and believable characters that with each page take you deeper into their world. I can't wait to read the sequels. A NEW FAN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this one ! It was full of suspense and kept me guessing. I loved the relationship between Drake and Cassie. I would have liked to see a few things wrapped up at the end though. Did her ex pull through? Did his bro back off? Did Drakes superiors make ammends for their harsh treatment? I understand there are follow up books, but I felt like there were too many loose ends, and needed another chapter to wrap it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    C. J. Does it again!

    Another outstanding read! 'NUFF SAID!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Good read

    Exciting story with a romantic twist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Great Read

    Keeps you guessing.
    Would have been better if the sex had been left out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    great read!

    Great book! never a dull moment! I reccomend any of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    A great read...

    A thoroughly enjoyable book, the story keep moving, sorry to see it end, enoy CJ Lyons books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Good read with a Medical Twost

    This a good read, finished it in a day. Well-written, good action, good romance. I'd definitely recommend if you like murders with a medical twist. I just started another book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2