Customer Reviews for

Netflix

Average Rating 3.5
( 4235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1692)

4 Star

(657)

3 Star

(583)

2 Star

(404)

1 Star

(899)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1514 out of 2015 people found this review helpful.

Great!

I'm thrilled this app is now available for my Nook Color!, Thank you! I just watched a small portion of a show to test it out and it works great!

posted by rdegutis on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

750 out of 908 people found this review helpful.

Truth be told, it is close to perfect

I wish percentages of a star were possible to give. The app has slight issues, but they are minor and easy to overlook when set beside the upsides which leads to my feeling 4.7 is the perfect rating for the app. As such, I rounded up to five stars, in hopes that it migh...
I wish percentages of a star were possible to give. The app has slight issues, but they are minor and easy to overlook when set beside the upsides which leads to my feeling 4.7 is the perfect rating for the app. As such, I rounded up to five stars, in hopes that it might help offset the people who were unable to wait less than a week, till 2012, to get this app.

The issues:
1. It does seem to have a little more trouble, on occasion, holding connection. However, I feel that may stem, from my using public wireless ports or moving around while using my own.
2. There is no alternating angles when the movie is playing, not as far as I have discovered. It will play horizontal an the headphone jack will always be on your left. I would like the option of flipping it, but hey. Clearly a very minor problem.
3. There was a brief time where a pop-up kept appearing, claiming I needed to update, but if I tried to the app would freeze, requiring a force close. The app worked fine when I simply hit "cancel" instead of "update." This stopped popping-up within 24 hours.
4. Sometimes, at the very beginning of a show or movie, there will a slight delay in the video, a lag, that takes maybe 5-10 seconds to catch up. But it always catches up in less than 10 seconds, usually much faster.
5. Once every blue moon, the app will have trouble connecting, requiring me to tap the "back" circular arrow before immediately loading it back up, with it running perfectly.

Positives:
1. It's freaking Netflix IN YOUR HANDS!!! How is that not awesome??
2. When the connection is solid, I never have to wait on streaming or any issues like that.
3. Navigation is simple, easy and I have not had any situations where it gives me grief.
4. When I had a minor issue while installing the app, initially, a quick stop at Barnes and Noble fixed it immediately. The employees there were incredibly helpful and supportive. Having such easy, positive and immediate customer service is definitely a huge advantage over the Kindle.
5. When browsing through movie options, there are similar titles placed below the movie/show description.
6. The battery drain due to Netflix is actually far less than I had anticipated. I can watch well over 3-4 hours before running low on juice. Far better battery life than some laptops I have experienced in the past.
7. Once the movie or show is going, the vocal track and the video are always synced pefectly, unlike a fair amount of other movie programs I have used in the past.
8. The programming that predicts what you may and may not like, based off of previous ratings, is surprisingly accurate.

All-in-all, an excellent app that single-handedly justifies the purchasing of the Nook Color.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 899 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    not working in nook color

    is not working for my nook color

    194 out of 433 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Wont work

    It just keeps installing and wont let me watch any movies

    109 out of 159 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    :(

    It sucks!!!! It was working at first then it stopped.

    106 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Me Too

    I updated my nook color to the latest version, and i still can't get netflix to install.

    27 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Update Fail

    The latest update for this app renders it completely useless. Nothing but a blank screen now.

    26 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Insult added to injury, B&N would not let me post the first

    Insult added to injury, B&N would not let me post the first review I wrote because I had to "buy" the free product first (again in my case). News flash: it came installed on my Nook Tablet when I bought it at the beginning of this year. In fact the app worked fine until after B&N "upgraded" the OS, and I recently had the poor judgment to update all the apps including Netflix. Afterwards, Netflix would crank and grind but not load. Eventually I get a message that Netflix was unresponsive, would I like to wait or close the app. Very frustrating. Then I discovered that none of the programs designed to show video worked any longer, not Crackle, not Acorn, not Smithsonian. All hang up. So whatever "upgrade" happened to my machine, it pretty much eliminated the usefulness of these apps. The main reason to buy an expensive color reader rather than b&w e-ink is that it doubles as a personal tablet for accessing other entertainment, but that no longer works for me on the Nook. Apparently, B&N has jury-rigged the OS to the point that it interferes with its basic functions. Did any one of the suits who decided to hamstring the machinery so that they could handcuff their customers ever consider that they were not establishing an atmosphere which encourages people to do business with them? I still have some warranty left, but I have lost all enthusiasm for my Nook.

    I suppose that I will wait until after the holidays and after the warranty expires to consider a new purchase, but it won't be from B&N. Right now I'm leaning towards the more generic and open Nexus 7, but that could change between now and January. No matter how good the specs on the Nook HD, I will not be lured in again. I hope that the apps that I paid for (not free) from B&N will transfer to my new android machine, whatever it is. Considering how they operate, I don't have great hopes. But whether they do or not, I will be abandoning the Nook environment.

    26 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    :(

    I was so excited to have netflix on my nook but it has been "processing" for 2 days now

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Sucks

    Wont install on nook color

    26 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    I want this

    I love netflix but the app isnt working on my nook and i already have the update. It keeps telling me my setting are wrong. Not happy!

    26 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!!

    I'm very disappointed I can no longer get Netflix on my Nook tablet. Due to a change in Netflix and a glitch in the Nook tablet, I can't access my Netflix account. Because the tablet came with Netflix installed already, we can't unload it and reinstall it to make it work. Sounds like it's a known problem when researching it online. Please fix it!!!!!!

    25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    I was at one point very happy with this app. Then all of a sudde

    I was at one point very happy with this app. Then all of a sudden I could not connect. Every time I tried to sign on it said You have been signed out because your account information changed. Sign in again. Well after chatting a BN tech and then a Netflix tech; archive the app, unarchive the app, de-register my Nook Color, re-register, restore to factory settings it still is not working. BN and Netflix said . .oh you need to contact your ISP it's got to be a bandwidth issue. My ISP basically disproved that suggestion.
    I hate to have a device or piece of software defeat me. I googled my issue and discovered I was not alone in my woes. So I was reading thru the suggestions and "fixes" when I got to the bottom of the BN forum that I was reading I See a post from Alex at BN saying . "we are working on fixing this" posted like 3 hours ago.
    It would have been extremely nice of either BN or Netflix to indicate there was an issue and that they were working on a resolution.
    I would like an email to let me know when IF this is ever fixed.

    25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Won't load

    Netflix used to work, but since the last update, it won't even load.

    25 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Very Disappointed right now. My Netflix app will NOT work on my

    Very Disappointed right now. My Netflix app will NOT work on my Nook Tablet. It had been working fine up until 2 days ago and then a completely black screen. After nearly an hour troubleshooting with B&N and Netflix found out that Netflix did a system upgrade and screwed up the entire thing. DO NOT UPGRADE your Netflix app at this time. You will NOT be able to use the app. According to Netflix they do not know when the problem will be fixed but they are working on it. UGH!!!

    25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    WORST Netflix app ive seen yet!!!

    I thought the netflix app on my iphone was slow..smh. But at least that streams with no hiccups. Im not a newbie, I do tech support and have had my Nook Color since it launched.
    Im running the latest version of both the Nook software (1.4.3) & Netflix app (1.5.2)& this app BLOWS. It is incredibly unresponsive, button presses are a crap shoot as to whether or not they will work with the actual button you intended on pressing, and video lags FAR behind audio. The only times I can ever get it to sync perfectly is when i start a video from the beginning,never if i continue a previously viewed one. And my web connection is more than capable (28 mbps down & router is even faster). Ive tried rebooting the app, the Nook itself and making sure NO other apps are running. Still no good. When i do get it to play,God help me if i missed something and needed to rewind the video...
    The home menu is super slow and will move the direction you scroll like 5 seconds after your swipe. I love Netflix on my pc via web browser or windows media center but their app for Nook Color seems like they stopped supporting it right after it launched. NOT a good look for your brand.
    To compare against another video player app try the Smithsonian Channel App. It starts quick, recognizes button presses almost every time and plays videos without a hiccup,even when rewind/ fast forwarding. Netflix needs to hire their programmers to revamp this app. I have talked many friends into getting a Nook Color or tablet ans everytime they ask me if it has Netflix i just shrug..
    NETFLIX PLEASE fix this app and i swear i will change my review. But for now, despite all the seemingly "positive" reviews theres a clear reason it only has 3 1/2 stars..

    25 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I DISLIKE BARNS AND NOBLE???

    THIS JUNK WONT WORK HALF THE APPS YOU HAVE BARNES AND NOBLE "DO NOT WORK" IVE HAD IT THESE APPS ARE STUPED WE GET THEM FOR BOOKS AND GAMES AND THE GAMES "DO NOT WORK" AND THE BOOKS YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR" WHAT IS THAT ALL ABOUT" AND ANGRY BIRDS ANDRIOD DEVICES THEY ARE FREE BUT NO NO YOU CHARGE 4 DDOLLARS FOR ANGRY BIRDS NO WONDER WHY PEOPLE DONT LIKE YOUR GAMES!!!!!!!!!!!

    24 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Why not nook color?

    Why would this not work on the nook color?

    23 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Sucks

    I cant get it on my nook color

    22 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Need help!

    The app keeps crashing and everytime I put in my login I get a black screen.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Malfunctioning

    I was enjoying the app until the update. Now I can no longer play the movies. This really sucks

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Update FAIL

    This was a great app, worthy of all five stars. But since it tried to update it is now completely broken on my original nook color. What gives? Very irritating. No more support for original nookColor? Maddening! Enough to the point that im done with BN. Too bad. I used to reccomend this tablet.

    18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 899 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 45