Customer Reviews for

Netflix

Average Rating 3.5
( 4115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1646)

4 Star

(638)

3 Star

(569)

2 Star

(389)

1 Star

(873)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1402 out of 1864 people found this review helpful.

Great!

I'm thrilled this app is now available for my Nook Color!, Thank you! I just watched a small portion of a show to test it out and it works great!

posted by rdegutis on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

750 out of 907 people found this review helpful.

Truth be told, it is close to perfect

I wish percentages of a star were possible to give. The app has slight issues, but they are minor and easy to overlook when set beside the upsides which leads to my feeling 4.7 is the perfect rating for the app. As such, I rounded up to five stars, in hopes that it migh...
I wish percentages of a star were possible to give. The app has slight issues, but they are minor and easy to overlook when set beside the upsides which leads to my feeling 4.7 is the perfect rating for the app. As such, I rounded up to five stars, in hopes that it might help offset the people who were unable to wait less than a week, till 2012, to get this app.

The issues:
1. It does seem to have a little more trouble, on occasion, holding connection. However, I feel that may stem, from my using public wireless ports or moving around while using my own.
2. There is no alternating angles when the movie is playing, not as far as I have discovered. It will play horizontal an the headphone jack will always be on your left. I would like the option of flipping it, but hey. Clearly a very minor problem.
3. There was a brief time where a pop-up kept appearing, claiming I needed to update, but if I tried to the app would freeze, requiring a force close. The app worked fine when I simply hit "cancel" instead of "update." This stopped popping-up within 24 hours.
4. Sometimes, at the very beginning of a show or movie, there will a slight delay in the video, a lag, that takes maybe 5-10 seconds to catch up. But it always catches up in less than 10 seconds, usually much faster.
5. Once every blue moon, the app will have trouble connecting, requiring me to tap the "back" circular arrow before immediately loading it back up, with it running perfectly.

Positives:
1. It's freaking Netflix IN YOUR HANDS!!! How is that not awesome??
2. When the connection is solid, I never have to wait on streaming or any issues like that.
3. Navigation is simple, easy and I have not had any situations where it gives me grief.
4. When I had a minor issue while installing the app, initially, a quick stop at Barnes and Noble fixed it immediately. The employees there were incredibly helpful and supportive. Having such easy, positive and immediate customer service is definitely a huge advantage over the Kindle.
5. When browsing through movie options, there are similar titles placed below the movie/show description.
6. The battery drain due to Netflix is actually far less than I had anticipated. I can watch well over 3-4 hours before running low on juice. Far better battery life than some laptops I have experienced in the past.
7. Once the movie or show is going, the vocal track and the video are always synced pefectly, unlike a fair amount of other movie programs I have used in the past.
8. The programming that predicts what you may and may not like, based off of previous ratings, is surprisingly accurate.

All-in-all, an excellent app that single-handedly justifies the purchasing of the Nook Color.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 389 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Netflix not working!!!!!!!

    I just recently updated my netflix app on my nook color, and when I open the app the netflix loading page just hangs there! It was working perfectly fine before the update! If you don't want your app screwed-up like mine then DO NOT update the app! BN should pay attention more with their apps. This is totally not fair at all! Now I'm stuck with a useless app! I already tried deleating and re-installing, but nothing has worked! Help!!!!!!

    129 out of 199 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Bleh:(fix it

    Crashed on me 2 mins into the movie. PLEASE FIX BUG AND UPDATE


    FOR THOSE WHO DO NOT KNOW HOW TO UPDATE THEIR NOOK :GO TO THE NOOK WEBSITE, IT TELLS YOU STEP BY STEP ON HOW TO DO SO

    23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    New update doesn't work!

    Updated Netflix today and now I can't get it to open or work! I really dont want to pay for something that doesnt want to open up on my NC? It worked fine until this update, what gives BN!?!??

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Doesnt work

    So I bought it online with the wifi on my nook color because in the little nook shop it said it wasn't available for my nook. I got the app but it won't install? This has happened with another app and I got that to work so I will post another review when I figure it out.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    will not work

    will not work on nook color

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    What happened?

    My netflix stopped working today and ive uninstalled, reinstalled and turned off my nook several times. Nothing is happening. It acts like it loads and then just goes to a grey screen. Help!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Not working

    Its not working!!! I would tap it and it said sign in so i did and it gave me a gray page and thats it. I would tap on it again gray page and again still gray page. Love you netflix and you have all my favs. but not for nook.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Bad selection of newer shows

    The app wprks fine. The real problem is netflix's poor selection. Netflix has a lot of tv shows from the 60's and 80's, but where is all the newer shows!? The fact that I cant watch the big beng theory or last man standing (and a lot more) seems like a joke. These are examples of prettypopular comedies that I have seen listed on the hulu plus website but not on netflix. Now I dont want to call netflix bad (they still have some good stuff) but for newer tv shows, stick to hulu plus if you have it (I unfortunately dont).

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Doesnt work well

    I tried the trial version of Netflix on my Nookcolor. It takes forever for it to load and the picture quality of the tv shows is horrible. I will be cancelling my subscription

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Horrible glitches

    App constantly needs to be force closed, sometimes things won't play until a full minute after they are tapped.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    ?

    Why since the new update now i have to re downlaod it

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Netflix worked fine then it updated

    It was very good and now won't even open

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Netflix needs much much more available on streaming video

    The main problem is that the selection for streaming is extremely limited. This is why I don't recommend netflix to my friends. You have to capture tens of thousands of more hours and movies and miniseries and documentaries to make this service at all worth it. In two months i'm bored with most everything you have available and the titles that follow up on my interests are things you just don't have available for streaming (EVEN THOUGH you DO have them on your DVD rental program!) I'll bet Millions of people feel the way I do. Got it netflix?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Why?

    Why cant the nook color install netflix?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    It may just be because i'm on my free trial, but after the first few times this app started acting wiers, there would be a glitch in the video, or the video would show in very very low quality. Useless.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Installlll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I can't get it to install

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Malfunctions

    Seems there are a lot of obstacles keeping this app from working properly. Every day something different happens to keep it from running as it should.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Wont load

    Mi app will not show up. It will "load" then it will just sit there with a blank screen. Does amyone else have this problem?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Wont download

    Mine wont down load sooo anoying

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Shockingly buggy

    I've found this to be very unreliable on my Nook HD (and also on Kindle Fire). Once a video is playing it's generally fine, but it frequently hangs or buttons simply don't work on the menu screens. Surprised its so buggy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 389 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20