Customer Reviews for

Netflix

Average Rating 3.5
( 4280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1714)

4 Star

(661)

3 Star

(591)

2 Star

(409)

1 Star

(905)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1551 out of 2072 people found this review helpful.

Great!

I'm thrilled this app is now available for my Nook Color!, Thank you! I just watched a small portion of a show to test it out and it works great!

posted by rdegutis on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

750 out of 908 people found this review helpful.

Truth be told, it is close to perfect

I wish percentages of a star were possible to give. The app has slight issues, but they are minor and easy to overlook when set beside the upsides which leads to my feeling 4.7 is the perfect rating for the app. As such, I rounded up to five stars, in hopes that it migh...
I wish percentages of a star were possible to give. The app has slight issues, but they are minor and easy to overlook when set beside the upsides which leads to my feeling 4.7 is the perfect rating for the app. As such, I rounded up to five stars, in hopes that it might help offset the people who were unable to wait less than a week, till 2012, to get this app.

The issues:
1. It does seem to have a little more trouble, on occasion, holding connection. However, I feel that may stem, from my using public wireless ports or moving around while using my own.
2. There is no alternating angles when the movie is playing, not as far as I have discovered. It will play horizontal an the headphone jack will always be on your left. I would like the option of flipping it, but hey. Clearly a very minor problem.
3. There was a brief time where a pop-up kept appearing, claiming I needed to update, but if I tried to the app would freeze, requiring a force close. The app worked fine when I simply hit "cancel" instead of "update." This stopped popping-up within 24 hours.
4. Sometimes, at the very beginning of a show or movie, there will a slight delay in the video, a lag, that takes maybe 5-10 seconds to catch up. But it always catches up in less than 10 seconds, usually much faster.
5. Once every blue moon, the app will have trouble connecting, requiring me to tap the "back" circular arrow before immediately loading it back up, with it running perfectly.

Positives:
1. It's freaking Netflix IN YOUR HANDS!!! How is that not awesome??
2. When the connection is solid, I never have to wait on streaming or any issues like that.
3. Navigation is simple, easy and I have not had any situations where it gives me grief.
4. When I had a minor issue while installing the app, initially, a quick stop at Barnes and Noble fixed it immediately. The employees there were incredibly helpful and supportive. Having such easy, positive and immediate customer service is definitely a huge advantage over the Kindle.
5. When browsing through movie options, there are similar titles placed below the movie/show description.
6. The battery drain due to Netflix is actually far less than I had anticipated. I can watch well over 3-4 hours before running low on juice. Far better battery life than some laptops I have experienced in the past.
7. Once the movie or show is going, the vocal track and the video are always synced pefectly, unlike a fair amount of other movie programs I have used in the past.
8. The programming that predicts what you may and may not like, based off of previous ratings, is surprisingly accurate.

All-in-all, an excellent app that single-handedly justifies the purchasing of the Nook Color.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 661 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 34
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Awesome, but didnt work for me at first, kept saying it couldnt open on my device, but i fixed it!!

    At first, I couldn't open the app no matter what I tried. Then oneday I completely turned off my Nook (not just locking it but holding the lock button and choosing to turn it completely off) and when I turned it back on, it automatically updated itself and I could open the app and there were other cool things that changed as well. If it's not working for you, turn it off and turn it back on after awhile, it should automatically update and than you can open it!!! Hope it works!!!

    712 out of 903 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ^^ AHHH! FINALLY!!

    Netflix stutters on my laptop & now that I Have it on my Nook I get to enjoy quality movies :)
    I give a 4 b/c nothings ever perfect... havent found the downside yet but there's always one

    245 out of 375 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Great!

    Thought I'd have to get nook tablet for this, but the software upgrade works flawlessly streaming movies. Just wish netfliix had a better streaming selection. And it's not obvious how to access your queue from this app. Now they just need to add hulu+...

    82 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Netflix Rocks

    I am so glad I bought my Nook color! I may never put it down now that I can eatch Netflix on it.

    66 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    GREAT APP

    This is a really great app but the menu screen can be pretty jerky and slow. But an overall great app

    45 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Worth the wait.

    This app was well worth the update wait. It works just like I expected it to, in fact even better. I can watch anything in my instant queue, search for new things, browse instant categories. I haven't had any issues with it yet!

    39 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    A surprisingly good app

    As others have said, the Nook streams much better after the last update. I can do everything with this app that I can do with the website, plus it's so portable. There have been many complaints about sound, and I agree. Speaker placement on the nook was not well thought out. Speaker on the back means desktop or cover prevents what little audio you get from the tiny speaker in the first place. But who cares? I have earbuds that I usually have with me, so I just use them, and the sound is great.

    29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    NETFLIX

    Great to have when on an extended car ride; it keeps my little one busy watching her shows. I use my mobile hotspot to support this app. I really like this for the Nook Color

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Called B&N about 13001 error. This is a known issue and should be fixed in about three days.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Come on!

    It keeps saying installing

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    SOUND

    The sound is a little to low for my taste but other than that its great

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good

    It doesn't have the newest movies, but otherwise it is good

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Problems?

    Have there been any problems lately withvthe screen just being black, instead of showing movie choices? Is there an update that I need to get or something? It shows that netflix is logging in, but then goes to a nlank screen....I don't know what to do about this? Any sugestions?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Updates are bad

    I dont think ima ever update another app on the Barnes&Noble Nook Color because everytime I do, my app stops working. I makes me angry. I updated Netflix and it wont even load the page up anymore. Fix it please. And bring twitter back. Lol

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    My nook wont install this!

    Well, my nook color is working fine and then it wont install anything especcially this, which matters most in life!!!
    Click yes if you agree!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    App needs updates

    I have no issues with Netflix itself, but the Nook app needs an update so someone can choose which profile they want to use ( in cases where the account is set up that way). Also, with the tv shows, it doesn't automatically move to the next episode in the series when the current one finishes. So, extra steps need to be taken to view the next episode. They may sound like petty things, but all other devices I use Netflix for accommodate these actions. No functional problems to report.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Opening problems

    Sometimes when I open the app it goes to a grey a screen and stays like that. Does anyone else have this problem?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Waiting for update

    I have watched MANY movies and shows on my NOOK Color and enjoy being able to access Netflix from my NOOK. Unfortunately the last update was a bummer. I haven't been able to watch ANYTHING. It won't connect to the internet and sometimes my screen goes white other times it goes black. Hoping this is a simi universal problem and an update comes out soon that will fix this issue. Otherwise I love it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Netflix

    And yes, this app does work on Nook Color. Anyone having problems should contact B and N instead of giving up. I have a color that isn't new, and Netflix works well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Alright

    The app is cool, but it never loads at my house.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 661 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 34