BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Networking for People Who Hate Networking: A Field Guide for Introverts, the Overwhelmed, and the Underconnected

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love this Book!

The fact is, not everyone is an extrovert. But looking at most resources for networking you'd think everyone is just itching to "get out there" and connect, "look em' in the eye",and get on stage and perform. The only barrier to entry (according to most books) is simply...
The fact is, not everyone is an extrovert. But looking at most resources for networking you'd think everyone is just itching to "get out there" and connect, "look em' in the eye",and get on stage and perform. The only barrier to entry (according to most books) is simply our lack of tools or techniques to turn this desire into action. While this book certainly tells you how to network and get stuff done and make connections, it does not approach the topic from the point of view of someone who cannot wait to "GET OUT THERE." What this book recognizes and what is unique about it (at least from my introverted point of view) is that many (if not most) of us in our heart of hearts feel just the opposite personality pull - we really can't wait to "GET IN THERE" - and the deeper the better. We just want to be left alone to do our work. Of course, that's not a healthy way to approach life nor is it very productive or even affordable in the long run (who's going to hire someone who puts as a life goal on a resume "to be left alone")? So we cautiously leave our comfort zone and venture into the world. To use an overused, but entirely appropriate catch phrase, we "grin and bear it." What this book does for us introverts is to teach us how to "grin and like it." In short, the author shows us how networking can be both fun and productive. What a gift! I've been a journalist and writer for the past 30 years and my profession has required me to keep my introverted tendencies at bay - after all, it's difficult to be a be a reporter without ever leaving your office or introducing yourself or asking questions of strangers, or occasionally getting up in front of people to express an opinion. But I have to think (perhaps regretfully) that that had I read this book at the start of my career, I might have achieved a whole different level of success or at the very least enjoyed my time on the "outside" at lot more. So fellow, introverts, read this book and learn to "get out there." Who knows, you might just learn to enjoy your time on stage and maybe even profit from the experience.

posted by MSFIXER on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

ebook is great but defective - Caveat Emptor

Page 20 of the ebook contains a graphic that is unreadable on the Nook. I took it into my local B&N and the guy behind the Nook counter agreed with me, said there was nothing he could do about it, and said I should call the customer support line. The irony is that the g...
Page 20 of the ebook contains a graphic that is unreadable on the Nook. I took it into my local B&N and the guy behind the Nook counter agreed with me, said there was nothing he could do about it, and said I should call the customer support line. The irony is that the graphic contains all text.

Calling the customer support line was not helpful at all. The agent said she could read the page without problems. Now my eyesight is not what it used to be, but I showed it to my 15 year old daughter with perfect vision and she could barely read it. I was told they cannot change the book due to copyright law. I was told they cannot refund the book due to copyright law.

I have a book that is defective and B&N refuses to stand behind what they sell. Why on earth should I buy another ebook?

I have come to the conclusion that the ebook market is just not mature yet. The sellers insist on selling books with crippling DRM, quality is poor (a proofreader could have found the issue above and turned the graphic into readable text), and they don't stand behind their product. Looks like I bought my ereader too early.

Buyer beware!

posted by El_Llamanator on August 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Love this Book!

    The fact is, not everyone is an extrovert. But looking at most resources for networking you'd think everyone is just itching to "get out there" and connect, "look em' in the eye",and get on stage and perform. The only barrier to entry (according to most books) is simply our lack of tools or techniques to turn this desire into action. While this book certainly tells you how to network and get stuff done and make connections, it does not approach the topic from the point of view of someone who cannot wait to "GET OUT THERE." What this book recognizes and what is unique about it (at least from my introverted point of view) is that many (if not most) of us in our heart of hearts feel just the opposite personality pull - we really can't wait to "GET IN THERE" - and the deeper the better. We just want to be left alone to do our work. Of course, that's not a healthy way to approach life nor is it very productive or even affordable in the long run (who's going to hire someone who puts as a life goal on a resume "to be left alone")? So we cautiously leave our comfort zone and venture into the world. To use an overused, but entirely appropriate catch phrase, we "grin and bear it." What this book does for us introverts is to teach us how to "grin and like it." In short, the author shows us how networking can be both fun and productive. What a gift! I've been a journalist and writer for the past 30 years and my profession has required me to keep my introverted tendencies at bay - after all, it's difficult to be a be a reporter without ever leaving your office or introducing yourself or asking questions of strangers, or occasionally getting up in front of people to express an opinion. But I have to think (perhaps regretfully) that that had I read this book at the start of my career, I might have achieved a whole different level of success or at the very least enjoyed my time on the "outside" at lot more. So fellow, introverts, read this book and learn to "get out there." Who knows, you might just learn to enjoy your time on stage and maybe even profit from the experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    ebook is great but defective - Caveat Emptor

    Page 20 of the ebook contains a graphic that is unreadable on the Nook. I took it into my local B&N and the guy behind the Nook counter agreed with me, said there was nothing he could do about it, and said I should call the customer support line. The irony is that the graphic contains all text.

    Calling the customer support line was not helpful at all. The agent said she could read the page without problems. Now my eyesight is not what it used to be, but I showed it to my 15 year old daughter with perfect vision and she could barely read it. I was told they cannot change the book due to copyright law. I was told they cannot refund the book due to copyright law.

    I have a book that is defective and B&N refuses to stand behind what they sell. Why on earth should I buy another ebook?

    I have come to the conclusion that the ebook market is just not mature yet. The sellers insist on selling books with crippling DRM, quality is poor (a proofreader could have found the issue above and turned the graphic into readable text), and they don't stand behind their product. Looks like I bought my ereader too early.

    Buyer beware!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Tyler

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Laurel

    Smiles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    If you're an introvert.....you need this!! Highly Recommended!

    This is an outstanding ebook. It's discusses the differences between introverted and extroverted people. If you think you already know the difference, take it from me.....you DON'T! I only wish that I had had this information 20 years ago!

    Networking for introverts is a chore. The author explains why and how to overcome this obstacle. Introverts will love this!

    Regardless of whether you're introverted or extroverted, you'll LOVE this information!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great book for introverts

    Zack quotes statistics that approximately 50% of people are introverts and networking makes them uncomfortable. In this book, she provides a lot of suggestions on how the introvert can network successfully and make the connections needed to get ahead in business. Even if you just want to make new friends, this book gives concrete suggestions on how to meet and greet in crowds. It is not too long and it is easy to read. I recommend it to my college students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An introvert's useful perspective on how to network effectively

    Author Devora Zack identifies herself as a bona fide, "off-the-chart" introvert. Even though she makes her living presenting to large groups, she prefers to be alone engaging in solitary pursuits. She likes serene reflection more than multidecibel excitement. Happy hours do not make her happy. Nevertheless, she is a networking expert who teaches introverts how to build connections. Her goal is to help them actually learn to love networking, but how well her techniques work for you may depend on just how deeply introverted you are. It's hard to make networking palatable to someone who regards a group of strangers with unmitigated terror as opposed to general unease. Yet, this is a good, solid book and Zack's ideas are sensible. Even if some of her suggestions may not be workable for every introvert, getAbstract believes her advice will help many people become better networkers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for anyone in business, searching for a job, or just working to build a network for any reason at all.

    I'm going to buy copies of this book for my young adult children and have recommended it to several friends who are in business for themselves. Devora provides priceless advice and insight -- for introverts, extroverts and centroverts alike! Reading the book is fun and painless -- Devora is witty, entertaining and cuts to the chase. Read it in an afternoon, benefit for a lifetime

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    brillant-must read

    Never have I found a field guide so entertaining and easy to read. Devora Zack provides new insights and inspirations to networking, an activity I've always dreaded. She gives us a deeper understanding of how people connect with each other based on the extent to which our personalities are more introverted or extroverted. This makes it a book suitable for all, including those who love networking, because it enhances our ability to better communication with each other. As a small business owner, I can attest that the skills acquired from this book can only bring about greater success!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    network with authenticity

    A must read for people who have anxiety about networking. Introversion is de-pathologized and common cognitive errors are challenged. This book offers practical strategies for connecting with others authentically and setting outcome based goals.
    Zack takes difficult concepts and presents them in a clever, clear and digestible way.
    Rahel Schwartz PhD LCSW-C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Insightful and entertaining!

    I found myself thinking about this book many times after I put it down. It is not only engaging and easy to read but also thought provoking. Both introverts & extroverts have a lot to learn from this book. This is a great gift to give friends to support them in becoming successful in all their endeavors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2