Customer Reviews for

Neuromancer

Average Rating 4
( 368 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

The best kind of Sci-fi...imo

First off, I have to say that I was introduced to this novel by seeing, loving and researching The Matrix. I believe that the movie was just absolutely fantastic and amazing and any other adjective that I can think of (Just not at the moment). So, I picked up this book ...
First off, I have to say that I was introduced to this novel by seeing, loving and researching The Matrix. I believe that the movie was just absolutely fantastic and amazing and any other adjective that I can think of (Just not at the moment). So, I picked up this book from the library to see what it was all about.
It was pretty good basically sums it up. It had innovative settings and ideas and was generally awesome all around, but I just didn't like how sometimes certain technologies were never explained or were only barely mentioned. That's fine if it is just mentioned in passing, but when you linger on them and detail them without saying what they actually do, that kind of frustrated me.
Other than that, this book was what I like to call perfect. Everything about it was expertly crafted and written, and I highly recommend it to people interested in cyperbunk or just basic science fiction. I will be getting a copy for my own library.

posted by 148617 on November 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A classic, by all accounts.

Neuromancer is by no means a long novel, it is under 400 pages composed of many short chapters; this does not mean it is anything like an "easy read."

Gibson consistently uses words that laymen, or persons-not-from-the-future, will not know in context. Reading this b...
Neuromancer is by no means a long novel, it is under 400 pages composed of many short chapters; this does not mean it is anything like an "easy read."

Gibson consistently uses words that laymen, or persons-not-from-the-future, will not know in context. Reading this book today the reader most likely feels as if he's missed some crucial background info, possibly a predecessor to the novel that he didn't know existed, but that is not the case with Neuromancer. Throughout the book Gibson weaves his tale while not divulging every detail or aspect about it. By giving the reader a very narrow realistic view, through the eyes of the protagonist, and using technical jargon not invented yet the reader is almost coerced to put himself into the story and try to unravel what is taking place. All of this can make for a confusing read to many readers- and the brilliance of Gibson's work can easily be overlooked.

I cannot recommend this book for everyone or even avid fans of science fiction. I can only say that I view it as an important book in the history of the science fiction genre and look at it as progenitor to other great masterpieces such as Snow Crash, by Neal Stephenson.

The story of Neuromancer is exciting but difficult to follow if it fails to grab your attention thoroughly. It won't be uncommon to get confused by the plot while reading Neuromancer but as long as you're attentive and keep reading any conflict should resolve itself as the story unfolds. If you're a science fiction fan looking for a challenging read and interested in a classic then you should pick up Neuromancer.

posted by JesseJ07 on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Neuromancer

    The most important thing to keep in mind when reading 'Neuromancer' is that it was the first to do what it does. Before there was the Matrix trilogy, before iPods and 3D broadcasting home televisions, there was 'Neuromancer'. Written at the same time the very first home PC was released, Gibson envisioned a vast network of connected information called 'cyberspace'. People who sought to break into the databases of others would use their technical skills to link up with the Matrix and and break through layers of ICE to steal information. So basically, Gibson envisioned the internet as we know it, hackers and firewalls. The writing itself is actually pretty confusing. This is also the book that created the genre of cyber-punk, so it is very technically laden and can be mind boggling at times. The story itself is pretty interesting about an AI that seeks autonomy. The characters aren't all that original, in fact almost all of them feel like stereotypical mid 80's action film characters. Perhaps with the exception of the psychotic Riviera. I chose to read 'Neuromancer' because of all the reviews that referred to it as a mind bender. To that I must disagree. I will say that one chapter is VERY mind bending, but the rest, not so much; pretty straight forward actually. But that also may be me viewing the story through the lens of someone who has lived with things like the internet for most of my life. Either way, it is still a good book and an easy read for the most part.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Better than I Remember

    I finished Neuromancer a second time, the first was when I was between 12-14. I barely remembered anything from my first read through of the book so it was practically brand new.

    It's interesting, the way Gibson wrote the book, as his writing mimics the later quick-cuts of first music videos, then later movies. He doesn't languidly slide from one location to another, or one conversation to another. Everything jumps, from viewpoints, to conversations, to concepts.

    I enjoy me a good caper story and I was pleasantly surprised to re-discover this book was a caper of sorts. Gibson certainly withstands the test of time and nostalgia for me. A fantastic book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Short answer review.

    Difficult at times to follow as Gibson's descriptions seem bent toward people in the story. Great story otherwise.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    loved it

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Gripping

    Really made me think!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    A book that was ahead of its time, but difficult to get through.

    A book that was ahead of its time, but difficult to get through. Required 110% of my attention to keep track of what was going on in this unique world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Read

    There were times in the story I had to go back a few pages to make sure I understood what was happening. Even with that, I found the story to be interesting. I plan to make this one a permanent part of my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    awesome book

    i must admit it was little difficult to read at first because of all the technology gibson describes, but once i got past that it was a terrific read. Fast paced, great character development and an ending not to be forgotten. then theres molly... don't know where to start. but i'm sure most readers would love this character. on another note, i really liked how some of the details describing certain actions of the characters had more deeper meaning. for example, when molly is telling chase about her life she blows out 3 perfect symetrical rings, at first i thought it was to just set the mood for a sad tale of her life but after discussions with peers i realized it was a way to describe her mechanical side. i would recommend this book to everyone. it's a book that can be reread over and over again because theres some details to be discovered or better understood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Gripping

    Neuromancer is a very gripping tale though I must admit it was a bit overwhelming at times. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    Gibson is Good!

    It is true that Gibson's writing style is unique and takes some time to adapt to, especially with all the specific terminology he has created in his works. However, I feel that Gibson is an amazing writer and recognize that without his work we wouldn't have films such as the Matrix, which have been huge boxoffice hits. To the discouraged Gibson reader, try rereading Neuromancer -- you'll have better luck the second time around. Neuromancer is a fantastic novel, but for those who haven't read more of Gibson you must continue with the rest of the Sprawl triology and onto his second triology. Idoru, in my opinion is his best book. Perhaps the characters are all too dispensible, as one reviewer commented, but Gibson meant for it to be that way. It's just another part of the commentary in his novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5