BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Never After

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This is a super thematic romantic fairy tales collection

"Can He Bake a Cherry Pie?" by Laurell K. Hamilton. Elinore rejects her father's arranged marriage to the perverted earl; instead she decides to rescue Prince True from the witch in the cave who proved women are stronger than men.-------

"The Shadow of Mist" by Yasm...
"Can He Bake a Cherry Pie?" by Laurell K. Hamilton. Elinore rejects her father's arranged marriage to the perverted earl; instead she decides to rescue Prince True from the witch in the cave who proved women are stronger than men.-------

"The Shadow of Mist" by Yasmine Galenorn. Siobhan Morgan the wereseal selkie rejects the arranged marriage with the man who raped her; Terrance has searched for her for over a century demanding she complete the contract. Siobhan ponders her next move.-------

"The Tangleroot Palace" by Marjorie M. Liu. The king orders his daughter Princess Salinda to wed the warlord, but instead Sally flees to a magical forest where a queen demands she complete a quest or else.----------

"The Wrong Bridegroom" by Sharon Shinn. At Kallenore Castle, King Reginald offers his daughter Princess Olivier in marriage to the first man who completes three tests successfully.---------

This super thematic romantic fairy tales collection is owned by the independent women who reject men ordering them to marry mates not of their choice; bravely they insist on much more from a mate.-----------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not worth paying for

I only purchase books from authors I know and like, because I reread them. I bought this book b/c Laurell Hamilton was one of the authors and I own all of her books. I read all the stories and promptly returned the book. I had no desire to ever reread them.

posted by 1375454 on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super thematic romantic fairy tales collection

    "Can He Bake a Cherry Pie?" by Laurell K. Hamilton. Elinore rejects her father's arranged marriage to the perverted earl; instead she decides to rescue Prince True from the witch in the cave who proved women are stronger than men.-------

    "The Shadow of Mist" by Yasmine Galenorn. Siobhan Morgan the wereseal selkie rejects the arranged marriage with the man who raped her; Terrance has searched for her for over a century demanding she complete the contract. Siobhan ponders her next move.-------

    "The Tangleroot Palace" by Marjorie M. Liu. The king orders his daughter Princess Salinda to wed the warlord, but instead Sally flees to a magical forest where a queen demands she complete a quest or else.----------

    "The Wrong Bridegroom" by Sharon Shinn. At Kallenore Castle, King Reginald offers his daughter Princess Olivier in marriage to the first man who completes three tests successfully.---------

    This super thematic romantic fairy tales collection is owned by the independent women who reject men ordering them to marry mates not of their choice; bravely they insist on much more from a mate.-----------

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Not worth paying for

    I only purchase books from authors I know and like, because I reread them. I bought this book b/c Laurell Hamilton was one of the authors and I own all of her books. I read all the stories and promptly returned the book. I had no desire to ever reread them.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This is great group of stories, I really love these books. Not only do I get an extra book from my favorite authors. These are a great way to find new favorite authors!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Agreed With "Not Worth Paying For" Review

    I bought the book because I thought it would be a good way to read something from Laurell Hamilton, who people seem to rave about. I was very disappointed. Can't say I would go purchase anything else written by her. Enjoyed the Yasmine Galenorn installment as it has her 'Sisters of the Moon' characters in it. Marjorie Liu made a unique contribution. This was first thing of Sharon Shinn's I have seen. Nice plot line.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended - not your plain boring old fairy tales!

    I really enjoyed this book. Fresh new twist on the old fairy tales. I will always buy anything from Laurell K. Hamilton as well as Marjorie M. Liu and Yasmine Galenorn. I love their writing and my daughter has been enjoying their books as well. This was the first time I have read anything from Sharon Shinn, but will have to check out her other works. Thank you ladies for all of the memorable hours we spend in your worlds. You all have great talent. I recommend your books to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Fairy Tale

    This collection was okay in general, but the first story (Laurell Hamilton) is one that I look forward to telling to my children, especially my daughters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun book to fill in on favorite series

    The anthologies are fun and give those little connections to favorite characters in the series written by each author. The book is fun to read and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Never After review

    I am a huge Laurell Hamilton fan so I had to pick this one up. I thought the other authors did well but not enough for me to run out and purchase any of their work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Happily Ever After

    I loved the title, cover and theme of this book. This is a great set of short stories about Princesses facing a fate worse than death but are triumphant in the end. The first story was my favorite! Who said you needed a prince in your life to be happy? I hope you enjoy reading these stories... I sure did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Happily Never After for sure

    Definitely a different take on the whole "happily ever after" theme. Took a few minutes to get into it but then I caught on. Not necessarily my favorite from all the others but worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3