Customer Reviews for

Never Been Bit

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Engaging Read

    If I was a puppy, I'd be wagging my tail hard enough to knock someone down. I am excited to share the news that the youngest member of the Coig not only gets her man but the ending was simply delightful and so adorable, if it had cheeks, I'd pinch them.

    Sorcha is the cute one. I'm not talking about in looks, though the hero is certainly smitten with them. I'm referring to her sunny personality. I have to give credit to Ms. Dare for her consistency. For me, that's a major point because I've read many books where a reoccurring secondary character totally changes in personality, or dialogue or actions from what a reader was expecting as soon as they become the main focus. I do understand that the difference in perspective will alter the voice of the story somewhat, but I've been let down before - to the point where I wondered who I was reading about because certainly it's not the same person. Ms. Dare had Sorcha be her regular, endearing and chipper self. Her innocent charm is intact and her enthusiasm for all things wolfie made me giggle numerous times. Being upbeat and an eternal optimist doesn't mean Sorcha is a ditz, or daft or weak. She has a temper, she has courage and she has determination. She's also intuitive at times which takes her fellow characters by surprise at interesting points in the tale.

    The most entertaining element of Never Been Bit is the romance. Sorcha and Alec have known each other all their lives. They see with eyes of the past and their roles in it. But a lot has changed over the years. Both Sorcha and Alec have experienced things that made them grow up, be aware of the wider world and take a stand on certain issues, all while setting goals for their lives. The one thing they both wanted and thought unattainable ended up being found in the depths of their own hearts - in each other.

    That whole process of cluelessness, awakening and then pursuit was alternately heartbreaking, hopeful and many times hilarious. Okay, a lot of it was hysterical. I had the best time reading this book because they truly were great together. I loved their dialogue with each other, the plots and plans and the things that went awry. I enjoyed watching their feelings stir and their passions flare. And I got the greatest kick out of Caitlin, one of the heroine's best friends, and her machinations to interfere but not actually interfering. It was a delicate dance of friendship that drove Sorcha nuts. She knew that Caitlin knew something but couldn't get a hint out of her. But you know what they say, actions speak louder than words and I'm not saying a peep more.

    Unlike the previous books in the series, the main conflict and the only one that mattered was getting Sorcha and Alec together. They were their own worst enemies. The culmination was like a family reunion. Hurts were soothed, friendships were strengthened and/or renewed and a most wonderful and heartwarming happily ever after unfolded to my immense delight. There were even some unexpected surprises that tickled my fancy that made the book so much richer and well rounded. The editing was perfect, the dialogue thoroughly entertaining and the characters, both main and secondary, are great together, giving the tale a robust and natural feel to it.

    Read the full Review at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Sigh! This might be my favorite Lydia Dare book ever! I waited so long for this book, and loved every page. Two more likable characters are hard to find. I may have to read it again while I wait for her next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Magical

    I have waited and waited for Alec to get his Happy Ever After and I wasn't disappointed. Sorcha is delightful and the perfect woman to help heal Alec's broken heart. I adored this series so much and can't wait to read more from Lydia Dare!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Great series

    Cannot wait to read !

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Jack

    Sorry what about 27 830

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Loved

    This was a great series! I loved each book and recommend them to anyone who enjoys witches, wolves, and vampyres. They have a slightly different picture of all three of these, but it was good. For example, the lycans only changed on the full moon not at will and the vampyres didn't always stay that way. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Out of all the Lydia Dare books this is my second favorite one,

    Out of all the Lydia Dare books this is my second favorite one, but my favorite when it comes to Gentleman Vampire series. I absolutely loved this story, so without further ado here's Never Been Bit and what makes it so great.

    Every since we were first introduce to Sorcha Ferguson, in Tall, Dark and Wolfish she has always been described as a wood sprite. Which is fitting since she's the witch that has the power to work with plants. I know you're thinking, what's so great about that? Just ask a couple of her recipients of the damage that can be done. Overall, she's a sweet, kind and caring witch that is sensitive to everyones needs. One can say that she is soft hearted. Ever since she's met a couple of her fellow witch's husband that were Lycan, Sorcha has set out to capture one of her own. After all she has no problem with there drool and tails.

    Now Alec MacQuarrie tends to have a grim out look on life since becoming a vampire. Alec has no desire to socialize with proper society since he lost Caitrin Macleod to a mangy flea-bag (his words not mine). Yet, somehow he's invited to the Duchess of Hythe. Once he arrives he hears what Sorcha has plan. Let's just say he wasn't too please to hear that. So, Alec sets out to stop her from making the biggest mistake of her life.

    As I said at the beginning I love this book, and I think a lot of it has to do with the previous books. I mean you watch Sorcha grow so much in the previous stories. Granted they're not focus on her, but she's always in the background. Plus, she has so much love for everyone, you cannot help but love her. I love how she can look at Alec and see more than just a vampire.

    So, you know where I stand on this book: LOVED IT! I mean, I laughed and I cried. Overall great book. Seriously, worth the read. Especially, when you have a dark vampire and a sunny witch. I mean opposites attract and they certainly do in this story. So, go out and have some fun while you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Good read

    Good book, didnt want to out it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Wonderful

    I laughed, cried, smiled, and loved through this whole book. Had it on my Nook and did not read it for months... what a mistake that was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Fun, Loveable Story

    I have waited since the first hint in previous books about Alex and Sorcha....although I enjoyed her romantic chasing and how much humor she added to many situations, I could not wait for her story! Being the youngest and last to fall in real life, I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Have been waiting for this book forever!!!

    This book does not dissapoint!!! I have been waiting for sorchas and alecs story since they first showed up in Tall Dark and Wolfish!!!! Once you pick this book up you will not let it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    love the series

    this is my favorite book by far of the series. I have always been in love with Sorcha and my poopr Alex I'm glad there was finally a happy ending for him. Lydia DAre writes amazing books and I can not wait for another to come out.... Love you have to read the series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Fabulous end to a great series!

    I've really enjoyed this series and think this was the best installment. I really enjoyed Sorcha's personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Just Love Lydia Dare

    I have read all of this authors books and not one has failed to keep me interested. This book is part of a series and the youngest witch of a coven from Scotland. I thought I would not be as interested but it got me from the first page. You must read all of the Werewolf books and move on to the Vampires and the five witches of the coven. Each one is charming in their own insecure way. they are tough and yet unsure. Lydia Dare's books never fail to please. Great writing. Keep it up. I want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This bewitching paranormal Regency romance is an entertaining redemption tale

    In 1817, Scottish witch Sorcha Ferguson still dreams of marrying a Lycan like Benjamin Westfield who wed her coven sister Elspeth Campbell. She figures that should not prove difficult but so far she has not found any that fascinate her and besides the seer Caitrin Thorpe refuses to tell her who her Lycan soulmate is.

    Kind shy Alex McQuarrie chose vampirism over death but rues his decision as the life of an Undead is lonely. He wants a love of his own; someone who will cherish him as much as he would her. However, he is taken back when he becomes upset over his friend Sorcha seeking to marry a Lycan. Exploring his lost inner soul, Alex realizes the sweet plant savior he has known for years may be the one to mend his non-beating broken heart if he takes a chance on love and can convince her to redeem all he lost.

    This bewitching paranormal Regency romance is an entertaining redemption tale as Sorcha wants to help her shy friend Alec find what he lost and Alec wants to help his sweet friend Scorch find the love of her life as long as it is not an uncouth Lycan. Sorcha makes the story line fun and fresh as she gives her heart and soul to the man she loves even though he lost his soul and his heart fails to beat. Readers will appreciate Lynda Dare's engaging historical romantic fantasy (see It Happened One Bite and In the Heat of the Bite) as two hearts cannot beat as one since his fails to beat.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    Amazing series

    Loved all her books! Sooo amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5