Customer Reviews for

Never Been Kissed: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Teens and Technology equals trouble!

    About the Book: Elise will be starting her junior year of high school in a few weeks, and she is not looking forward to it. Her single mom has taken a new job and she had to move to another town - so she is starting at a new school. The only person she knows is a somewhat geeky freshman, Stacie, that lives in the same apartment building as her.

    Going to stay at Grandma's, in her old town, the week before school starts proves somewhat fortuitous. She meets Asher Gordon through an old friend who is dating his cousin. Asher is also a student at Elise's new school. While it is made clear that he has a girlfriend, Elise is just hopeful that he will say hello to her if they run into each other.

    Well, Asher does more than that - he befriends Elise on that first day and introduces her to his "A-list" friends - including his girlfriend Brianna. While Elise is avoiding Stacie after school, she runs into Asher who offers her a ride home. They stop off for coffee and Elise thinks her first day couldn't have gone any better. However, the next day at school she gets the big freeze from her new friends. She was seen having coffee with Asher and immediately everyone thinks she is after him. So much for her great first day.

    Elise soon gets an email from Asher. He wants her to play that they do not get along so that he can break up with Brianna. He just doesn't want Brianna to blame her and give her a hard time all year. Elise is pretty excited and agrees to play along. As their relationship progresses through email, she become somewhat confused about his behavior towards her at school. While he tells her in email to just play along a little while longer, sometimes he acts at school like he wants to be friends.

    Before Elise knows what hit her, she is arrested for something she didn't do and the whole school is laughing at her. Even her mom thinks she is guilty. During her darkest hour, she realizes that the only one she is going to be able to count on to get her through is God, and starts to try to figure out who set her up.

    My thoughts: Great book for teens and tweens about the dangers of the internet and cyber bullying - among other things. I don't want to tell you the big twist, but it made me sit down and talk with my teens. I don't think that I have read a Melody Carlson book that didn't have some lesson in it that put things in perspective for teens without preaching at them. Highly recommend for any teen that has a MySpace or Facebook page or spends any amount of time online or texting!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Never been kissed...

    Girls. Seriously,if you havent been kissed,good. When you get married,if you have been kissed before,your husband will be major jealous. Not to mention,if youve kissed another guy who happens to be a better kisser... Look its just better not to be kissed untill you are married.Im thirteen. Never been kissed.You wont die if you arent kissed so chill.Your purity is worth the wait. Not to mention,it will be all the more special.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Awesome

    I couldn't put this book down. I read it all in two days. I had to know the final outcome. It's a great story with a great message to teen girls. I reccomend you read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    READ ME!!!

    I kinda relate to the character. I've never been kissed either. But all my friends have. Im 14 thou, not 16.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Been kissed of course done more then that tho

    I was 12 when i had my first make out session getting kissed is so amazing u feel like u wanna do this alot its so sensational but u really should wait till ur married though but its ur life and u choose watt u do oh nd im 14 will be 15 dec. 29

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    .

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Hey 12to14 year old boys

    I a 13 and i have long blond hair and brown eyes . If you want me reply to kelsey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Im singke....

    Girl

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Friend me

    Jaymie999 @ cox .net

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Sliverkit(g)

    Ran in. Her tears falling down.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Awesome so far!

    Ive only read 10 pages so far and it seems like a GREAT teen book...im a teen and i LOVE it so far!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    This book....

    OMG!!!!! This is a MUST READ for teens :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Good book

    Excellent true to life story, maybe A little to graphic for 13-14 year olds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    High praise for melidy carlson's "Never Been Kissed"!!!!!

    This book was simply amazing! Kudos melidy for writing such a great book.....this book was so inspiring and so enlightening....i wish every teen girl would read this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    A MUST Read for ALL Young Readers!

    Melody Carlson is AWESOME! She writes from the heart, and she writes for the teens. I love her work, both her adult books and her YA novels. And, this Never Been Kissed novel is by far the best one by her yet. She takes a combination of YA issues, sexting (child pornography), suicide, trusting in God, lies,being popular, bullying and boys and raps them up into one incredible, major impacting novel that will help ANY young lady through any number of issues.

    Meeting Elise was a fun experience. What happened to her-I won't go into major detail for fear of spoilers!- wasn't fun, but seeing the strong, tender hearted young woman who was dealing with MAJOR issues, issues that 16 year olds should NOT have to go through, I felt like her big sister. I prayed for her through this story and became quite up set with some of the other characters in this book. But, through Melody Carlson, she HAD to have those characters along side her or this story wouldn't be worth reading, and wouldn't have the same impact on young adults.

    This is a novel that I think should have more than 5 stars for it's powerful, powerful messages. It's PERFECT for EVERY young lady in high school to show how serious the issues I mentioned really are. Reality meets fiction in this HIGHLY recommended young adult novel and if you have a teen aged girl who loves to read in your life, then please, don't hesitate to get this book for her. She will not only learn a lesson, but will fall in love with Melody Carlson's work, as Carlson puts God as the center of EVERY book but yet hits home with real life issues in teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Never Been Kissed

    Elise Stortsen, has some major changes happen. Her mom has landed a new job that moves Elise into a new school district, so instead of starting her junior year in her old school, where she wasn't very popular anyway, she will be going to Garfield High. She is just about to turn sixteen and having never been kissed hopes to change that by her birthday. When Asher, a popular boy in school starts showing an interest in Elise, she wonders if he might give her that first kiss.
    Her first day of school goes great, Asher introduces her to the in-crowd, which includes Asher's girlfriend. So when Elise gets an email from Asher, she soon finds herself caught up in something that soon puts her reputation on the line, and jeopardizes her future, but it also makes her realize what is important, and in the process strengthens her faith in God!
    I think this book is a must read for all teen girls. It deals with some pretty heavy subjects, but these are real life problems that are facing teens today.The character of Elise was very well written. She was very down to earth and easy to relate to. I totally understood the reactions of the characters in the story, and while Stacie did something wrong, she didn't do it with malicious intent, but there were still repercussions.
    This book moved at a brisk pace and I felt the ending wrapped up the story nicely. There is a spiritual message woven throughout the book, but it isn't preachy or overwhelming.Whether your a teen or not, this book is well worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1