Customer Reviews for

Never Cry Wolf

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not My Favorite Shifter Story

I've been meaning to read Cynthia Eden's books for quite some time. Her romantic suspense books come very highly recommended, but I haven't heard much about her paranormal series. I've been on a bit of a shifter binge lately, so Never Cry Wolf fit right in.

I have n...
I've been meaning to read Cynthia Eden's books for quite some time. Her romantic suspense books come very highly recommended, but I haven't heard much about her paranormal series. I've been on a bit of a shifter binge lately, so Never Cry Wolf fit right in.

I have no idea why, but the pack came off a bit like a biker gang. It's likely the absence of women shifters in this story, but there doesn't seem to be any community here. And that's what I like about shifter books: the way packs have both an animal hierarchy and a human support system. It felt weird not to find that here.

My other problem is that I've clearly been stuck right into the middle of a series. And Eden doesn't provide a lot of back story about what's happened previously. Sure, the main story stands alone, but various characters were dropped in with little explanation, and although it's clear I'm supposed to care about them, I really never connected at all.

And the lying. Oh, the lying. The heroine wouldn't know the truth if it bit her on a sensitive area. I can understand part of the deception, but there comes a point where trust is irrevocably broken. And I didn't believe Lucas would be so forgiving. But that's me.

Overall, this was a decent shifter story, but not one of my favorites. It's worth reading, but don't expect to be wowed.

My Grade: C+
FTC: Review copy provided by the publisher

posted by buriedbybooks on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    A good read

    I enjoed this book. It was a good read. Wish it was longer but thats ok. My only problem is this....... now i'm left with wondeting about what is going to happen with some of the supporting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Need More!!!

    Another great read from Cynthia Eden. Never Cry Wolf has a wonderful balance of mystery and love that keeps you turning page after page. Lucas Sinone and Sarah King must work together for the better good. Now, if only they trusted each other. So many of the characters in this book deserve their own stories. Once you start reading this book you won't want to put it down until you're done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Another great book from Cynthia Eden!!

    There is a reason Cynthia Eden is one of my favorite authors and it's because there has never been a book she's written that has not been short of amazing!!

    The books starts off with Lucas in jail for a murder he did not commit. Sarah comes in claiming to be Lucas' lover and that she was with him on the night of the murder. Although Lucas knows he has never seen this woman before, he is all for getting out of jail.

    Sarah is a woman with a lot of secrets. She is on the run from her ex who also happens to be a werewolf. He and his coyote henchman are hunting Sarah. The man Lucas was accused of murdering was Sarah's close friend. He was going to Lucas to try and get protection for them both but the coyotes got to him first. Now Sarah is trying to get Lucas to protect her but she is still deceiving him at every turn.

    Lucas is the toughest bad ass alpha wolf around. Lucas will stop at nothing to protect his pack and what he considers his. He agrees to protect Sarah but he knows she is deceiving him. Even though Lucas knows he can't trust Sarah that does not stop him from wanting her.

    Never Cry Wolf is full of action and adventure. The chemistry between Lucas and Sarah is explosive. I liked how although Sarah thought she was lying and deceiving Lucas, he was always one step ahead of her and knew what was going on. I have to say that I did not like that Sarah still kept deceiving him even after their relationship developed. He kept giving her a chance and still she deceived him. That is basically the only thing I did not like about the book. I LOVED Lucas! He is the epitome of the big bad alpha. He's a kicks ass and ask questions later kind of guy and would do anything for his pack, except give up the woman he loves.

    We also got to see some characters from previous Night Watch books. I am looking forward to reading the story of Lucas' brother Jordan and the wolves in Lucas' pack. I hope they all get books of their own as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    great read

    This is a new aurthor for me but and I found her story very engaging from the begining. Lots of action with a little romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    A wonderful story in Eden's "Other" Universe

    Lies, deception and death. All three follow Sarah and she needs the help of a strong alpha to save her life. These are three things Lucas will not tolerate in his life. Sarah King is not what she seems. At first glance she is all innocence and defenselessness. Sarah has many secrets and to save herself she can't let them be known. Sarah has reasons to be scared. Her ex is after her and he has a hefty price on her head. Every supernatural wants to collect and she is in dire need of a protector. She knows the LA pack alpha has a reputation of protecting the innocent and that is what she is counting on. Lucas Simone is alpha through and through. He will protect what is his and his pack. With a past born of pain and blood, he has zero tolerance of brutality of the weak and innocent. When Sarah comes into his life, he knows she is trouble at first site. Their relationship begins on a lie and that is something he will not stand for. His pack is in danger and he will do anything to protect them and Sarah is the key to do just that. He just needs to prove to her that she can trust him. What these two find is not what they expected. They will need to learn to trust each other and that is not easy for either of them. The stakes are high and together they need to work together to survive. Problem is.they are surrounded by deception. Who can they trust? No one is who or what they seem. Through all of the chaos, Sarah and Lucas find something in each other, their missing pieces. Is the passion going to be enough, when one is lying to the other and the other knows it? A great read and I can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2