Customer Reviews for

Never Cry Wolf

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not My Favorite Shifter Story

I've been meaning to read Cynthia Eden's books for quite some time. Her romantic suspense books come very highly recommended, but I haven't heard much about her paranormal series. I've been on a bit of a shifter binge lately, so Never Cry Wolf fit right in.

I have n...
I've been meaning to read Cynthia Eden's books for quite some time. Her romantic suspense books come very highly recommended, but I haven't heard much about her paranormal series. I've been on a bit of a shifter binge lately, so Never Cry Wolf fit right in.

I have no idea why, but the pack came off a bit like a biker gang. It's likely the absence of women shifters in this story, but there doesn't seem to be any community here. And that's what I like about shifter books: the way packs have both an animal hierarchy and a human support system. It felt weird not to find that here.

My other problem is that I've clearly been stuck right into the middle of a series. And Eden doesn't provide a lot of back story about what's happened previously. Sure, the main story stands alone, but various characters were dropped in with little explanation, and although it's clear I'm supposed to care about them, I really never connected at all.

And the lying. Oh, the lying. The heroine wouldn't know the truth if it bit her on a sensitive area. I can understand part of the deception, but there comes a point where trust is irrevocably broken. And I didn't believe Lucas would be so forgiving. But that's me.

Overall, this was a decent shifter story, but not one of my favorites. It's worth reading, but don't expect to be wowed.

My Grade: C+
FTC: Review copy provided by the publisher

posted by buriedbybooks on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great, GREAT GREAT read!

    This is not my first Cynthia Eden novel, nor will it be my last, but I will tell you if you've never read Cynthia, first shame on you, second you'll have a great introduction to her fantastic writing with NEVER CRY WOLF. Just be warned once you read one novel by Cynthia, you'll want to read everything she's written! Now on to my thoughts about NEVER CRY WOLF. Lucas the hero of NEVER CRY WOLF, is all alpha, all the time. He's the "to die for hero" you'll love with a past that at times has you smiling, at times tearing up and at times laughing out loud. Same as his present. You'll love walking with him into love. But don't worry you'll love the great "guys" who are beside him as well. For me I think I fell hardest for his younger brother, Jordan but then there's Dane..and others. You'll have a whole lot of love to wanna share with these "men". Then there's Sarah, our heroine, she has secrets, some that will tee you off as much as they do Lucas, but she's strong and still "human" or rather realistic. For me I felt like I knew her. Yeah I got mad at her, but I also felt for her. You will too. This is a fast-paced, paranormal romantic suspense. You get good guys, bad guys, guys who you can't decide if they are good or bad and through it all you have a story that keeps you quickly turning pages. I stayed up all night to read this one and hated to turn the last page. I find even weeks later I'm still thinking about this book and these characters, I've actually gone back to reread parts just to remember things. Overall this was a great read, one that I'd highly recommend to everyone who loves shifters, great characters, a fascinating storyline, and a writing style that pulls you in from the first word. I am sooo eager for more and have a feeling you will be too!



    Reviewed by: Wendy Keel

    Rating: 5
    review posted at my blog

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Lightningstrike

    She whimpered softly as she lay in her nest. "Riverpool..." she murmurs, her eyes shut with tears on the edge. She opens them, forcing through the layer of eye goop and looked at Briarsong. She propped herself up some just long enough to finish what she wanted to say. "Why aren't you crying for Stormclaw?" She growled and fell back down. "I though y-you l-l-loved..." her voice trailed off and she shut her eyes.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Another Home Run!

    Sarah King is a little more than human, has a bounty on her head and needs protection. Protection she hopes will be provided by the big bad wolf. Lucas Simone is the big bad wolf. Alpha of the LA pack he’s had a rough life, but he’s a survivor and, more important to Sarah, he protects the weak. As a human in a supernatural world, she’s as weak as they get. Mystery, action and hot yummy sexiness abounds as Sarah fights for her life and Lucas fights to protect her.

    Cynthia Eden hits another home run in the Night Watch series. There’s lots of action, sneakiness, betrayal, loyalty, fighting, hot yumminess and steamy sex in Never Cry Wolf. From the way things looked at the end there are at least two or three more Night Watch stories coming up. More would be nice. *hint, hint* Whether they might be books, novellas or parallel stories I’ll just have to wait and see. But I am watching. And waiting. I’m not known for waiting patiently. *fidgets* Is the next book out yet? *fidgets some more* How ‘bout now? *sigh*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    River

    River

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Anonymous

    Love it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    I loved the book. I admit the pack was a little different from

    I loved the book. I admit the pack was a little different from most stories but it was an excellent read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    OMG Loved this read!

    Loved it! I couldn't put it down. Full of twists, turns and excitment! So worth reading. Want more! LOL

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    Finally something new, I have I enjoy more wolf books than vampires. Great book, It would have been nice a series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Wwerewolf power!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Hy add me my name is daja

    Fcgdgd

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    WOW!!!!

    wow what a great book! i couldn't put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    highly recommended

    lots of action and mystery. loved it. if you like paranormal and shifting this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I want to cry wolf

    awesome!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    The best book ever

    This is a book you have to read. It melts your attention throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!

    the story had some intreasting plots that kept me readin and waiting to see what happened.I lvoed this book and cant wait to see if the writer writes more books like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    5 stars!

    If you love stories that get your heart racing then this ones for you. Yet again Eden writes another 5 star book. If you have not picked ip one of her books then you my friend are missing out. This book has hot alpha males, steamy romance, and an amazing plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Cynthia Eden romantic urban fantasy is an exhilarating thriller filled with lust, lies, and traitors

    A charmer reads the thoughts of animals, Sarah King flees vicious werewolf Rafe Santiago. She was undercover for the Feds as Rafe's lover but he uncovered her identity.

    Knowing Rafe and his pack seek her out and distrusting her agency the FBI as she does not know who she can rely on, Sarah turns to the man who killed her ex-lover's father, the Alpha of the Los Angeles werewolf pack Lucas Simone, for safety though he lingers in jail on murder charges. Her theory is her enemy's enemy is her friend. She gets him out of jail on bail, but Lucas distrusts her motives as he believes she has an agenda beyond just asking for his protection though to his chagrin he is attracted to her. Rafe has waited a long time to avenge his father's death and with a betrayal inside his adversary's pack, the time is now to kill Lucas and maybe Sarah.

    The latest Cynthia Eden romantic urban fantasy is an exhilarating thriller filled with lust, lies, and traitors. Readers will understand why the lead triangle trusts no one as perfidy is the norm, leading to a wonderful twisting plot as fans will ponder whose side Sarah is on?

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cynthia Eden never disappoints, weaving a gripping tale of betrayal, revenge, love and trust that will keep you turning the pages for more!

    Sarah King is on the run with a large bounty on her head; her only hope is the L.A. alpha wolf, Lucas Simone. When Lucas is imprisoned for a murder he didn't commit Sarah impersonates his lover, giving him an alibi for that night and setting him free. The only thing she asks for in return is his protection. Lucas knows that Sarah isn't telling him everything, but despite that he can't leave her to survive on her own. There is an undeniable attraction between them that both intrigues and makes him weary, determined to find out the truth Lucas brings her into the pack after she gives up intel on a rival pack and a murderous plot. The secrets Sarah carries though could end her life and she will not give them up willingly, but when one of them is threatened and must seek the help of a voodoo priestess each must learn to trust each other if they want to escape the danger with their lives and souls intact.

    Set in the world of Others from Cynthia's Night Watch and Midnight trilogies, Never Cry Wolf makes a great standalone. Rival coyote packs, alpha wolves fighting for territory and revenge, heart breaking betrayal, demons, vampire, magic and voodoo, plus an F.B.I. investigation! Never Cry Wolf is full of action and adventure, and you can't forget the sizzling romance that comes standard in all of Cynthia Eden's novels!

    I became totally immersed in this novel right away, finishing it in record time; I never wanted it to end. The story of Lucas and Sarah was full of danger and intrigue with a combustible chemistry between the two that could not be denied. I absolutely loved Lucas. He is dark, sexy, aggressive, protective, smart, possessive and all ALPHA. He had a rough upbringing but despite all of those difficulties, or most likely because of them, he has grown stronger and is the alpha of the L.A. werewolf pack and one of the most recognizable ones as well. Every Other knows that you don't mess with the L.A. wolves. Sara was an admirable character as well. Having a stark upbringing where she first had to hide who she was and then fighting for survival on the streets, she later joins the F.B.I. but while undercover fell for the alpha wolf Rafael. After seeing the true monster under the handsome mask and realizing that he was only using her for rare abilities, she flees for her life hoping that Lucas can protect her. She is brave, intelligent and very determined. Once she finds Lucas she knows that he is the one for her but has a hard time trusting him with all her secrets. This was one point that I didn't care for because no matter what Lucas found out about her, he still stuck by her side, so I thought that she should have been upfront with him the whole time. But I guess that would have made the novel a lot shorter, LoL. I liked how the whole story unraveled though and Eden kept me in suspense revealing each piece of the plot masterfully. She also has the wonderful ability to create such intriguing side characters that you become invested in them as well and want more of their story right away. The ending really captured my heart, it was beautifully written and one of my favorite endings ever. An alpha wolf, not knowing what love is, asking if these feelings are it. *sigh* So romantic.
    Just another smashing hit from must read paranormal romance author, Cynthia Eden!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Great read

    Fans of her previous books will be pleaased with this great addition to the L.A. chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4