Customer Reviews for

Never Cry Wolf

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Satirical Treasure

    Naturalist Farley Mowat is a satirical genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Meet the Canadian wolves

    Mowat spends a year living among the canadian wolves. He hardley goes inside and studies their way of life. You really feel like you are out there and live with the wolves. You can feel the cold and smell the air. You can almost taste those mice he cookes at one point! ^^ This is a wonderful book that takes reaserach to a ENTIRELY new level of spectacular and beauty. "George" and "Angalinea" with "Ungle Albert" take care of her 4 pups. You see how the entire pack chips in and helps the pups to survive. He never gets a good obversation of a REAL wolf hunt but, he throws in a tasty mice recipe which he calls "Creamed mouse"! I have never tried it but, he sure did like it! This is a book for any body who is in to nature. You don't have to love wolves. Just nature and books, really! Mowat beautifully describes the wonderful world wof wolves. Why do they hunt so much caribou, deer, and elk? Why is everyone hunting wolves? Why was he sent to kill the wolves but never did? Why was he forced to eat mice? Unlock all this and more when you take your first step out into the Canadian wilderness and never look back at home. You will never want to put this book down! (I know I didn't! I read it when the lights were off in the class room cuz we were watching a movie! ^^)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful and insightful!

    As someone who enjoys a touching story of survival and commitment, Never Cry Wolf by Farley Mowat, was a prefect book for me. I truly enjoyed the refreshing humor that Mowat brings to his story. This book opens your eyes and your heart to the other relationships you can have with another species. In the beginning, Farley opens up about his life and the reasons behind his profession. He uses his humor as a way to suck you right into the story. Throughout the book, as he gains the relationships with his wolf counterparts, you really become attached to the story and Farley. You start to understand his intentions, and you start to really create your own relationships with the wolves he comes upon. You go on a emotional rollercoaster with Farley as he leads you throughout his life. It truly is a story for the animal lovers of the world. Also this book is for anyone who enjoys connecting to real people and who like relating to other peoples lives. One thing I would say though is that if you do not enjoy animals, or cannot relate with the wilderness, this book is probably not for you. It will probably be hard for you to really get into the book and get the terrific message the Mowat is trying to get across to you. You will probably also not appreciate the insightful information he gives to you about wolves throughout the story. I would give this book an overall rating of a 7. If you did enjoy this story, I would also recommend anything else by Farley Mowat, or The Call of the Wild written by Jack London.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Fascinating and informative

    If you enjoy books about natural history, you will be delighted with this author. Farley Mowat is a naturalist who, at the behest of the Canadian government, traveled into the wilds of Canada to document and gather information about the "vicious" nature of wolves. Instead, over the course of several months, he discovered to his surprise that wolves have a highly evolved family life including a form of language, kill only in order to eat, and avoid humans. He writes of his experiences with humor and insight and shares what he learned about himself as well as the wolves he studied. This book is a pleasant and entertaining read. I could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!!!!

    This book was good, dont bother reading bad reviews on books, especially if you see alot of good reviews. There always has to be a critic, and thats how this world is. I read this book not interested in it at all, I got it to read for school, and ended up loving it. It's a very interesting and nondull book. If you dont like wolves do like them, you should read it, wolves aren't dangerous. We make them out to be...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Great Informational Book

    It was a very interesting book whether you like wolves or not, but if you dont like them, you'll see your opinion change as you read this book. One person commented that the facts are wrong, which is incorrect. If you reaserch them on the internet, you'll find that they have been proven correct.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    OK

    THE BOOK WAS NOT INTRESTING TO ME PROBALY BECAUSE I AM NOT A WOLF LOVER!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    Escape through your Mind

    This book is amazing, it¿s not only just a book, but a mind changing true story that can take your imagination places and change your views. I highly recommend reading this spectacular book and I also recommend the movie, the scenery is beautiful. If you love adventure and detail that can pull you into reality, Never Cry Wolf is something you should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    False

    If you do research on Mowat, you will see that infact, this book has many untrue facts. Although it is a very entertaining read, many of the 'facts' about wolves are indeed fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Best Wolf Book I've Read

    I have read tons of wolf books, but none were as vivid and real as Never Cry Wolf. I was amazed about how much mith was really around the wolf. Not only was it educational, but it was very entertaining. I loved the part with the fish, the first meeting with Mike, pretty much all of it was funny. This book kept me on the edge of my seat, I kept on thinking,'what will the wolves do next', 'I never knew they hunted like that', and alot of other things. This book would be good for most people that like animals (especially wolves).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Spectacular book!

    Absolutely a must-have for anyone interested in wolves or wildlife in general. The way humor, information, and story are mixed into one is a great way to learn about these, the most understood animals on our continent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    shanice the gurl who has to write about the movie.

    I watched the movie and read the book and now i have to write a biological report on it i have to say that tihs is the hardest thing I have done,but i like the challege i was hoping to get some more info than this but i guess this is all you have to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    Great

    Its a great read I loved to think I was there in canada.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    Wolf Juice!!!!

    Stellar Book!! Really, everybody should read Never Cry Wolf. It is a great story and told very well. The authors sense of humor and insight throughout the whole book kept me entertained and interested. It creates a feeling of respect and attachment to the wolves. Uncle Albert is a hero!!! I've read the book twice and seen the movie many times and could start right over and read it again. Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    An incredibly dellightful read

    An incredibly delightful story! I loved this novel. It keeps the reader alert and interested by its impecable writing. Farley Mowat is an outstanding writer that can keep a story light and funny, but yet still have a serious tone to the plot. This story, about the Arctic Wolf, was an eye-opener. I had never thought that wolves could be anything but deadly predators, but now I see that I was wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Nature In Its Deepest Sense

    I have never read a book that has bought me so close to nature as it actually exists in the uninhabited areas around our world as Never Cry Wolf did. This book, written by Farley Mowat, brings you right into his experience during his wolf studies and actually makes you feel like your right next to him observing the wolves. But what this book does the best job of showing is the true relationships between humans and animals and wrong assumptions and treatments by humans that don?t understand nature itself. The content of this book is almost all with nature. You see nature in its true form through Farley?s eyes as he lives in it and studies it from a biologist?s point of view. This book also talks about how intricate the whole nature system really is and brings up the idea that we will probably never be able to completely understand it. In this autobiography of part of his life, Farley is given a problem. He is supposed to prove that wolves are responsible for the declining in the Caribou herd in northern Canada and is supposed to come up with solutions to this problem. As Farley does his studies, he quickly finds out that it isn?t the wolves that are causing the problems at all; it?s a different creature, one that will take no fault for any problems occurring in nature. And now it?s his job to try and open the eyes of the unknowing public, otherwise the animal kingdom could be changed for good in northern Canada. This book is absolutely outstanding. First of all, its written on a topic that is incredibly fascinating to most people, and what makes it even better is that this is a true story, its not made up. Secondly what makes this book great is the awesome story is told straight from the guy who lived it, so every single detail is mentioned and nothing is left out. Due to these details, this book keeps you write on the edge of your seat throughout the whole story and makes you feel like you are right there, in northern Canada. The other also does a very good job of keeping the abstract subject, the fact that humans view nature wrongly, alive throughout the entire novel and not leading of on tangents that don?t relate to the subject of the book. The theme of this book is basically that humans trying to have an impact on nature and trying to make it better can actually have a very, very negative effect. If the wilderness society that Farley worked for had gone ahead with there original plans and not sent Farley out to study, they would have been killing thousands of wolves, which actually would have made the Caribou herd struggle even more. This book proves to us that nature is far to complex for us to ever completely understand, and that since we cannot understand it, we should just act as the part of nature that we are, instead of trying to run or control it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    ~Wolf Juice and Creamed Mice~ (Hope you're hungry!)

    This is a totally awesome book. I really enjoyed reading it. Its the type of book that will keep you on your toes and make you never stop wanting to read it. Farley used great characterization, and is incredibly humorous. I recomend this book for all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    Today's Menu: Creamed Mouse and Dried Caribou

    A very well written novel! Great voice and characterization (especially of the wolves)! Farley is able to take you with him into the Arctic, letting you experience every step. Even though it was 'mandatory reading', I surprisingly enjoyed myself the whole time. The attachments one forms with these wolves is amazing. Honestly, Farley has captured true wolfish society, while keeping the reader entertained with his witty sense of humor. Two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    Very Amazing Book and Movie

    As I watched the Movie in one of my classes, I really liked the beggining where hths supplies were dropped because there was too much weight. This is a great eye opener to all those that seen to think that the Wolve that live in the high arctic aren't infact that bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    One of my all-time favorites

    A great book which I read as a kid and as an adult and enjoyed both times. I apparently saw the movie, my wife said it was good but I don't remember it. I'm reading it for the 3rd time to my 10 year old son, which is a challenge due to the rich Canadian English, but we are both enjoying it, and we laughed histerically at 'The Watcher Watched' chapter last night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2