Customer Reviews for

Never Deal with Dragons

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful story by new to me author Lorenda Christensen.  Ms. Ch

Wonderful story by new to me author Lorenda Christensen.  Ms. Christensen has built a post WWIII world where dragons are real and humans are not at the top of the food chain anymore.  There are humans that can speak with Dragons and most of them work for DRACIM (Dragon ...
Wonderful story by new to me author Lorenda Christensen.  Ms. Christensen has built a post WWIII world where dragons are real and humans are not at the top of the food chain anymore.  There are humans that can speak with Dragons and most of them work for DRACIM (Dragon Relations, Arbitration, and Cooperative Interspecies Mediation) basically acting as go betweens between Dragons and Humans. Myrna is a dragonspeaker and would be in a higher position at her job but for the actions of an old flame who has just shown up in her office.  She would love to kick him out but he works for a powerful dragon lord who needs her help to avert a war between rivals.  Can she work with a man who has more secrets than the CIA and who broke her heart?  She must to save the country from the fall out of a Dragon war but she doesn’t have to like it.  
This is a fantastic story with characters you’ll love and plot twists galore.  I’d like to thank Carina Press and NetGalley for giving me an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.  

posted by 1_trouble on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is the first book in a new series that I liked but did not

This is the first book in a new series that I liked but did not love. Myrna was likable. She is intelligent, very good at her job, a good friend, and a bit of a smart ass. Trian is a cool hero, he does not spend any time brooding, he’s fun, sexy, and a great protector. ...
This is the first book in a new series that I liked but did not love. Myrna was likable. She is intelligent, very good at her job, a good friend, and a bit of a smart ass. Trian is a cool hero, he does not spend any time brooding, he’s fun, sexy, and a great protector. I also liked the world that was built. The story takes place 150 years in the future, but after WWIII. Because of all the fighting they have serious environmental issues that has kept them from moving forward technologically, and in many ways they are less advanced than us. Also the Dragons have series political power, so not only are they important to the story, they are an incredibly important part of this world.




What I didn’t like was a lack of character motivation. The adventure that Myrna embarks on was never addressed for what it clearly was, a trap. These character’s jobs deal with serious business and political issues on a day to day basis, so why they were acting like they were going on a regular albeit a bit more dangerous business trip was beyond me. If the characters had said out loud it was a set up then it would have been clear Myrna had no motivation to go. She was not going to help a loved one and she did not think she could be saving thousands of lives. She could have done it to get out from under her bosses thumb, but she never made a move to do so before, and considering what an idiot he is I’m sure she had plenty of opportunity.




Most importantly the villains diabolical plan was odd coming from him. Not only would success not benefit him, it would have been extremely detrimental. The same goes for his underlings. Why would anyone follow a man who punishment for failure would be the same as the reward for success? I’m not saying he had to explain himself while he was torturing Myrna or Trian like a Bond villain, but they could have at least had someone over hear a conversation, or find something in writing. The next book will follow Myrna’s bestie Carol. Hopefully the kinks will be worked out a bit better, because I will be reading it.

posted by Eloise_In_Paris on July 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    This is the first book in a new series that I liked but did not

    This is the first book in a new series that I liked but did not love. Myrna was likable. She is intelligent, very good at her job, a good friend, and a bit of a smart ass. Trian is a cool hero, he does not spend any time brooding, he’s fun, sexy, and a great protector. I also liked the world that was built. The story takes place 150 years in the future, but after WWIII. Because of all the fighting they have serious environmental issues that has kept them from moving forward technologically, and in many ways they are less advanced than us. Also the Dragons have series political power, so not only are they important to the story, they are an incredibly important part of this world.




    What I didn’t like was a lack of character motivation. The adventure that Myrna embarks on was never addressed for what it clearly was, a trap. These character’s jobs deal with serious business and political issues on a day to day basis, so why they were acting like they were going on a regular albeit a bit more dangerous business trip was beyond me. If the characters had said out loud it was a set up then it would have been clear Myrna had no motivation to go. She was not going to help a loved one and she did not think she could be saving thousands of lives. She could have done it to get out from under her bosses thumb, but she never made a move to do so before, and considering what an idiot he is I’m sure she had plenty of opportunity.




    Most importantly the villains diabolical plan was odd coming from him. Not only would success not benefit him, it would have been extremely detrimental. The same goes for his underlings. Why would anyone follow a man who punishment for failure would be the same as the reward for success? I’m not saying he had to explain himself while he was torturing Myrna or Trian like a Bond villain, but they could have at least had someone over hear a conversation, or find something in writing. The next book will follow Myrna’s bestie Carol. Hopefully the kinks will be worked out a bit better, because I will be reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Fizzy, Entertaining SF/F Romance

    Christiansen's debut novel is a near-future romance featuring dragons, true love, betrayal, broken hearts, and plenty of action. Myrna is an appealing and engaging narrator, with a quirky (if occassionally naive) view of the world. Trian is heroic and stoic, if slightly less developed as a character.

    I have only a few critiques. There were several notable typographical errors which would have been caught by a more thorough edit. Additionally, the identity of the traitor in their ranks was glaringly obvious to the reader; Myrna's inability to spot him made her seem a tad dense. I would also like to have seen a slightly longer denouement; as it is, the story ends only a few pages after the final big crisis.

    That said, this was a fun, nonkinky paranormal romance with a great female lead. Recommended to fans of Thea Harrison and Gail Carriger. -- lyradora

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful story by new to me author Lorenda Christensen.  Ms. Ch

    Wonderful story by new to me author Lorenda Christensen.  Ms. Christensen has built a post WWIII world where dragons are real and humans are not at the top of the food chain anymore.  There are humans that can speak with Dragons and most of them work for DRACIM (Dragon Relations, Arbitration, and Cooperative Interspecies Mediation) basically acting as go betweens between Dragons and Humans. Myrna is a dragonspeaker and would be in a higher position at her job but for the actions of an old flame who has just shown up in her office.  She would love to kick him out but he works for a powerful dragon lord who needs her help to avert a war between rivals.  Can she work with a man who has more secrets than the CIA and who broke her heart?  She must to save the country from the fall out of a Dragon war but she doesn’t have to like it.  
    This is a fantastic story with characters you’ll love and plot twists galore.  I’d like to thank Carina Press and NetGalley for giving me an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It's the dawn of a new world has dragons walk amongst humans fol

    It's the dawn of a new world has dragons walk amongst humans following the events of World War III. Following a little science-gone-wrong, these scaly beasts are at the top of the food chain, working with humans in this new world through people like Myrna Banks, a dragonspeaker and member of DRACIM. Between the mess and the stress, Myrna somehow manages to get through her days, even if it involves cleaning up dragon vomit and satisfying a farmer's rage over losing a favored cow.

    Christensen starts off Never Deal with Dragons with a bit of humor as we met Myrna, our star dragonspeaker. Right off the bat, I liked the author's writing style. It painted her protagonist as a sassy young woman with a lot of patience and a strong will. I liked Myrna from the start, at least until Trian appeared.

    Trian

    noun

    1. a jerk of the highestorder

    2. Myrna's kryptonite

    3. a thieving ex-boyfriend who doesn't apologize

    Myrna was great... except around Trian. They dated in the past before he ran off with a number of classified files, leaving her with nothing more than a short note and a broken heart. He caused her to be placed under one of the lowliest bosses. He acts like everything he did was for a perfectly good reason and that's just how it had to be.

    Case in point: Trian's a jerk.

    When Myrna finds out they have to work together, I'm sitting there thinking that I know exactly how this is going to end. And sadly I wasn't proven wrong. Myrna just can't stay away from the guy, even if he basically destroyed her future and left her without any sort of explanation. Come on, Myrna. I had such high hopes for her as a strong female heroine thrown to the wolves -- I mean, dragons. Their little romance/get-back-together deal was probably the biggest flaw I found in this story.

    Beyond that, I loved the story. First and foremost: dragons. They're awesome. That's just a known fact. And the way Christensen presents them is something I've never seen before. I loved the new addition of dragons into a world that couldn't necessarily prepare for them, and yet they somehow figured it out. Kudos to the human race for accepting the supernatural (not that they had a choice in this case, I'm sure). Since the romance didn't take front and center, I still got to see a lot of that spunk and sass in Christensen's writing that she brought out in Myrna. It made Never Deal with Dragons a quick, fun read.

    For those of you looking for an urban fantasy with some romance thrown it that doesn't involve vampires, witches, or werewolves, check out Never Deal with Dragons by Lorenda Christensen. This series is rearing to go with Myrna's story and makes for an entertaining poolside read during these summer months. You can also read the sequel, Dancing with Dragons, following Myrna's friend Carol, and 'Til Dragons Do Us Part (book 3) to come out in October 2014.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Picking up a book about dragons is not an automatic thing for me

    Picking up a book about dragons is not an automatic thing for me, but hey, good writing can lead me anywhere, so my mind was open. Regardless, I never expected to find myself laughing, feeling empathetic, and maybe a touch grossed out, all by the end of the first paragraph.
    Myrna Banks is a mediator between the human population and the dragon population – not an easy task, but obviously one she is well equipped to handle – until her lousy ex, Trian, shows up to spoil an already problematic day. And a wonderful romp takes off from there.
    Ms. Christensen’s writing is faultless, fun, and fast-paced. She deals with back story and setting with ease, while giving us vividly drawn characters and loads of humor. Even when danger and evil creep in, humor is not far off, and I found myself smiling right up to the last page. 
    Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the DRACIM series by Lorenda Christens

    This is the first book in the DRACIM series by Lorenda Christensen. I got this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I chose this book because I am a lover of dragons, especially shapeshifter dragons. For some reason I thought that this is what this book would be about. Similar to G.A. Aiken's Dragon Kin series. Boy was I wrong. 

    This story starts with Myrna Banks dealing with the consequences of a pregnant dragon eating the beloved dairy cow of a local farmer. She is tasked with mediating a fair settlement between the two and making sure that everyone is happy. This is no small feat, especially with a dragon suffering from pregnancy hormones and nausea has just thrown up said beloved dairy cow all over her office and the farmer is present to see his favorite cow in undigested pieces on the floor right in front of him. 

    Okay, so you probably need a little background right? Basically, some doctor while looking for the cure for cancer, mixed a little of this and a little of that with reptile DNA and did some experimentation. When he found his cure, his lab assistant took all his experiments and threw them into an incinerator. As it turns out, this was a perfect recipe for dragons to evolve. The incinerator birthed 7 dragons. These dragons bred in secret and grew and prospered. Soon after World War III, a dragon was pictured flying above a city. It was at that point that humans united and tried to take out the dragons. Big mistake, since dragons have the ability to regenerate and are extremely hard to kill. When it became obvious that they couldn't be eliminated, especially due to their current numbers and invincibility, someone came forward to try a diplomatic solution. It was found that only a very few rare individuals were able to understand the snorts, huffs and smoke streams and actually communicate with the dragons. They were called Dragonspeakers. Most dragonspeakers work for DRACIM, or Dragon Relations, Arbitration and Cooperative Interspecies Mediation, like Myrna. They work with the dragons, especially the Dragon Lords who rule over all the other dragons and most of humanity.

    Basically, this was a book about Myrna and her ex-boyfriend Trian, who she will have to work with on a highly sensitive assignment. But there is also plenty of action and adventure as Myrna travels from Tulsa to China to Budapest, fighting with dragons and tracking down a device. We can't forget the urban fantasy of the alternate future and the dystopian aspects of the dragons ruling in the future. All topped with a mystery of what is going on with the device, who commissioned it and why. What we end up with is an Urban Fantasy Romantic Action/Adventure Mystery with Dsytopian undertones. Or in other words, a book that just about anyone could find something they enjoy in. And right up my alley. I especially liked the humor and the originality of this book. I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads and hope the author is hard at work on book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Myrna was demoted at her job when her boyfriend stole important

    Myrna was demoted at her job when her boyfriend stole important work documents from her home and virtually disappeared from her life. She's now the assistant to a man who not only hates dragons but can't dragonspeak, which their job is to mediate problems between dragons and humans. So when her ex, Trian, walks into her place of work, she'd like nothing better than to throw him out on his butt. However, she soon finds herself in the middle of a dragon war and must rely on Trian to keep her alive.

    There wasn't a lot of romance in this story. In fact the majority of it is pretty much urban fantasy with a smidgen of romance at the end. So with that being said, I was a little disappointed that a paranormal romance didn't have much in the way of romance. However, the story itself was highly entertaining and I found myself enjoying it.

    There is a lot of fighting, a ton of dragon action taking place in the story and quite a bit of suspense. I liked that the author didn't play down the dragons. Instead they took front and center in the story. Their scaly hides were always present. She showed how they viewed humans as no more than slaves and she even wrote a particular disturbing scene with a terrified goat and his last minutes of life before being eaten by a dragon.

    One of the big shockers in the book did not come as a surprise to me. In fact, from the beginning I knew what it was, and was a little disappointed when it was revealed that everyone made such a big deal about it... and yet no one figured it out. I always hate when I know the big secret before I'm even fully immersed in the book.

    Regardless of my issues with the book, I did find it entertaining. I liked the suspense and fighting in the book. I like that the author didn't make dragons vegetarians or make them humanized in the eyes of the reader. They are predators and she wrote them as such. This is a good book for someone who is interested in reading an urban fantasy about dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I¿ve been on a shifter kick lately. Most of the books I¿ve read

    I’ve been on a shifter kick lately. Most of the books I’ve read have been about wolf shifters but when I saw a dragon shifter book, I decided I had to give it a chance. The book is written from the point-of-view of Myrna Banks, administrative assistant to a worthless boss at DRACIM – Dragon Relations, Arbitration and Cooperative Interspecies Mediation. Paper pusher? Sounds like it. But when a book opens with a line like “It’s amazing how often my day starts with a three-legged dragon and an enraged dairy farmer”, I’m pretty sure the character’s going to give us more than just a new file plan.




    From the first chapter, I loved Myrna. Snarky, smart, full of moxy – this was a leading lady after my own heart. I wanted to hop on over into her world, head to a bar and have a chocolate martini with her while complaining about workplace politics and the restrictiveness of the pencil skirt. And then along comes Trian.




    Oh Trian. I wanted to hate him. He’d stolen something important to Myrna and left her to clean up his mess, the weasel. And yet there was something about him that made my heart flutter every time his name was brought up. Strong, handsome, confident…everything that makes my heart swoon like a thirteen-year-old at a One Direction concert.Myrna and Trian are pulled into a dangerous negotiation with a nasty dragon lord, and they dragged all that baggage from their failed relationship along with them. The interaction between the two was a total rollercoaster – from attraction to anger to denial to surrender – they kept me scrolling through the pages just waiting to see what could possibly happen next. And what Lorenda did so well in this book was write both these main characters with wonderfully strong personalities. Neither was going to dominate the other, neither was going to go down without a fight, and that made for some seriously fantastic interaction.I’ve given Never Deal with Dragons four stars on Goodreads and will definitely be reading more from the series as they are published. Whether you are a dragon-lover, a shifter-lover or just someone looking for a book with some fabulous banter, Never Deal with Dragons should definitely be added to your to-be-read list immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Condemned to be the administrative assistant to a completely ine

    Condemned to be the administrative assistant to a completely inept boss after some confidential information was stolen from her by her ex-boyfriend, Trian, dragonspeaker Myrna Banks gets the opportunity of a lifetime when she's selected to serve as a mediator between rival Dragon Lord factions.  Of course, things get a bit complicated when it turns out she'll have to work with Trian, the man who betrayed her and nearly ruined her career.  It might also be her last opportunity if she can't escape assassination attempts, biological weapons, and the treachery of those she trusts the most.  

    This was a refreshing read.  I like reading paranormal romance, but today's market seems overrun with vampires, witches, werewolves, and zombies.  There are plenty of dragon books out there, too, but this one was something different.  The dragons here are the result of genetic engineering gone awry, and they are organized into political factions that rule the world.  There is a delicate balancing act between dragons and humans, with neither fully trusting the other.  Myrna was a great heroine, smart, brave, and funny, although sometimes slow on the uptake.  I totally had Trian and Richard both figured out long before Myrna did, but that was part of the fun.  The beginning of the novel depicting Myrna at work in the DRACIM office was hilarious.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 unicorns - I really liked it! **Receive

    My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 unicorns - I really liked it!
    **Received ARC ebook from Carina Press via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

    First, yes the cover is awesome and isn’t he just WOW and loving his tat :)

    Okay, I really liked this book and think it sets up this new world fabulously.  There were a few slow pieces, but I usually expect it in the first book in a series.  The author’s writing style makes it easy to love the characters.  She also has a twist on dragons that I have never read before in their creation which is cool.  I think Myrna rocks because she is this five foot nothing woman who stands up to dragons what is not to love.  She is kind & caring, but will not be pushed around, and I love her integrity.  Then there is her ex-boyfriend Trian who brings all sorts of tension to the story.  There are all sorts of secrets, plots, drama, attacks, and so much more.  There are some things that I could see coming in this book, but there were also some things that came to light that I was holding my breath saying NO it can’t be!!  I love when authors surprise even if I don’t like the surprise (sigh), but you have to read it because I refuse to ruin this journey for you.  I can’t wait for the next book to see what happens next, and I secretly hope that Myrna & Trian continue to be the main characters because I love them.

    I recommend this book to all my dragon lovers & paranormal fans because it was a great read, and you will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    In the first book of the Dragons Trilogy, the author has crossed

    In the first book of the Dragons Trilogy, the author has crossed a few genres creating a unique post apocalyptic world filled with science fiction, fantasy, paranormal and romance.
    Set sometime in Earth’s future, the author has put a refreshing twist to the post apocalyptic setting.  Dragons now lead the world and with only a few humans who can communicate with them, there is an uneasy truce between humans and dragons.  The dragonspeakers try to bridge the gap between the two and keep the peace.  The author has actually created this world leaving the reader with little to no confusion as to how this future came about.
    The main characters in this story are charming and believable.  The hero and heroine have a difficult past between them, causing lots of tension as they have to work together to try to save others.  While Trian tries to protect Mryna from enemies, they fight their attraction to one another, but the heat continues to rise.  As you follow the story and get to know the supporting characters the reader wants to get to know them as well.
    The story is filled with action and suspense with dragons battling each other and humans, keeping the reader thoroughly engaged in the outcome. Mryna tries to keep the peace between two clans, when she finds herself in the middle of a Dragon Lord’s fiendish plot that puts them all in danger.  And just when she thinks they just might make it through, an unseen betrayal lands them all in more hot water.
    The only blotch that I found on this otherwise great story was a few grammatical errors that made me stumble over the wording.  But it was not enough to stop me from reading or enjoying this story.
    Overall, I found this book to be intriguing and filled with just enough humor to make this a light, fun read that kept me entertained until the very end.  I will definitely be looking for the second installment of this trilogy and other works by this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Lorenda Christensen is a new to me author and one I will continue to follow. She wrote a storyline that flows and plots full of intrigues. The world building was concise, and not one time did I feel lost. I simply loved it from the beginning to end.

    Ms. Christensen’s dragon world is not your typical dragon story. They are not mythical, nor are they from ancient times. World War III has passed, and human technology has come to bite them in the ass.Due to epic fail of test tube research, Dragons now exist and rule the earth. Though they try to live with humans in a symbiotic relationship, well, they really still rule the land.

    Myrna Banks is one of the very few humans that can communicate with dragons. I like Myrna with her job as translator she has the skill to arbitrate issues between humans and dragons. Though the job can be bloody and dirty, she does it well and enjoys doing it. Well here’s where she grows some balls, not only she took a job to facilitate communication between two dragon lords, she agreed to work with her ex boyfriend on this assignment. And anyone knows that’s a mission one broken hearted gal should never have to endure. She will finally find out why this sexy of a man has left her to begin with.

    Myrna and Trian are sexy together. I love that they had chemistry they could not resist. Ms. Christensen did a great job with their romance and the steam factor in their relationship. The funny banters, humorous scenes and even the action scenes were impressive. I could not put this book down!

    I can’t wait for the second installment of this series called Dodging the Dragons. No release dates set at this time, but I’m hoping for sooner than later.

    *ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    I picked this book up for three reasons: Hot man with sexy d

    I picked this book up for three reasons:




    Hot man with sexy dragon tattoo
    Great blurb
    I heard that it had won the prestigious 2012 Golden Heart from RWA in the paranormal romance category.
    After reading it, I thoroughly get why it won the Golden Heart. The first fifty, or even one hundred pages were spectacular. The book as a whole was great! Unfortunately, there was a minor problem toward the end that knocked my appreciation of this book from 5 stars to 4.




    First, Dragons is set in a future Earth, after World War III and a genetic experiment that was supposed to be tossed but instead first bred dragons. The dragons have pretty much taken over, and a select few humans are able to speak the dragon language (Dragon-Speakers, of which Myrna is one). Her typical day is pretty much like the blurb says, dealing with puking dragons and disputes over improperly eaten sheep and cows. Not glamorous, but it pays the bills, right?




    She used to be in a better job, but thanks to Trian ended up getting a demotion. Well, he roars back into her life as DRACIM (the organization that helps coordinate human/dragon peace) tries to find out what the Chinese dragon Hing-puo is up to.




    There's definitely heat between Trian and Myrna from the first time they step onto the page, even as they've got definite issues between them. It grows as she tries to figure out if she can trust him again, and she learns the truth as to why he stole the paperwork he stole from her. The Chinese war-lord made for a great villain with a fascinating secret of his own.




    The world building is second to none. I felt the entire set-up as to how dragons came into existence was incredibly plausible (fantastical, but at least plausible, although of course I have my doubts as to whether anyone would survive World War III. Heh.




    My only gripe was how absolutely obvious one of the villains. I IDd him the second he revealed one minor detail about his background. His motives were very cliche. I can see why Myrna didn't figure it out immediately, but her gullibility later on when she's told something by this villain, without any semblance of corroboration from anyone, just left me with my jaw hanging open.




    There's a rich cast of secondary characters and I sincerely hope there will be more books set in this world. I know I'll snap them up to read as soon as I possibly can. This book totally, COMPLETELY deserved the Golden Heart.




    Thank you, Ms. Christensen, and thank you Carina Press, for offering me the chance to read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Improperly handled genetic experimentation brings about the dawn

    Improperly handled genetic experimentation brings about the dawn of a new, dominant race--dragons. As a rare dragonspeaker, Myrna's job is to mediate between dragons and humans. But when the man who betrayed her a year ago, leaving her with a demotion and a broken heart, turns up needing help on behalf of his dragon boss, Myrna takes a chance at a job opportunity of a lifetime. She only wishes she weren't still hopelessly attracted to Trian, especially since they'll be working closely together to avert a dragon on dragon war.

    This story has everything I look for in a romance--a strong heroine, an intriguing plot, stellar world building, and an Alpha hero who is nearly, but not quite, perfect. Myrna manages to hold her own against creatures several times her size in a believable way. The idea of dragons created by human error is a clever twist on folklore and the author's imagining of what would happen to our future world if fire-breathing beasts were unleashed is equally smart. But this world, heroine, and plot wouldn't be complete without a hot, mildly tormented Alpha hero and Ms. Christensen delivers. If there's anything in this story to complain about in his book, it's the swift love scene. But even that didn't detract from the overall story. This is a five-star for me, all the way.

    I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fresh and exciting! This shouldn't be missed. Myrna was a delig

    Fresh and exciting! This shouldn't be missed.

    Myrna was a delightful character. After the death of her parents, she was raised by foster parents who worked for an elderly dragon. She was well cared and provided for, and that's where her love and fascination for dragons grew. As an adult, Myrna was dedicated to her job and on a fast track to having a career, until her then boyfriend, Trian Chobarda, ruined those chances and broke her heart. When we meet her, she's deep in dragon vomit and trying to appease her clients. That opening scene alone on the first page conjured up the most hilarious image. I liked her for her wicked inner monologues, her level of comfort around dragon vomit and animal parts, and the fact that she flipped between bravery and cowardice in the blink of an eye. Trian Chobardan was as sweet as he was intense. He took his duties very seriously, even if it meant having to sacrifice his own happiness. He was pretty reserved for most of the story, except when he went into guardian mode. I could see why he got under her skin so easily and effortlessly. Even if Myrna didn't want to like him, I sure did!

    I didn't really buy into their chemistry, only because it took them half to three-quarters of the book to resolve their issues from the past. However, the sexual tension was ever present from the first moment since they were reunited, despite her best efforts to ignore it. Since the story is told from Myrna's POV, we only get her side of the situation until she decides to listen to him. But once they had settled their differences, I loved them as a couple. I just wish it hadn't taken them so long.

    The concept and execution of this story cemented it as a favorite for me. It was rich in humor, imagination, action, and sexual tension. The world building was creative and something I hadn't read before. I also felt that the author did a fantastic job in detailing the dragons - their appearances, their habits, the different living environments between the US and China, their gross eating habits (um, several cows, goats and pigs were harmed in the making of this story. You've been warned). The story moved at a good and believable pace, there were some surprises along the way. I thought the characters were well developed. Of course Myrna stole most of the show, but the author did manage to make a lot of the characters memorable, or rather, identifiable via their unique traits. The romance portion was sweet and sensual. The one love scene wasn't explicit, so I think this story will appeal to a broad spectrum of readers. I laughed, I bit my nails and I cried. Never Deal with Dragons was definitely engaging from the first to the last page.

    If you want a different take on a paranormal romance involving dragons and a lot of blood and gore, Lorenda Christensen is a fresh and exciting voice and shouldn't be missed.

    Disclaimer: I received an ARC from Carina Press via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A genetic mishap while trying to cure cancer creates dragons, mo

    A genetic mishap while trying to cure cancer creates dragons, moving the humans down on the evolutionary scale. Dragons are now the superior race on the planet. 

    Myrna Banks, a human able to dragon speak, works for an agency created to help mediate disputes between human and dragons. She should get hazard pay for this job. Dealing with the temperamental dragons can be hilarious or down right terrifying depending on the dragons mood. But nothing prepared Myrna for the reappearance of Trian Chobardan, her ex-boyfriend that stole sensitive documents and disappeared, causing Myrna to be demoted and left her heart broken. 

    Myrna wants Trian gone, but when the North American dragon lord wants Myrna's help, she is given Trian as a partner. You can't turn down the dragon lord so reluctantly Myran accepts. Trian wheedles away at Myrna's walls around her heart while they traverse a delicate negotiation with the Chinese dragon lord. 

    When Myrna wasn't dodging pregnant dragon vomit, she was fighting for her life. Trian is the perfect stoic hero, with a wonderful character twist. 

    Never Deal with Dragons was a fun, action packed and completely original story that made dragons truly come to life as the story marvelously blossoms. Don't miss this fabulously funny and enchanting new story! 

    I am thrilled to know there is more to come with Dodging the Dragon coming November 2013. I definitely wanted more of this story line.

    I received this ARC copy of Never Deal With Dragons from Carina Press in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication July 22, 2013.

    Written by: Lorenda Christensen
    Series: Dragon Trilogy
    Sequence in Series: 1 
    Print Length: 209 pages
    Publisher: Carina Press 
    Publication Date: July 22, 2013
    Rating: 4
    Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal
    Age Recommendation: Adult

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2