Customer Reviews for

Never Eat Alone: And Other Secrets to Success, One Relationship at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read for marketing/business professionals. Techies, stay away from this book

This is a must read for people in the IT / High-tech / Marketing and sales business. The reason for my headline is because of the review from Stan. I can completely see where Stan is coming from and I agree with his assessment. For a technical person (a non-suit lets sa...
This is a must read for people in the IT / High-tech / Marketing and sales business. The reason for my headline is because of the review from Stan. I can completely see where Stan is coming from and I agree with his assessment. For a technical person (a non-suit lets say) this book is border-lining on blasphemy. Let's just say Ayn Rand will be turning in her grave if someone had read her this book. But, lets snap back into reality. You can protest anything and everything that you consider as immoral in your mind. For someone else, they might genuinely like making connections to move ahead in business and life. Sift through what you don't agree with and look at rest of the content. I can promise you that you cannot put this book down once you start reading it. You gotta respect a guy who came from humble beginnings, got into Yale and is featured in who's who under 40. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Poor writing & simplistic

I don't understand why this book is so popular. I got very little out of it. The topic can be boiled down to what sociologists call social capital, nothing new there. The author rambles and does a lot of name dropping (which means nothing to the average person). He i...
I don't understand why this book is so popular. I got very little out of it. The topic can be boiled down to what sociologists call social capital, nothing new there. The author rambles and does a lot of name dropping (which means nothing to the average person). He is a very poor writer. Skip this one and read a good book on networking.

posted by Humminbird on October 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    EVERYONE can benefit from this read!

    I was skeptical at first -- as a 'recovering engineer' I had always thought of 'networking' as something phony, something for slick sales-types. Then I saw this Keith Ferrazzi speak at a conf in New York -- WOW, he conveyed the importance of relationships to ANYONE -- business relationships get more personal, and personal relationships can generate business. I had to buy the book when it was released, and it did not disappoint. 31 chapters, each well contained, made for a perfect transcontinental in-flight read. There's even a chapter addressing my previous stereotype of networkers, called, 'The Networking J&rk.' Ferrazzi's advice is rock solid, ready to implement. Read it, then change the way you approach life and business. See if Ferrazzi's speaking anywhere nearby -- he's ultra-dynamic and will pump you up to follow the book's advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Life-changing

    I just got this book and finished it in three days. A fascinating guide to building and maintaining relationships, whether you're an executive or a stay-at-home mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    all I can say 'AMAZING'

    I'm 27 years old and i felt the shadow of mistery in the field of 'networking' lifted as i read through this book. Keith is a young humble god sent with a message that shows the lifestyle that separates the rich from the poor. Reading this book is like spending a day with someone that has the keys to the univers and is happy to make you a copy. Who ever reads this book is lucky. I'm a little nervous if too many people read this book everyone will be able to do anything, but that's a good thing and the book talks about hording helpful information. Thanks for reading my review and have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    GREAT business read!

    As a recent graduate from a top 10 MBA program, I am in constant search of great business books that will expand or enrich the knowledge gained during my professional and academic career. This is it! This book is both inspiring and provides an exhaustive list (along with tactics) of ways to develop and nourish relationships, both professional and personal. Many people may be put off by a book about 'networking' and its negative connotations. This book is NOT about how to climb both business and social ladders via the development of self-serving relationships and 'connections'. This book IS about the development of MUTUALLY beneficial relationships and the role they play in career and personal success. I highly recommend this book to anyone, whether you are a sales rep looking to increase sales or a recent college or MBA grad who seeks a more successful and fulfilling career. Even if you are only able to incorporate 1 or 2 of the techniques discussed in this book, you will see clear improvement in both existing and future relationships. One final note. When I first started reading this book, I knew that it would provide useful tips on how to develop better relationships which would help me professionally. What I didn't know was that the book would also provide tips to help building and nurturing personal relationships as well. The concept of 'not keeping score' is something that has helped me personally in my relationship with my girlfriend and others who are close to me. Not worrying about keeping a running score of who has done more for the other alleviates resentment and animosity and allows you to help people you care about out of the goodness of your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    Really enjoyed the book

    This book is definitely in the top 5 business books I have ever read. The author, Keith Ferrazzi, has a very impressive track record. He was the youngest partner at Deloitte Consulting and the former Chief Marketing Officer at Starwood Hotels. Keith writes a simple but at the same time extremely effective philosophy: take the time to build relationships with people and you will succeed. His message is delivered through great stories that you can easily relate to and you find yourself immediately making plans to start reaching out to more people. The book¿s message is also broad enough that it can be applicable to any profession (entertainment, financial, real estate, etc..) and unlike most books, it does not require you to completely shift your personality in order to start. Once I finished reading the book, I heeded his advice and adapted the material to my personality and my work life has been much better. I give it two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2005

    Praise from a non-business person

    I am someone who has NO ties to the business community whatsoever-in fact, I am a physician who works with kids. However, I was intrigued by the title of this book and decided to buy it. What a great investment. I learned alot about connecting with my colleagues and especially optimizing relationships in my personal life, This book is a nice change from all the other pre-scripted books out there. This is bound for the bestseller list. Kudos to Keith Ferrazzi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    Never Eat Alone: And Other Secrets to Success, One Relationship at a Time

    This book is fantastic. I have read it several times and each time I do I become a bit more dilligent at putting into practice the suggestions from the book. Keith speaks with such a personal and impactful style. He speaks about a way of life; an approach that helps other people and yourself to become successful and more meaningful. I realize that with effort this will aid you at achieving the most from all aspects of business and life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Breakthrough work and easy to read

    Ferrazzi changed my entire view of networking or relationship building, flipping it on its side with the idea that it is okay to receive from others and even ask when you need help. In his words, 'Nobody gets there alone' and its so true. If you believe that then the rest of the book gives you practical ways to be smart about how you spend your time and with whom. Highly recommend this book for anyone who needs to improve their relationship skills to acheive personal or work goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    Good for Anyone

    This is a book that is valuable for anyone - not just businesspersons. Lot's of good and easy to implement advice. The key is, networking works, but not all networking is the same. The advice in this book will pay dividends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    This book will be a classic

    This book astounded me with its insights. Mr. Ferrazzi has approached life like a puzzle and figured it out. His tips apply to every facet of life, not just business. Many passages gave me 'ah ha!' moments because they so well crystallized something I half-intuited but never really grasped or understood how to apply. It's clear from his accomplishments that Mr. Ferrazzi didn't need to write this book for financial or career success. It's equally clear that he has a passion for sharing the things he has learned. That he took the time to write this book and share his formidable insights with the world is perhaps the best example of his philosophy of succeeding together. He's giving you the road map to success. It's definitely worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    A Must Read

    Building and maintaining your network is vital to both your personal and professional success. Because helping others achieve their goals is the surest way to succeed in your own ambitions. 'Never Eat Alone' is a fantastic guide for the seasoned networker and the aspirational networker alike. Read it once - then read it again to make sure you catch all the genuine nuggets that Keith shares. I can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    Never Eat Alone: And Other Secrets to Success, One Relationship at a Time

    Just received the book that I ordered. Beautiful. After thumbing through and reading many long stretches I have to say I think you have a hit on your hands. It's just excellent. So insightful. It is so like you to figure out the big picture and then pause long enough to share the insight with the rest of the world. That's the difference between you and other mavens. They use their skills and insights solely to further their own interests. You share. This book is the perfect exemplar of your philosophy - help others and succeed together. Reading it makes me treasure you anew. Thanks for writing it. You are a gem. Truly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4