Customer Reviews for

Never Eat Alone: And Other Secrets to Success, One Relationship at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

As a aspiring Business major I took a certain interest to this book. I thought of it as a rough guideline for future success! I highly reccommend this to both Business majors or to the person that has doubts about his/her plans in their personal life. Very insightful, c...
As a aspiring Business major I took a certain interest to this book. I thought of it as a rough guideline for future success! I highly reccommend this to both Business majors or to the person that has doubts about his/her plans in their personal life. Very insightful, chalk full of honesty and tid its for success!

posted by blm51389 on December 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Poor writing & simplistic

I don't understand why this book is so popular. I got very little out of it. The topic can be boiled down to what sociologists call social capital, nothing new there. The author rambles and does a lot of name dropping (which means nothing to the average person). He i...
I don't understand why this book is so popular. I got very little out of it. The topic can be boiled down to what sociologists call social capital, nothing new there. The author rambles and does a lot of name dropping (which means nothing to the average person). He is a very poor writer. Skip this one and read a good book on networking.

posted by Humminbird on October 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Gets you to start to see relationships as a tool -- pretty different but Good reading

    The book really was a little slow at the beginning but it ramped up after that. I think Keith looks at relationships in a strategic way, but in the end it teaches you that to get something you have to give something.

    In business today there seems to be always a hook or someone asking for a side deal to move business forward, which seems what his book kinda concludes.

    Good book overall, good reading to make you think.... read if you are in need to grow your business based on meeting alot of people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Amazing!

    As a aspiring Business major I took a certain interest to this book. I thought of it as a rough guideline for future success! I highly reccommend this to both Business majors or to the person that has doubts about his/her plans in their personal life. Very insightful, chalk full of honesty and tid its for success!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    Poor writing & simplistic

    I don't understand why this book is so popular. I got very little out of it. The topic can be boiled down to what sociologists call social capital, nothing new there. The author rambles and does a lot of name dropping (which means nothing to the average person). He is a very poor writer. Skip this one and read a good book on networking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    Ferrazzi shameless self-promotion

    As Ferrazzi admits several times in his book, he is a "shameless self-promoter". And sadly that is all this book is about. The examples Ferrazzi provides in chapters such as "Be Interesting" are all anecdotes from the life of another young MBA. There is extremely little research or support for the recommendations. But that is OK because there are no recommendations that you haven't already thought of doing. Perhaps the only thing you didn't already do was 'Throw FABULOUS dinner parties, like mine!'. And now that you know that, you can save your time and read something useful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    Good read for marketing/business professionals. Techies, stay away from this book

    This is a must read for people in the IT / High-tech / Marketing and sales business. The reason for my headline is because of the review from Stan. I can completely see where Stan is coming from and I agree with his assessment. For a technical person (a non-suit lets say) this book is border-lining on blasphemy. Let's just say Ayn Rand will be turning in her grave if someone had read her this book. But, lets snap back into reality. You can protest anything and everything that you consider as immoral in your mind. For someone else, they might genuinely like making connections to move ahead in business and life. Sift through what you don't agree with and look at rest of the content. I can promise you that you cannot put this book down once you start reading it. You gotta respect a guy who came from humble beginnings, got into Yale and is featured in who's who under 40. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Mastr to claire

    Moves u to reult eight.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Another Installment to the Schmoozer's Bible

    In this publication Keith Ferrazzi decided to add to the growing body of 'the Schmoozer's Bible'. Ferrazzi outright rejects the terms which normally describes the type of behavior he champions. These terms are 'schmoozer', 'apple-polisher', 'sycophant', etc. Instead, Ferrazzi is more comfortable referring to himself -- and others of his ilk -- as 'connector'. This, unfortunately, does not change the nature of what he does and, most important, how he does it. The book teaches that, if put in a nutshell, all moral scruples are suppressed, there will be nothing standing between him/her and his/her goal. Ferrazzi claims that he has perfected the art of 'connecting to people', whereas the truth is that what he has really perfected is the art of manipulation and pretense. There are hysterical parts of this book where Ferrazzi encourages the reader to 'develop' certain interests, focusing in on the most popular interests of the rich of this world, such as, for example, golf, which Ferrazzi himself does not particularly enjoy but is afraid to speak strongly against it in the same measure as he is afraid of speaking strongly against anyone or anything, hedging his bets and thinking that he might have to ask this person for a favor some time in the future which is why irating him/her in this publication would be imprudent. Perhaps the most laughable statement made by Ferrazzi is the one he makes towards the very end of this book where he talks about how his strategy of 'connecting to people' can change the world. Keith is either delusional or just can't snap out of the overall pretense of this book, but the way he does things achieves the exact opposite -- it creates a nation of adaptable and spineless people who even arrange their tastes in music to the liking of those they 'want to meet'. Ferrazzi, according to his own admission, has grown into the lifestyle his schmoozer philosophy affords and, apparently, has done very well for himself applying it. I, personally, wouldn't want someone like him as a friend and I wouldn't want his type around in professional settings either. It is not all bad, though. There are certain parts of the book that -- although do not contain new information and a new way of presentation of old information -- are instructive as they remind us of certain aspects of social etiquette. Thank-you letters is one such aspect. Remembering people's birthdays is another. These are very simple and widely known forms of social etiquette which sometimes, unfortunately, escape people's attention. There are a few other things that can be picked up on the way. Considering the cost of time that takes to read this book and the benefit one can attain, I recommend you get it on audio and listen to it in your car where there is little else to do. Do not treat this book as a revelation, though. There is no hidden message and Ferrazzi does not know much more about 'connectivity' than most of you unless of course you accept his version of 'persistence'. The greatness value of this book, though, is how entertaining it is and how fun it is to watch Ferrazzi 'connect to people' in what most would consider as humiliating ways.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Quality Material

    This book came uploaded as an eBook file when I purchased my PDA. What is in this book is common sense for the most part. What makes it so great at least in my perspective is that it is the basics of building strong relationships. There are countless other books that cover the same subject but have more complicated explainations and unneccessary methods. Books that confuse the reader rather than lay out information so that it can be easily understood and applied. This is a great book for professionals or anyone looking to improve themselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    not from a friend of the author...

    This is barely worth the read. Maybe a couple of good hints, maybe. But realistically, one can not but help think while reading this book is there anyone on earth more full of himself than Mr. Ferrazzi? Every action in the life of the author is predicated upon an ulterior motive. No wonder there is such mistrust and disrespect for sales people and honest businessmen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    In ┬┐Never Eat Alone,┬┐ Ferrazi sets out to explain how building a

    In “Never Eat Alone,” Ferrazi sets out to explain how building and maintaining relationships leads to success. Ferrazi’s intended audience ranges from a person trying to become president of the local PTA group to the CEO of a fortune 500 company. Ferrazi’s steps to success are adaptable to any goal.
    Keith Ferrazi is the founder and CEO of Ferrazi Green Light Corporation, a research institution and consulting firm. Ferrazi has climbed his way to the top of the business world. One of the biggest reasons why, besides his passion and motivation, is his remarkable skill to connect with others. The son of a steel worker and a cleaning lady, Ferrazi was granted a top of the line education from the generosity of his father’s boss. After receiving a scholarship to Yale and a Harvard MBA, he went on to take over several different executive positions. 
    Ferrazi, throughout the entire book, emphasizes how important generosity is. The main difference between people just networking and people building genuine relationships is generosity. Ferrazi distinguishes the differences between “a networking jerk” and a good networker. He explains that a networking jerk is “a schmooze artist, eyes darting at every event in a constant search for a bigger fish to fry” (page 56). 
    Over the course of this book, he describes his system of reaching out to people in practical principles. These practical principles have helped him develop a growing network of over 5,000 relationships. One of the most important ways to network is maintaining a relationship. Ferrazi calls the act “pinging.” His term means to keep in touch in creative ways. He writes that, “you have to feed the fire of your network or it will wither or die.” Reaching out to those who are in your circle should happen all the time, not just when you are in need of a favor. 
    Another main point that he focuses on is not keeping score. Ferrazi strongly believes in the mindset of not thinking about what people can do for you, but what you can do for others. Real networking is not greed, but generosity. Ferrazi gives a promising point that people can climb to the top by asking others “how can I help you?” This theory is strongly supported by the fact that he has been named one of Crain’s 40 under 40 and was selected as a global leader for tomorrow by the Davos World Economic. Also throughout the book, profiles of famous people that have made the “connectors hall of fame” exemplify some of the strategies that successful individuals have. These profiles range from Eleanor Roosevelt to the Dalai Lama. Ferrazi is extensive in supporting his own strategies through others’ success stories. 
    Ferrazi’s outlook on networking and business culture is refreshing. All of the networking tips he gives are acts of kindness that should be applied to all forms of interaction in every setting. The keys of success Ferrazi gives will not only help in the workplace but will be beneficial in life. The mindset of Keith Ferrazi is one that will change your view on networking but more importantly, will change your opinion on success.  Every reader can become “a member of the club” after reading “Never Eat Alone.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Odd advice that doesn't work in all fields or for all people

    The author works in a context where his advice would work, but it won't work in all fields. He's a marketing whiz, but in the book he does not mention important parts of his identity that differ from that of most of the rest of us, and so his advice is kind of out there for the rest of us who don't share that identity.

    Interview people while working out? Throw lavish dinner parties yourself? Sing Happy Birthday to people by phone? Those tips may work for someone with his identity and profession, but they wouldn't work in mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Great book full of great tips & techniques...

    ...for effective relationship building. Definitely a must-read and a keeper for your bookshelf.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    A refreshing, focused perspective on networking

    This book fully revs you up to make powerful, positive connections on purpuse. I literally couldn't put the book down. As a marketing consultant, I always recommend this book to my clients as we develop a 'customized' networking plan for them. It's a refreshing look at making connections and helping others in the process. It's more than showing up in a room with business cards...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    Outstanding Insight

    This book is a must have for htose within the client relationship business. The minute I began reading this book I started to implement the techniques mention and they really work. Out of my 25 years experience in the professional accounting field I have not found a better book that has allowed me to increase the true relationships that I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Found this book while browsing the bookstore, and wow! What an amazing find.

    I saw this book hidden among the other books in the business section. The title spoke to me, so I picked it up--along with a few others--and sat down in a chair to peruse them. It wasn't long before Never Eat Alone had me flipping the pages in amazement. This book speaks volumes to everyone who knows what it takes to accomplish lofty goals in life: other people. Without other people, you'll be constantly trapped inside your own limitations. The most beautiful thing I've discovered--and Keith obviously has as well--is that networking done right is a beautiful thing. It's beautiful because you accomplish the most by helping *others*, not by trying to use others or by hoarding your resources. By helping others, you make the sort of connections which will help you in return. You don't even have to try. Never Eat Alone is packed full of concepts like this well explained, fully supported, and easy to read. If you have lofty goals in life, whatever they may be, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Masterful Networking Tactics

    Author Keith Ferrazzi is a master networker who claims that his Palm Pilot holds the names of 5,000 people who will take his phone calls. That¿s a powerful claim. Starting as a self-made man of humble origins, Ferrazzi developed his social network by helping people and by developing and mastering the techniques for networking. Here, he shares his methods. His light, engaging and entertaining story will motivate those who want to enhance their social and business friendships. The author advocates generosity as the key to success. That¿s a radical business concept, but he claims it works. It¿s certainly worth a try. We recommend this book to people who want to be more social, make friends and expand their business connections. It should also prove invaluable for those who are sick of sitting at home on Saturday nights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    A Read a Lot . . . and This is a Great Book!

    I've been a successful tax consulting professional for a long time, and this is one book that provides unique, yet practical ways of improving your networking and marketing impact. Further, the stories and writing style were entertaining. I plan on purchasing many copies of this book as gifts for my daughters, their boyfriends and other young people that I'd love to see excel in life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Great Concept w/ Great Information!

    Finally here's a book that does more than just tell us it's important to network. Keith does networking wonderfully without looking too obnoxious while doing it. This book is a must read for everyone, whatever point you are at in your career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Be Genuine, Be Generous

    Ferrazzi breaks down the old boys network and replaces it with a winning strategy to gain a relationship-driven life. Clear, concise and genuine, Ferrazzi and Tahl provide both method and means to build a quality network of true friends. Never Eat Alone, is a must read for those seeking a quality personal and professional life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Career advice with impact

    Great read. On top of the interesting anecdotes that tie it all together, this is one of those books that is just loaded with practical advice to advance yourself personally and professionally. I sometimes doubt the effectiveness of business best practices, 'how to' or self-help type books, but I can tell you the networking tactics and truths revealed in this book have already helped me in significant ways in my own career. A must read for every working professional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4