BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Never Fall Down

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I agree with all the other reviewers- this book was simply amazi

I agree with all the other reviewers- this book was simply amazing! I could not put it down at all. I thought this book would be just another boring survival story, but the author writes fabulously, and the character's story is inspiring. Before I read this book, the on...
I agree with all the other reviewers- this book was simply amazing! I could not put it down at all. I thought this book would be just another boring survival story, but the author writes fabulously, and the character's story is inspiring. Before I read this book, the only evacuations of certain races/ethnic groups/social classes I knew of was of the Cherokee Indians, the Jews, and the Gypsies. I had no clue what the Khmer Rouge was, but I found them to be even more terrifying than the Nazi. In this book, a young boy named Arn's life was forever changed when his family was evacuated from their home in Cambodia due to the Khmer Rouge, a Communist party that attempted to enforce social equality by getting rid of everyone's belongings and killing upper-class people. Other things the Khmer Rouge did was kill people, even babies, with axes, kill their own members, rape the women of the community, and basically kill anyone for anything. Arn himself lost his mother, two of his sisters, and his baby brother. He was raped, threatened, forced to bury dead bodies of campers, to abandon his dying little sister, and to join the Khmer Rouge army, where he witnessed a woman cut in half, a girl having her leg blown off by a bomb, and much more. As time went on, Arn changed from a innocent young boy into a confused, heartless monster. He accepted his sister's death, broke out in violent fights, killed people, and killed monkeys. There was definitely a loss of innocence. Two things that affected me about this book was 1: it was a true story about someone named Arn Chorn-Pond, and two, that this was allowed to happen. Usually the U.S. finds a way to get involved in this kind of stuff (Holocaust, Vietnam War, Berlin Wall, etc). I'm wondering if it was because were unaware, didn't know how to find these prisoner camps, or just didn't care.

posted by Mattie604 on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Okay

Weve got some sensitives in the room...

posted by Anonymous on August 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I agree with all the other reviewers- this book was simply amazi

    I agree with all the other reviewers- this book was simply amazing! I could not put it down at all. I thought this book would be just another boring survival story, but the author writes fabulously, and the character's story is inspiring. Before I read this book, the only evacuations of certain races/ethnic groups/social classes I knew of was of the Cherokee Indians, the Jews, and the Gypsies. I had no clue what the Khmer Rouge was, but I found them to be even more terrifying than the Nazi. In this book, a young boy named Arn's life was forever changed when his family was evacuated from their home in Cambodia due to the Khmer Rouge, a Communist party that attempted to enforce social equality by getting rid of everyone's belongings and killing upper-class people. Other things the Khmer Rouge did was kill people, even babies, with axes, kill their own members, rape the women of the community, and basically kill anyone for anything. Arn himself lost his mother, two of his sisters, and his baby brother. He was raped, threatened, forced to bury dead bodies of campers, to abandon his dying little sister, and to join the Khmer Rouge army, where he witnessed a woman cut in half, a girl having her leg blown off by a bomb, and much more. As time went on, Arn changed from a innocent young boy into a confused, heartless monster. He accepted his sister's death, broke out in violent fights, killed people, and killed monkeys. There was definitely a loss of innocence. Two things that affected me about this book was 1: it was a true story about someone named Arn Chorn-Pond, and two, that this was allowed to happen. Usually the U.S. finds a way to get involved in this kind of stuff (Holocaust, Vietnam War, Berlin Wall, etc). I'm wondering if it was because were unaware, didn't know how to find these prisoner camps, or just didn't care.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Moving

    This is a beautiful story. Very sad, very raw, and very important.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    This book is by far the best book I have ever read. I could not

    This book is by far the best book I have ever read. I could not put it down. I won't spoil the story for you, but I would recommend this to anyone- teenagers, pre teens, adults, everyone- in a heartbeat! You will not be disappointed by this inspirational recap about the life of Arn Chorn-Pond. Please read this book. Everyone.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    It will broaden your perspective.

    Through the eyes and memories of an older child/adolescent, we gain a view of daily life in Cambodia decades ago and grippingly, into the unfolding drama of that life taken over by the Khmer Rouge. The author hypes nothing. Rather, retaining an immigrant's pattern of broken, spoken English which adds a sense a validity throughout, she allows the character to walk us through the drama. We encounter each situation, each decision with Arn, without the benefit of anything more than he would have known. Progressing from childhood to young adulthood is always complicated, but navigating that passage within in this tumult grabs both the heart and imagination. Most surprising to this reviewer were his encounters with western culture. I teach many newly-immigrated adolescents. All of them came to my mind as I pondered how difficult the transition may have been for them. I have not stopped recommending this book since I purchased it a few months ago.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Amazing Book!

    I just finished this book yesterday and it was incredible. Not only did it teach me about something I have never heard of before, it also made me appreciate the life I have been given. It is such a well told story and you feel like you know the characters.

    She is such an amazing author and this young man tells an incredibly moving story. All together it is an amazing and powerful book that will change your outlook on life.

    Easily 5 Stars.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    I remember

    When the genocide was in the news and I wondered why we went to war in Vietnam but did not stop the Kmer rouge. I still have no answer and no answer as to why but my faith in the ability of ordinary humans to love and even triumph in the face of such astounding adversity has been restored. Written with the voice of Arn this book whispers to your heart. At the end you will understand what it means to have a tiger growling in your chest. I challenge you to read this.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    This book has to be the best book I've read! I love how Patricia

    This book has to be the best book I've read! I love how Patricia McCormick wrote the story how the main character would actually talk. This book was VERY descriptive, leaving it possible to picture everything that this little boy goes through. Never Fall Down definitely shows how cruel people can be and some parts were even hard to read, but it all falls together in the end.
    -Destiny

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Awesome book

    Love this book!!!!!!!!!!! I nevr thought i would like this genra until i gave it a chance great book i recomend to anyone

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Excellent

    A disturbing yet important account of life in Cambodia

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    "Never Fall Down" is a book that is exceptionally writ

    "Never Fall Down" is a book that is exceptionally written in
    the young, melodious voice of Arn Chorn-Pond as he relates growing up
    under and surviving the rule of the Khmer Rouge. In parts, the horrors
    he had to endure make the story impossible to read yet even more
    impossible to stop reading. This is a tale that must be told, must be
    heard. It is a beautiful story of self-redemption and hope.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Heartbreaking, but an amazing read

    Unforgettable

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Luvvvvv

    Luv this book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Wow

    Poignant and based on a true story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Liked

    Walk a mile in someone elses shoes.... would you even make it a whole mile?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Yes, you should read this

    139 pages of a child surviving the Cambodian "Killing Fields". I couldn't put this down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    An incredible read!

    Hard to put down once I started reading it. What an incredibly triumphant story of a once-innocent child caught in the confusing and ever-changing web of war and what he did to survive. Heartbreaking, horrific and inspiring only scratch the surface when describing this journey. One can't help but do some serious soul-searching about what in life truly matters after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Nucleat wsr rp PLZ JOIN

    Nuclear war all results res 1 is bios res 3 is in charge of dupplies. Res 4 is search and rescue group. Res5 is our camp gaurds and our medical people res6 is our camp and clinic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    TO ALL WARRIORS FANS

    Join glassclan at glass crystal all results we need you please be active

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Excellent book

    Excellent book

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2