Customer Reviews for

Never Give Up ( A Children's Picture Book)

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Nice book

My children and I loved this book. I think children learn from this book that it is OK to make mistakes, but to keep trying. The illustrations are great. I would recommend this book to other parents.

posted by 11182617 on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the money

A few pages rhymed but it wasn't consistent throughout the book. It threw off the flow of the story (which wasn't much of a story either.

posted by Tanyamaldo119 on July 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Nice book

    My children and I loved this book. I think children learn from this book that it is OK to make mistakes, but to keep trying. The illustrations are great. I would recommend this book to other parents.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Cute funny book.

    Nice illustrations and a funny character.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    My daughter enjoyed this book. Very cute!

    My daughter enjoyed this book. Very cute!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Not worth the money

    A few pages rhymed but it wasn't consistent throughout the book. It threw off the flow of the story (which wasn't much of a story either.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Great Book

    It's fun to read with the kids. - My daughters are enjoying it. Rafa

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Lost in translation

    The illustrations are nice but that is the only nice thing about this book. The writing is very odd and at some points, doesn't even make much sense. It seems as if it might have been written in another language and then "translated" to english, even though it notes that the author is in the United States. I'm just glad it was only 99¿. You really do get what you pay for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Horrible - Save your $0.99

    I never write reviews but the complete hackiness of this book compelled me to say something. As other reviewers note, the attempted rhymes aren't really rhymes. The poor grammar and vocabulary are comparable to that of a scam email from a Nigerian barrister informing me of an inheritance from distant relative. I lost $0.99 in this scam.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Waste of money

    I bought this for my 5 1/2 year old. I should have read all the reviews first. I agree about it not rhyming at all. It doesnt have a nice flow and I am very dissapointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    !!**"Adorable"**!!

    What a sweet adorable book my children absolutly love it theyed ask me all the time to read this book they seem to never get tired of hearing the same story read over and over again but this book is perfect to read with younger children because it teaches a simple lesson of not giving up its also a perfect book because it gives a nice story of a little dog named hic-up i dont want to be a story spoiler to those who hadnt read the book yet . "Good luck readers" to of all who have read my post and"good luck" to of those who simply like to read .
    Well as i said before "good luck" to all who need simply needit.
    Thanks to the author and thanks to the millions of people who support the young ones education . Simply Victoria the one whos absolutly fabulous

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    bizarre and vey poorly written

    This book is a total waste of time and nook memory. It vaguely resembles some form of poetry, but the lines that are intended to rhyme don't rhyme at all, which might be forgiveable if they were at least clever or insightful, but none in this book are. It is just terribly awkward and boring. I get the feeling the author does not have even a basic grasp of the English language. Major fail. Kids deserve better than this.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Chylee

    If you don't have anything nice to say dont say anything at all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Brian parris

    Bmw bike.four years old.100%love this bike

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Funny

    Good nook

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Very good

    I think you are all wrong about it shere I think it is for a child but so what a child lerans a good lesson about never giving up and that's s life long lesson and gues what I'm only 8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Too small, doesn't read it for your child

    The pages are less than a quarter of the screen. It akso doesn't give you the option to record you reading the story for your child and it doesn't read it for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Iuytgjrgghhn

    Fnhhftvfhn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Don't bother

    This books sucks... My seven year old looked at me crazy after reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Not worth 99 cents

    I suspect this was rushed to make a quick buck. Like a bad school project. Don't waste your buck. Save it for a candy bar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    What are we teaching here?

    Besides the self belittling & demeaning language, the pictures leave images in my young grand-daughters head that should NOT be there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Book

    I dont think that this book is dumb or lame iit i awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2