BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Never Go Back (with bonus novella High Heat): A Jack Reacher Novel

Average Rating 4
( 525 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(271)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Good suspense!

Enjoyed this without putting it down; and that's a first for me.

posted by Veuve_Cliquot on June 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

I miss reading Jack Reacher books - unfortunately I can't do it.

I miss reading Jack Reacher books - unfortunately I can't do it....every time I think of Jack Reacher I picture Tom Cruise - haven't been able to make myself open one since :(

posted by DblGee on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 525 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I miss reading Jack Reacher books - unfortunately I can't do it.

    I miss reading Jack Reacher books - unfortunately I can't do it....every time I think of Jack Reacher I picture Tom Cruise - haven't been able to make myself open one since :(

    28 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    This was an absolute huge disappointment. Wasted money, wasted

    This was an absolute huge disappointment. Wasted money, wasted anticipation. The scenarios were ridiculous and the reasons for things and circumstances were preposterous. I find it hard to believe that the person who wrote this book is the same person who wrote all of the other Reacher's. Where were Child's editors? Where are Child's people who are supposed to read these books for mistakes and meaning and overall cohesiveness? Phrases repeated? I can't tell you how many times I wanted to quit because the story line was so convoluted but I couldn't see throwing away the money and I kept holding out hope that it would get better. If you are a long-time, read-all-of-them, dedicated fan, it is obvious how the genius of detail and keen wit are just nonexistent. If I seem angry, I am. I have time and a small fortune invested in this series. Something is definitely wrong. Ever since there was no explanation of how Reacher got out of the bunker (because it wasn't possible after all the denominators Child included), there have been times in books where specific actions have been created and then just ignored - no solution ever mentioned. What an insult to your readers' intelligence (not to mention their pocketbooks). Add all that in, and combine it with the total betrayal of the Tom Cruise debaucle and I'm out - no way I would spend another second or dollar on this brand.

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Good suspense!

    Enjoyed this without putting it down; and that's a first for me.

    24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    As good as it gets,

    Just read the first 51 pages - Jack Reacher at his best. CAN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN. It only gets better.

    But Tom Cruise in the movie - come on Mr Child.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    M

    Good book, but i agree with other posters. Cant bn do something to these blamed kids that play on the review sites? This is not a chat room. Please bn. Ban them, fine them but get them off the nook with their games.

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Always a top-notch read. Fast moving storytelling. You cannot pu

    Always a top-notch read. Fast moving storytelling. You cannot put it down once you start, so clear your calendar. P.S., Tom Cruise is NOT Jack Reacher!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    Jack Reacher is still the best. I cant wait for the next one. Cruise is not and cannot be jack reacher. Cruise did not change Lee Child's Jack Reacher. This book is a good read.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Another outstanding entry

    After I saw the movie, I had to know what all the fuss was about so I read The Killing Floor. Seventeen books later, I still enjoy the straightforward style, the constant surprises, and the continued development of Reacher as an anti hero. This is my favorite in the series so far and a great read. I only wish the next would be available soon!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don┬┐t read many spy/military thrillers, but I do pull one out

    I don’t read many spy/military thrillers, but I do pull one out on occasion. This was my first Jack Reacher novel, though I doubt it will be my last. Easily comparable to the Bourne books, it was a fast-paced read that kept me engaged the entire time. Written mostly in the first person, Jack had a definite style of thought, and therefore a particular style of narrative. It was a little choppy at first, but I adapted quickly and it seemed to fit with his character. The story itself was a wild ride from start to finish. Not only was he having to prove his own innocence throughout the story, he must help prove Major Turner’s as well; all while there are three different groups trying to catch him or kill him in the process.

    The two main characters are like two peas in a pod. Though I can’t personally relate to their histories or career, they are characters that you come to care about and hope things work out for. Both are no-nonsense, to the point, and extremely detail oriented. All traits necessary for military excellence and movement up the ranks to being CO of the 110th. Their chemistry left a little to be desired, but this wasn’t a romance, and obviously caters more to its predominantly male audience, as it should. Overall, a good plot, good characters, and good storytelling. Though I don’t plan to go read every Reacher novel ever written, I won’t hesitate to pick up another one at some point.

    Rating: 4

    HEAT Rating: Hot (Language and Violence)

    Reviewed By: Daysie W.

    Review Courtesy of: My Book Addiction and More

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Lee Child continues to impress with Jack Reacher's latest journey in Never Go Back.

    I forget the first Reacher book I ever read, but I instantly was intrigued by the character and plot. I went back and read the first book and worked my way through every Reacher book chronologically. I remember reading each book eagerly and enjoying every page and chapter, looking forward to the conclusion, yet wishing it wasn't over. At least I could look forward to Reacher's next journey. When I eventually completed The Wanted Man, I couldn't wait for Never Go Back to come out to see what would happen if Reacher would be able to put a face to a voice from his recent past. This story was foreshadowed in those earlier escapades and doesn't dissapoint. Unexpected situations arise, as usual, and Reacher again finds himself putting his trust in the right people and dealing with the untrustworthy in his own direct way. I again find myself with mixed feelings; satiated that I have come to the conclusion of another Reacher adventure, melancholy as I have no more pages to turn, and spirited to know that Lee Child has a couple more challenges ahead for Mr. Jack Reacher. I have not seen the Tom Cruise version of Jack Reacher. I don't want to spoil the exquisite notion I have in my head of one of my favorite characters in this world of book to movie. I have always found the film version falls short of the imagery capable of one's mind.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    The chance that you'll like this one? 50/50 Mr. Child is runni

    The chance that you'll like this one?

    50/50

    Mr. Child is running out of clever.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Really bad

    Waste of time and money! Looked like mr Child needed a book that contain x number of pages and gave no thought into what he wrote!
    T. C. Movie must be coming next!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Reacher is Reacher

    Liked the book because I really like the Reacher character. However, this plot was somewhat weak and I would have expected better. Next book I will wait a bit longer for more reviews. I would encourage the author to put more of his well known craft into the overall story. A bit disappointed, as I am very careful about which authors I will spend this much money on.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Not the worst, but FAR from the best. I have read every book and

    Not the worst, but FAR from the best. I have read every book and it has become a yearly tradition to wait until the next installment. This book, however was  pretty horrible. For years now, Lee has been trying to include a specific phrase in each book to repeat throughout, but it is nothing more than annoying. Unfortunately, this book has really painted a picture for me. The picture you start to see when a great show is just done and needs to end (think Dexter or Breaking Bad) and as sad as it makes me Reacher needs to move on. The scenarios in the book have become so far from reality that it is no longer fun. And spoiler alert, THE ENDING SUCKS!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    Snappy dialogue and great plot as always. Just finished the book

    Snappy dialogue and great plot as always. Just finished the book and this a great end to this series of Reacher adventures. I hope that Samantha makes an appearance in the future. Maybe she could be Reacher's brother Joe's daughter?

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Just not up to the usual Reacher....too obscure and confusing...

    Just not up to the usual Reacher....too obscure and confusing....doesn't draw you in.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Tom Cruse as Jack Reacher? Really!

    While I commend Mr. Child's pursuit of the American dream of wealth and fame, wasn't there someone at least above 6 feet tall (and not 5'7") and more than 150 lbs. Who could play 6'4" and 250 lbs. Jack Reacher. Jack would have been embarrassed to be played by a scientological misfit of indetermiate sexual preferance. And so I leave Lee Child's much awaited and disappointing current novel. It was the quality of the character that produced readers and Hollywood - not the other way around. Better luck next time.
    Previously devoted reader.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well the plot starts with Jack traveling cross country to meet t

    Well the plot starts with Jack traveling cross country to meet the female who replaced him, Major Turner, at the 110th MP division. His interaction with her in a previous novel intrigued him to the point that he just has to meet the person behind the voice. When he arrives he finds that the Army has arrested her. They promptly arrest Jack on charges that are twenty years old and fake. This forces Reacher to escape from prison taking Major Turner with him. They go on a search for the truth and any bad guy(s) dumb enough to get in his way will die.



    Mr. Lee Child's has written another winner. The fans of the Reacher Series will love Never Go Back, I can't wait for book 19 to be released.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Another superb job by Child!

    Kept me up half the night...just couldn't put it down! And I agree with other readers; why in the world would anyone cast Cruise as Reacher?!?!?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling!!! Speed-demon.

    Thrilling!!! Speed-demon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 525 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27