Customer Reviews for

Never Goin' Back: Winning the Weight-Loss Battle For Good

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Honest and endearing, not preachy...

As a longtime fan of Mr. Roker's I've been cheering him on in his quest to get healthy for years. His honesty in his battle with food is painful, yet refreshing, and I found his struggle and will to stay fit powerful and encouraging.
As my first read of the new year I ...
As a longtime fan of Mr. Roker's I've been cheering him on in his quest to get healthy for years. His honesty in his battle with food is painful, yet refreshing, and I found his struggle and will to stay fit powerful and encouraging.
As my first read of the new year I will be using some of Mr. Roker's lifestyle changes to continue on in my own life. Although I'm at a healthy weight and reasonably happy with my body, there's always room for improvement and some of his tips will be incorporated into my daily life.
Thank you, Al, for sharing your private struggles in such a personal way, and the best of luck to you in "Never Goin' Back"!

posted by 2855783 on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I'm a long time fan of the Today Show and have followed Al's wei

I'm a long time fan of the Today Show and have followed Al's weight loss effort fairly closely so a lot of what was presented was familiar or known to me.  I'm also someone who's  struggled with my weight for the first 40 years of my life when then the umpteenth try at ...
I'm a long time fan of the Today Show and have followed Al's weight loss effort fairly closely so a lot of what was presented was familiar or known to me.  I'm also someone who's  struggled with my weight for the first 40 years of my life when then the umpteenth try at Weight Watchers worked for me and  I lost 100 lbs and have kept 85 of it off for over 8 years. I say all that to let you know that I'm familiar with a lot of the struggle, both mentally and physically, albeit from a non-celebrity, female perspective.
 I've never ready any of Al's other books, but give that they exist, I have to say I had much higher expectations about the quality of the writing, at times I felt like it was being written for a 6th grader.  He's also guilty of 'the overuse of exclamation points!'  I guess for myself, while I certainly appreciate his story, I felt like he stopped WAY short of being to revealing or explicit, probably because he still has to be on air and face the public everyday.  I think there was a lot of 'glossing over' of the details - and no, I'm not talking the 'gory' details of his surgery, but more so the  details of the conversations in his own head - knowing what I've been through, I just felt like there probably was a lot more to be said.

I will say that some people will likely find this very helpful and inspiring, especially those that may be trying to lose weight for the first time and especially someone who may not have a supportive spouse - I thought the info about his interactions with his wife about his weight and food could be very helpful to a lot of couples in similar circumstances.
Thanks for putting this out there - next time drop the cliches and tell the whole story ...

posted by 6238375 on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Honest and endearing, not preachy...

    As a longtime fan of Mr. Roker's I've been cheering him on in his quest to get healthy for years. His honesty in his battle with food is painful, yet refreshing, and I found his struggle and will to stay fit powerful and encouraging.
    As my first read of the new year I will be using some of Mr. Roker's lifestyle changes to continue on in my own life. Although I'm at a healthy weight and reasonably happy with my body, there's always room for improvement and some of his tips will be incorporated into my daily life.
    Thank you, Al, for sharing your private struggles in such a personal way, and the best of luck to you in "Never Goin' Back"!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    An interesting and inspiring read

    I was inspired by Al when he had his bypass surgery which lead me to research and later have the surgery as well. I was amazed that he and I have followed the same path so much of the way. Also like him-I had many people tell me "Oh, you took the easy way out!" He dealt with it just as I did-Smile and go on! Unlike him-I did not have to do it in the public eye. That must have made it 100 times harder. I was inspired by his battle and it has been just the lift I need to get back on my own path to health and fitness. Once again-Thank you Al! Unlike some books on the subject, he gave actual ways to deal with the problems! He didn't just bring them to light and let it drop.
    My only complaint is that the Nook version had many errors and even omitted a few pages. This was easily remedied by a stop at B&N to read a hard copy in the store!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a long time fan of the Today Show and have followed Al's wei

    I'm a long time fan of the Today Show and have followed Al's weight loss effort fairly closely so a lot of what was presented was familiar or known to me.  I'm also someone who's  struggled with my weight for the first 40 years of my life when then the umpteenth try at Weight Watchers worked for me and  I lost 100 lbs and have kept 85 of it off for over 8 years. I say all that to let you know that I'm familiar with a lot of the struggle, both mentally and physically, albeit from a non-celebrity, female perspective.
     I've never ready any of Al's other books, but give that they exist, I have to say I had much higher expectations about the quality of the writing, at times I felt like it was being written for a 6th grader.  He's also guilty of 'the overuse of exclamation points!'  I guess for myself, while I certainly appreciate his story, I felt like he stopped WAY short of being to revealing or explicit, probably because he still has to be on air and face the public everyday.  I think there was a lot of 'glossing over' of the details - and no, I'm not talking the 'gory' details of his surgery, but more so the  details of the conversations in his own head - knowing what I've been through, I just felt like there probably was a lot more to be said.

    I will say that some people will likely find this very helpful and inspiring, especially those that may be trying to lose weight for the first time and especially someone who may not have a supportive spouse - I thought the info about his interactions with his wife about his weight and food could be very helpful to a lot of couples in similar circumstances.
    Thanks for putting this out there - next time drop the cliches and tell the whole story ...

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Not What I Thought it Would Be

    This was an ok book. He was very open with hhis battle against obesity and that was encouraging. He was respectful and loving in referencing his parents. However, I felt he was demeaning towards his current wife. I didn't expect a how to lose weight book but I did hope to feel uplifted. Instead, I felt it was ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Struggles I can relate to.....

    I've had my own weight struggles, though not as drastic, at times, just as defeating. It's an honest account of Al's struggles that we all can relate to. I admire his honesty. He tells it like it is and that's inspiring and eye-opening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    not enough about the ups and downs of gastric bypass. i had it d

    not enough about the ups and downs of gastric bypass. i had it done 35 yrs ago. it took many years to reach 165lbs. i didn't have the luxury of a diatician or a private trainer. i did it on my own. lots of ups and downs but i made it. he focused to much of fancy eating and running marithons. did not care for some of his comments. but thats me. read it your self. oh, by the way i weighed 350lbs. and i think i could have wrote a better book. sorry al, i think most of what you wrote about was to fill empty pages

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Did not like

    Ugh

    1 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Treaure hunt

    Go to giada result 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great Read!!!

    Once you pick up you will put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    It was good to get to know some one you have in your living room evryday

    If you are a dieter you like this book Good job Al

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2