Customer Reviews for

Never Have Your Dog Stuffed: And Other Things I've Learned

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Must read!

    If you’re a fan of M*A*S*H, you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read it, you'll love it!

    This is a touching look at the life of Alan Alda. The writing flows and is so personal that you feel almost as if you are there, struggling and laughing with him. I strongly recomend this to anyone who is a fan of Alan Alda, or anyone who is in need of a pick me up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Less an autobiography than a stream of conscious associations

    .....but still a good read nevertheless. <BR/><BR/>Alda has always fascinated me with the unique roles he's taken - the political naif in "The Seduction of Joe Tynan", the host of "Scientific American Frontiers", and, of course, the role that made him a household name - Benjamin Franklin Pierce on "M*A*S*H*". <BR/><BR/>His book is, in some strange way, exactly like those roles - unique, entertaining, and filling. You only get a glimpse of the man but that glimpse leaves you satisfied and contented. <BR/><BR/>Before I started this book I imagined I was going to get a standard autobiography. Having just finished it I can say that this is the furthest thing from it - but from Alan Alda I wouldn't have expected anything less.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    A good narrative from Alda himself

    While I read the book I could just imagine Alan Alda telling the story. Interesting, sad, entertaining, and funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Arne's memoir review

    Alan Alda wrote never have your dog stuffed: and other things I¿ve learned, because he wanted to explain how he became the person he is today. Best known for his role as Hawkeye Pierce in the television series M*A*S*H, we come to discover that the story of his life journey is strange and somewhat humorous. This memoir does not follow the basic plot and structure. Alan Alda organized the work by telling a series of short stories that illuminated his unconventional life experiences. These short stories include topics such as: his early years with his family, his adventures traveling with his parents, his challenge with contracting polio when he was only seven years old, and many more. Childhood. We often think of those years as the best in our lives. But hat if you had a schizophrenic mother and a movie star father? Alan Alda¿s childhood was definitely not his best years. His family had domestic problems but not the usual sort. Alan¿s mother had undiagnosed schizophrenia and would often act strangely. As a result his parents would often fight over things his mother assumed were happening. Finally, during his senior year in college his parents divorced. Alan did several odd jobs to get by during his years after college. He was a cabdriver, a clown, a restaurant doorman, a telemarketer, the subject in a hypnosis experiment, he hand colored black and white photographs, and he was a product demonstration person. All of these jobs helped support him while he tried to break into show business. Weird, crazy, unethical. These are the best words to describe Alan Alda¿s childhood and it is amazing to read about. He went through many twists and turns during his young life and from that journey he became who he is today, a well respected actor, director and writer. As a result of this work we have been given a book of exceptional quality that people will continue to read and enjoy for decades to come.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling memoir

    Highly regarded actor Alan Alda provides a deep autobiography, but not the usual kiss and tell scintillating tale of sin city. Instead his superbly written memoir grips readers starting with the stunning opening comment that 'My mother didn't try to stab my father until I was 6 ¿¿ and never lets up until he finishes his memoirs. Readers will gain an understanding of what has motivated Mr. Alda through his use of humor, charm, and the macabre such as the title of his book referring to sending the family¿s deceased pet Rhapsody to be stuffed by a taxidermist. Those readers seeking a Hollywood exposé need to search elsewhere as Mr. Alda has been married to the same woman for almost fifty years without referring to any side trysts. Even his long movie and TV career except for some intriguing insights into M*A*S*H is a quick glimpse with external anecdotes to remind him how fleeting fame is. Instead he concentrates on the major personal events like polio treatment or touring as a kid with his parents, his father being a star of burlesque so as a kid he traveled with the strippers, but especially his mom¿s schizophrenia that haunts him today with a fear he will join her in her dark room. This autobiography is one of the best out there as Mr. Alda lays out his soul including those demons eating at it, but never points the finger at his peers.......... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Wow

    A book worth reading over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    An easy yet compelling read

    Good, easy-to-read, insightful material. I learned some things about myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Can't put it down!!

    I don't usually go in for autobiographies-but Alda's writing style is so inticing, that I can't put it down! I originally rented it from the public library, but loved it so much I went out and bought it. I haven't even finnished this book, and I already have bought the next one as well! I can't wait to finnish them. I know this is a book i will be able to read several times over the years. 5 stars Mr. Alda!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    'Never Have Your Dog Stuffed' has turned my way of thinking totally upside down. Alan Alda is an aspiring actor with a childhood like nobody else. Knowing that he directed and wrote a majority of the M*A*S*H episodes makes me appreciate them more. I recommend this book to ANYONE who is looking for an interesting read and a good laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    A Few Gems But I Wanted More

    The book was clearly written with earnest but I can¿t believe that a guy with as many experiences as Alan Alda chose these particular things to write about. Parts of the book were very interesting but I felt as though I had to plod through other parts. I also did not like the fact that he jumped around a bit in time. First he was married. Then he had just met his wife. I found that hard to follow. Most disappointing was that someone so well-known for one role, ¿Hawkeye¿, covered his 11 years on M*A*S*H in very few pages. However, I must say that I was moved by his talk about his parents and surprised by the fact that he was willing to share some very personal information about himself. The book is worth reading but all and all I have to say that I think that Alan Alda¿s book was not a real attention-grabber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    Loved this book.

    A poignant, warm, intelligent well written life review. Alda comes through as a wise, genuine guy. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a book I didn't race through to see what would happen but just savored each page as well as his insight to the situations that happened to him and in his life. Fargo, ND

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    Mediocre at Best

    Just finished the book. I was so excited to read it. As interesting a character as Alan Alda is, the book is poor representation of this. While you can tell Alan wrote it, it lacks the spark and page turning desire I hoped it would have. I'd pass on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2