Customer Reviews for

Never Knowing

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

DON'T EVERY ONE JUMP ON ME/ PLEASE

JUST A QUESTION? ISN'T A REVIEW WHEN U WRITE WHAT U THINK ABOUT THE BOOK & SAY WEATHER OR NOT U ENJOYED THE BOOK OR NOT ? WHY DO PEOPLE WRITE & TELL U WHAT THE BOOK IS ABOUT INSTEAD OF YES I LIKED IT OR NO I DID NOT ENJOY IT????? ANY WAY MY REVIEW READS (LOL) ST...
JUST A QUESTION? ISN'T A REVIEW WHEN U WRITE WHAT U THINK ABOUT THE BOOK & SAY WEATHER OR NOT U ENJOYED THE BOOK OR NOT ? WHY DO PEOPLE WRITE & TELL U WHAT THE BOOK IS ABOUT INSTEAD OF YES I LIKED IT OR NO I DID NOT ENJOY IT????? ANY WAY MY REVIEW READS (LOL) STARTED AT 7:00PM AND BY 3:00 I WAS DONE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD I COULD NOT STOP READING IT/ WAS VERY WELL WRITTEN & WAS JUST A PAGE TURNER ONE AFTER THE OTHER/ I'M JUST SORRY THAT SHE HAS ONLY WRITTEN 2 BOOKS/ NOW I DO NOT HAVE ONE TO READ TONIGHT/ JUST HOPE U ENJOY THIS BOOK AS MUCH AS I DID/ THANKS FOR LISTING

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on July 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pass on this one

Still missing was great. Could not put it down! This one was so boring!

posted by 9607915 on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    DON'T EVERY ONE JUMP ON ME/ PLEASE

    JUST A QUESTION? ISN'T A REVIEW WHEN U WRITE WHAT U THINK ABOUT THE BOOK & SAY WEATHER OR NOT U ENJOYED THE BOOK OR NOT ? WHY DO PEOPLE WRITE & TELL U WHAT THE BOOK IS ABOUT INSTEAD OF YES I LIKED IT OR NO I DID NOT ENJOY IT????? ANY WAY MY REVIEW READS (LOL) STARTED AT 7:00PM AND BY 3:00 I WAS DONE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD I COULD NOT STOP READING IT/ WAS VERY WELL WRITTEN & WAS JUST A PAGE TURNER ONE AFTER THE OTHER/ I'M JUST SORRY THAT SHE HAS ONLY WRITTEN 2 BOOKS/ NOW I DO NOT HAVE ONE TO READ TONIGHT/ JUST HOPE U ENJOY THIS BOOK AS MUCH AS I DID/ THANKS FOR LISTING

    37 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Best book all summer!

    I won't say what this is about so as not to ruin it for those who have not read it. Just read it...you will not be disappointed. I stayed up until 4 this morning because I could not put it down! How will I find another book as interesting as this? So well written...the author made it feel like I was there....experiencing what Sara did......wow is all I can say and you will be glad you read this!!!!! Bravo.....now I'm going to see what other books this author has out.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    One I won't forget

    Never Knowing by Chevy Stevens
    July 2011
    ISBN 978-0-312-59568-5
    Reviewed by Shannon Pease (shayrp)
    Thirty-three year old Sara Gallagher can finally see the pieces of her life falling into place. She has her own business, a six year old daughter, and she is about to marry the man of her dreams. When she decides it's time to find her birth mother those pieces start to tumble around her. Finding the woman who gave her away turns to disappointment but finding the man, who never knew he had a daughter and who by the way is a famous serial killer, turns life frightening. As she struggles to keep her father from getting to her and her family; she also struggles with her own emotions of feeling neglected by her adoptive father.
    The story is told through sessions with her therapist, Nadine, so the emotional side of the book seems very raw. All of which are realistic but not overwhelming. Like real life, the book is an emotional rollercoaster ride. Ms. Stevens could have made fear the dominating emotion and that would have worked, but the little laughs thrown in, the unmistakable love story, and the tears made it all the more real for me. The characters were easy to get to know and to read. They could easily be the family next door. Everything flowed well and the timing was impeccable.
    I did not want to put this book down for a second. As soon as I opened it I was enveloped. I even put my phone on silent this morning so I could finish it. I found a lot of similarities in the emotions of the book and myself. Plus, I have a dog who likes to hump stuffed animals. This one is also one that I am going to be recommending to anyone who will listen; maybe even beg people to buy it when it hits shelves just so I can talk to someone about it. I will not forget this story.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    I couldn't put this book down. I started reading at 10:30pm, thinking I'd get a few chapters in and then go to sleep, but I read until 3:00 am!
    Sara was adopted, and never quite fit in with her new family. Her adoptive mother is sick and her father is a distant, cold man. One sister is passive, the other a b*tch. With her upcoming wedding to Evan, she becomes increasingly curious about her birth parents. That curiousity puts her and everyone she knows in mortal danger.
    Sara has tunnel vision and can't stop her quest, even when she discovers that she was the product of a brutal rape. Her birth mother is in hiding, and her birth father is a serial killer who was never caught. Her search brings him out of hiding, and he wants to make up for lost time.
    This novel was creepy. How do you stop a terrifying situation when your choices are to protect your family or protect innocent women from becoming a killer's next victim?
    The twist at the end was predictible and felt rushed, but the overall story was still excellent.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Second book from author Chevy Stevens

    What would you do if you woke up one morning and found out that your father was a serial killer? That is the question that Sara Gallagher has to wrestle with in the second book by author Chevy Stevens. Sara is the oldest of three girls in her family, and the only one that is adopted. As such, she has always felt that she never quite fit in and wondered what her birth parents were like. What takes place in this story is definitely a case of "be careful what you wish for" as once Sara discovers her birth parents there is no turning back. How could she ever have imagined that they would be who they were? Or that her father would be a celebrated serial killer? As Sara makes contact with her birth father and grapples with the many issues that raises, we are taken on a thrill ride. Ms. Stevens definitely has another hit on her hands with Never Knowing.

    Like Still Missing, this book is told from the main character's viewpoint, as if she were talking to her psychiatrist. It is a unique way to tell the story, and one that Stevens certainly has the knack for. Also as in Still Missing, the main character in this story is scarred, which makes for an interesting protagonist. Unlike the first book, though, Sara is not abrasive, and the book never drags from beginning to end. Best of all, once again, Stevens finishes with an ending that I didn't see coming.

    I highly recommend this one.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Pass on this one

    Still missing was great. Could not put it down! This one was so boring!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Outstanding!!

    Please keep writing - you are a VERY GOOD author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    Awesome

    Chevy Stevens quickly became my new favorite author. This book makes you so involved, you see things in a totally different light. I highly recommend this book, you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Great book!

    Chevy Stevens is an amazing author and story teller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Scary read

    Another interesting offer from Ms Stevens. Definite page turner.. nature over nuture and all the effects of both ideas on those living with the theories.

    Creepy, without being judgemental..

    Looking forward to her newest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I became a neurotic listening to this!!!

    Unabridged Audio/thriller: Wow, this chick has issues. I could never, ever live always worrying what people were thinking of me. This is a story of a chick who pursues looking for her birth parents and is better off not knowing. Of course, nothing is as it seems. This was 12-hours of listening to a woman victimize herself. There wasn't any real continuity problems in the book, but the middle became slow. I was glad for the last two discs because I was starting to get bored. All the loose ends were tied up, I guess. I would rather have listened to is abridged.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Interesting

    I found it interesting that this is the same Therapist from the other books but I also found it to be slow. It was more difficult to get into then the other books. Would recommend Always Watching + Still Missing but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    a surprise

    It was a hard book to put down. figuratively speaking in that I had the e-book:-) Rarely surprised with endings...this was refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    While this novel was good¿some may even call it great¿I couldn¿t

    While this novel was good—some may even call it great—I couldn’t help but feel like this was a repeat performance of Still Missing. Had I not just read Ms. Stevens’s debut novel a couple months prior, I might have developed an entirely different opinion on the matter. The first time out the unique structure captured my attention and had me flipping pages faster than a sugar addict working his way through a dozen doughnuts, but this time the polish had worn off, and while I still devoured NEVER KNOWING, I flipped the pages with less enthusiasm.

    The first half of the story, while certainly good, needed an adrenaline injection. Sure, the character and story development proved entertaining, but this is supposed to be a thriller. And when it comes to page-turners, I want to dangle on the edge of a cliff by my fingernails while a dog is nipping at the tips and a psycho serial killer points a revolver at my shaking corpse. The suspense and adrenaline came, but by then I had already pondered the existence of the universe more than once.

    Sara Gallagher, though, proved to be an intriguing character, and one I understood a bit too well. Taking the world’s problems on her shoulders, she blames herself for anything remiss, prefers knowledge to a lack of awareness, and shoulders more problems than are hers to bear. Yeah, she may swallow the occasional white pill, but she has migraines, sister, along with a wedding to plan and a somewhat absentee fiancé who likes to play in the woods.

    Even her relationships reminded me of my own. She had her first love Derek where she was head over heels and enamored and lost herself and ended up in what was ultimately an unhealthy relationship before she found Evan, her true love. This scenario resembled a bit too uncannily what I had faced before. At the time I had no real comparison for relationships and love and clinging to someone so tightly and losing myself so completely that I almost became two different people: one when I was with her and one when I wasn’t. Once I was in, though, I ended up so far inside the threshold there was no easy way to get out, without one of us clinging to that cliff, so I did what made sense at the time: I expunged myself from the situation.

    Not being able to fix that relationship or somehow make it work, despite analyzing it from every angle, bothered me a whole hell of a lot more than what my ex thought of me. In fact, I still feel like I failed the universe somehow. But I’ve come to terms with my problems without the aid of prescription medication just as I’ve come to terms with my misgivings of this novel.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Suspense done right

    I can't believe I have gone this long without discovering Chevy Stevens. She is a master of suspense, and after I read this, I immediately bought and devoured her other two novels. Kept me up all night in the best kind of (literary) way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Great read

    This is the 2nd book I have read by this author. She grabs your attention from the very beginning! I couldn't wait to get back to reading more. Great job Chevy! Keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    What a Book!

    This is one of those books that once you start reading it you find it very hard to put down. I loved it!!
    The story is very gripping and the characters are well-rounded. Everything is spelled out in such a way it is hard to let go.
    Great reading. Chevy Stevens is terrific!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It was just ok, a very slow read for me

    It was just ok, a very slow read for me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Disappointed

    I was impressed with Still Missing so I admit my expectations were high going into this book. It was slow and predictable and I couldnt stand the main character. She was so annoying! I dont know how her fiance could stand her. The premise was good but it completely fell flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Never Knowing.... The title fits....

    The title fits because even if you suspected what was to happen next, you didn't know how it would happen. This book was very hard to put down. The anticipation kept you on edge to turn another page. I hope Chevy Stevens, can keep up the momentum. I,also, think this book is better written than Still Missing (which I,also, enjoyed). I have always appreciated when a writter does NOT use a buch of four letter words. The English langauge has so many more discriptive adjectives that a GREAT writer should not have to resort to foul language in order to write a quality piece of literature. This book is definately worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8