Customer Reviews for

Never Let Me Go

Average Rating 4
( 784 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(282)

4 Star

(228)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

NEVER LET ME GO

This amazing, intriguing novel really works the mind and is intricately plotted and very well thought-out. A group of human clones are trapped in a society devoid of moral conscience. The characters grow, blossom, fight and love. There are so many human emotions to deal...
This amazing, intriguing novel really works the mind and is intricately plotted and very well thought-out. A group of human clones are trapped in a society devoid of moral conscience. The characters grow, blossom, fight and love. There are so many human emotions to deal with. At one level this is a deeply moving and sad love story told by a young woman, the sole survivor of a love triangle. At another level, it's an accumulative horror story. In a special boarding school where, in total isolation, they are being prepared for an early death by organ donation to the terminally ill. The plot is rather simple, a woman in her 30s starts recalling her youth at this boarding school after meeting up again with an old friend and her friend's ex-boyfriend, who she had a crush on. Through her work, she cares for both of them and learns more about why they were born, and what is in store for them. There is sorrow, poignancy, mystery and suspense, not to mention totally unique!

posted by poosie on September 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Let Me Go . . . PLEASE!

This book was a total disappointment. I cannot believe that so many reviewers praised it highly and were 'surprised' by the truth revealed in the last pages. Really? In the first few pages, the now-grown children are referred to as 'Donors' and 'Carers'--what did you...
This book was a total disappointment. I cannot believe that so many reviewers praised it highly and were 'surprised' by the truth revealed in the last pages. Really? In the first few pages, the now-grown children are referred to as 'Donors' and 'Carers'--what did you THINK that meant? No surprises for me--just a lot of boring details about adolescents in an exclusive school with a supposed 'secret.' I stuck with it, but when I was done, I wished I had spent my time on something else.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Unique

    I first heard about the movie then learned it was adapted from a novel so I thought I read it first. It was an interesting novel, definitely never read anything like it before. The ending was sad, though for some reason I couldnt get attached to the novel, I found myself at times forcing myself to read it because I wasnt really into it. But still a nicely done book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Never Let Me Go is the sixth novel by Japanese author Kazuo Ishi

    Never Let Me Go is the sixth novel by Japanese author Kazuo Ishiguro. It is narrated in an almost conversational style by Kathy H., a thirty-one-year-old carer. Kathy reflects back on her life so far: her childhood at Hailsham School, a transitional period at The Cottages with her closest friends from Hailsham, and her working life caring for donors. In many ways, Hailsham resembles a typical English boarding school, giving its residents a sheltered upbringing, although it is soon apparent that this is no ordinary academic institution, and these students are, in fact, destined for a vastly different fate. Kathy’s narration concentrates on interactions between the students themselves and with their guardians, dwelling on incidents, conversations and reactions; it sounds, for a woman of her age, quite immature. It may have been shortlisted for the 2005 Man Booker Prize, and has been described as brilliant. Never the less, some readers will find the characters unappealing and the whole execution rather tedious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Never Let Me Go

    Required to read Never Let Me Go for a book club, I began reading Monday and finished Wednesday. Lest I give the impression the book was a page turner, it was not. I found the early years of the children overloaded with endless details. Without arousing curiosity as to why the children's daily lives and art participation are such big deals, the story drags endlessly on. The few adult years are less detailed, but at least more interesting. A more dramatic ending might have helped. Instead, the author abandons the main characters, one by one, leaving the reader to dangle in a vacuum of 'completion'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    My story

    She was a carer for 13teen years. Now she wants to move from hailsham.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended to those who like Sci-fi!

    Review brought to you by OBS staff member Erin

    This would be a great book for someone who loves to read, but usually avoids science fiction, because they're afraid it will be too hokey or over the top (or they don't like aliens). It's beautifully written, and if you're not careful you'll read for two hours.even though it will feel like 15 minutes. It's incredibly easy to get lost in this seemingly utopian world, especially when you know, from the beginning, that something isn't right.

    You don't even realize that this is Sci Fi until halfway through the book, when part of what is so special about the children is revealed. But it's not a "Science Fiction" story. It's a story about a marginalized group of people being treated differently (like cattle, quite frankly) and their discovery of self, and what it means to be human.

    It was enjoyable to read, but I felt like the end cut off too early. I would have liked to know more about "after". I was a little disappointed. But forcing you to think about "after" without getting too many details might just be the point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    so so read

    The first 180 pages were rather boring. The story picked up a little after that but it wasn't enough to make the story very interesting or memorable. I'm trying to figure out why this book was on so many book lists and am baffled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Good concept, was waiting for something profound that never happened.

    I had seen a preview for the movie based on the book and wasn't quite sure what to expect from it. I thought that while the author is a very talented writer I thought that there would just be more to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Interesting, powerful, not exciting

    This is an interesting and thought provoking story. What would it be like to be in the position of people in this book? How should they be treated? How would you deal with their situation? It is pretty interesting. You get so connected with the characters, you know how they are feeling about the situation, and it is powerful. Probably great for a book club or even if you know other people who will read it so you can discuss it.

    However, putting the human face on these students also means that over half the book is just stories about their childhood - a seemingly rambling collection of vignettes of unexciting things that happened to teenagers. I see the purpose and value behind it, and know that it was necessary for the powerful feeling that I got at the end of the book, but at the time, I felt bored that I was spending my time reading about teenagers drawing things and riding imaginary horses.

    In the end, I am glad that I read it, and it will stay with me. But if considering this book, you should know what it will take to get there.

    Also, the eBook version had random numbers sometimes between paragraphs in the middle of chapters. These were at break points, so they were not necessarily distracting, but they did not seem to have an order or reason. (Granted I did not put much time into looking at them, as I was busy reading and it is tough to flip back and forth on the nook.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Unique but also somehow off

    Without reiterating previous reviews or giving a synopsis, I would say that it is worth reading, but there are a few things that are off. First off, the beginning is very slow and boring. Second, there are aspects to the story that are contradictory. There seems to be something about Kathy's re-telling her her own life events that is pathologically detached. If the story is meant to affirm the humanity of these people (who did not come into this world the traditional way), then the utter lack of emotion when recounting events that should be highly emotional makes Kathy come across as robotic. Is this the authors intention? Even Ruth and Tommy, as they face their fate are eerily accepting of it. So I don;t see why it was necessary to have 3/4 of the book recount in painstaking detail the childhood and adolescent spiffs, presumably something we are meant to identify with, if the ending is going to undermine our sense of identification with these characters.
    This is a highly decorated author and I am sure every detail was very well thought out, but it doesn't all click. The discord we are left feeling is testament to how affecting the story is, but there was not total resonance for me. For these reasons, read it as part of a group or club if you can, I think it would make for heated discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    never let me go review

    Never Let Me Go is a story written by the British author Kazuo Ishiguro, it is about a 31 year old woman named Kathy and her experiences in her young adult life. She grew up in a private boarding school called Hailsham where from a young age the students are told what they will be doing in the future. From the day they are brought into the world their life has been planned. At Hailsham Kathy makes friends, and deals with the cliques and problems of day to day life. She makes two close friends, Ruth and Tommy. The teachers at Hailsham are slightly odd, it is a lot different than a normal school. In their schools they have to get daily checkups and they never did anything to injure themselves. After they have graduated Hailsham they move to another place to prepare for their fate. Eventually Kathy, Tommy and Ruth go their separate ways in life. Yet eventually they reconnect although they are at different stages of life and it is different from when they were children. Kathy tells of the many memories she had growing up, and what it is like for her to reconnect with her childhood friends. This is a great book that Ishiguro writes brilliantly to expose the cruelness of the world, I think that everyone who¿s looking for a good book to read this would be it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Interesting premise but I wanted more details / specifics on the premise

    I read this for a book club. I was warned it was slow to start and it was difficult to figure out what the book was even about. So I specifically started in the middle and found I was fascinated by the concept and by the time I finished the book I started at the beginning and read it through again. It is a quick read once you understand the premise. I just found I wanted more specifics about the how the premise actually plays out. I wanted details!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    Not an entirely enjoyable read

    This books questions the duty of mortality for clones that were made for sole purpose of being 'donors' to 'possibles¿ of an outside society later in life. After narrating the reader though memories of Kathy's experiences at the institutions, (affectionately referred to as `Hailsham School¿ and `The Cottages¿), the questions arise when the characters develop an understanding of their purpose ¿ who, what, when ¿ but never why?. Yet with an understanding of their fate, the characters still explore the significance of what it is to be human and to have wants and needs of their own. This book is well written and creative in the dealings with the main theme of cloning. However, I can¿t say that I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Certainly an important book on the subject matter

    I enjoyed reading this book, though not tremendously. It is an interesting perspective - for the first third of the book, I had no idea what the subject matter was. The discussions on the actual topic were rather superficial and limited but I guess that was not the main message the author was trying to get across. The writing is beautiful and lyrical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    Blah ending...

    The story was somehow interesting. It pretty much talks about a children that are cloned from the worst of the worst society that are later used as doners. The book was mainly focused on Kathy and her feelings, however, at the end it was all dilutted and the book just kind of ended....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    An Intriguing Tale

    This story is quite unique and an incredibly easy read. The author writes in the simplest terms and sentences possible so you fly through the story with ease. What the book lacked was a climax. I was waiting for a twist but nothing happened. It was like the author was just having an everyday conversation with its reader. All in all though, I found the detail and characters interesting and would recommend this book to others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Love/Hate

    I read this book anxiously awaiting the climax, the coming together of all the characters and information. But in the end we find out what we really already knew from Kathy H. days at Hailsham. The book was beautifully written with elegant prose,but I came away disappointed in the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8