BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Never Look Away

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is an eerie, suspenseful roller coaster ride of enjoyment!

Newspaper reporter, David Harwood, is investigating possible corruption with regard to a new prison that is being brought to Promise Falls, NY. He and his wife, Jan and 4 year old son, Ethan visit an Amusement Park for a day of family fun. Ethan disappears suddenly as D...
Newspaper reporter, David Harwood, is investigating possible corruption with regard to a new prison that is being brought to Promise Falls, NY. He and his wife, Jan and 4 year old son, Ethan visit an Amusement Park for a day of family fun. Ethan disappears suddenly as David races frantically around, finally bringing him back,then finds Jan missing. Detective Duckworth naturally suspects David so David does some detective work on his own and keeps finding mysterious facts concerning his wife. One never really knows what is going on inside people's heads. This is a very complex plot full of intriguing twists and "Ah! Hah!" moments that will engage you from the first page and will seem to be attached to your hands because there will be no thought of putting this book down. This is an eerie, suspenseful roller coaster ride of enjoyment.

posted by _JAQUELINE_ on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Do not reccommend

There are better books to read than this. The author tries, but doesn't make it.

posted by crazyreaderAP on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an eerie, suspenseful roller coaster ride of enjoyment!

    Newspaper reporter, David Harwood, is investigating possible corruption with regard to a new prison that is being brought to Promise Falls, NY. He and his wife, Jan and 4 year old son, Ethan visit an Amusement Park for a day of family fun. Ethan disappears suddenly as David races frantically around, finally bringing him back,then finds Jan missing. Detective Duckworth naturally suspects David so David does some detective work on his own and keeps finding mysterious facts concerning his wife. One never really knows what is going on inside people's heads. This is a very complex plot full of intriguing twists and "Ah! Hah!" moments that will engage you from the first page and will seem to be attached to your hands because there will be no thought of putting this book down. This is an eerie, suspenseful roller coaster ride of enjoyment.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    What an amazing read

    Within 20 pages i was hooked and never looked back. You owe it to yourself to read rhis one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    GREAT!

    GREAT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can anyone be trusted, Review by Sisterhood Book Club

    In Promise Falls lives a family of three David, Jan and their child Ethan. David works for a small newspaper. It took just one day at the amusement park for his life to be turned upside down along with a 360 turn. Someone kidnaps Ethan and returns him and then his wife goes missing. Without clue in sight to find her but someone leaves clues behind to lock him up for the rest of his life. With the help of his parents taking care of Ethan, David goes on a mission to find out what really happen to his wife. All the clues that lead him to his wife are so shocking that it keeps the pages turning.

    This is my first book by Linwood Barclay and he has a fan for life. In this story that takes place in Promise Falls is written about ordinary people that you can relate to. This story was created in mind of something you would hear about on the news or better yet on nightline. There's one suspect, murder and betrayal in this story that takes off and is very explosive to the point of no return.

    Note: I won this book from the author in a contest

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Barclay does it again

    Once I got started, I could not put it down. Plenty of twists and turns, which he lets you figure out. Linwood Barclay is one of my favorite authors and he didn't disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Great book, couldn't put it down. I read it in 2 days, real page

    Great book, couldn't put it down. I read it in 2 days, real page turner with good twists.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really Like it!!

    My first book from this author, it keep you guessing all the way to the end,the characters where so well defined that you actually have hard time thingking that they are fiction and no real, I love it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Wild ride

    I really enjoy this author and his family-in-peril stories and this book didn't disappoint. Loads of surprises and twists to keep you hanging on til the exciting end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT MYSTERY

    If you want a good mystery, edge of the seat type of book than this is a great one. Finished this book in like two days because I couldn't put it down. Even though it was kind of predicted it still had some twists and turns in it. I have read a couple from this author and he is a great go to for nice reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    his is an exhilarating psychological investigative thriller

    In Promise Falls, New York David Harwood is a reporter for the Standard. He has been married to Jan for five years and they have a four-year-old son, Ethan. They seem like the perfect American family. Recently David has become concerned about Jan. She tells him dark things that frighten him. Depressed all the time, Jan believes the two men in her life would be better off if she was not in their lives. Jan talks of suicide so a desperate David suggests she visit their doctor or perhaps a psychologist. She angrily yells at him no as she refuses medical treatment.

    David investigates the opening of a private company run prison owned and operated by Star Spangled Corrections. Inmates will work to pay for their keep and bring the firm profits. David believes something is off kilter with the deal that CEO Elmont Sebastian has made with town leaders; enhanced by a warning not to write anything derogatory or scandalous while his editor at the Standard refuses to print his prison articles. The Harwood trio visits Five Mountains amusement park where first Ethan and then Jan vanish while a frantic David searches for them. Ethan is found, but Jan is not and the police suspect her husband of foul play.

    This is an exhilarating psychological investigative thriller starring a near hysterical lead protagonist who becomes the target of an investigation as no one seems willing to help him. The story line is fast-paced while nicely set up so that the reader comprehends David's need to learn and expose wrong doing while also feeling how deep Jan's depression goes. From there the tale takes off once the family becomes separated at the amusement park. Fans of taut suspense will relish aptly titled Never Look Away.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Never look away - from the page!!

    Linwood Barclay has done it again! His talent for writing keeps this reader glued until I can't stay awake anymore. His books are exceptional; they are like a snowball that picks up speed and enlarges your interests as the story progresses. I am presently at the half-mark point with this book and as soon as finish on my computer I will go back to this great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great

    First book i have read and it was absolutely wonderful!! I usually can figure out something in a mystery, but. this one left me amazed!! Just a great read. Gotta read another one!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE ALL HIS BOOKS!

    I love all of his books, magnificent characters and plot! Lots of twists, can't put them down, my only complaint is he doesn't publish quick enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Couldn't Put It Down!!!!

    Wow...what a great book....I have never read anything by this author and now will be searching for more books by him. I literally could not put this down.....It has twists and turns that will keep you turning page after page, wanting to know whats going to happen. If you like a good mystery and a great read I definitely recommend it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Amazing

    This book is so gripping it is mind blowing. Barclay is so suspenceful and he just makes you want to read the book one step at a time. His writing syle is very realistic and just amazing. This book kept me thinking she was dead but all the while she might have been alive. The best part was her identity was she really who she said she was or was she a phony. But he kept on looking but what were others thinking. And then the boy who took him and what did they do to him if they did anything. These are the questions and statements that kept running through my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2