Customer Reviews for

Never Say Spy

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

WOW

I am not normally interested in spy novels or first person reads but this book easily sucked me in. LOVE the main character's fortitude and humourous self talk. She cracked me with the running dialogue in her thoughts and liked that the author portrayed a self sufficien...
I am not normally interested in spy novels or first person reads but this book easily sucked me in. LOVE the main character's fortitude and humourous self talk. She cracked me with the running dialogue in her thoughts and liked that the author portrayed a self sufficient female who relied on herself and her strengths AND exhibits a self pride in doing such. What a pleasure to read an intelligent character who challenged her weaknesses and empowered herself. I couldnt put the book down....I was immediately on to the next book in the series. OH what a joy to also have a mature woman my age cast in such an action packed thriller & as many can vouch, women nearing their 50's are far from tired hags! Haha
Hope this encourages other ladies to read & enjoy as I have!

posted by yoyoonthego on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bad

I dont understand all the glowing reviews. I couldnt get past page 100. It was incredibly boring. Nothing interesting happened, and after skimming several pages, i gave up. Boring book, boring character, boring plot, boring author.

posted by 8888649 on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    WOW

    I am not normally interested in spy novels or first person reads but this book easily sucked me in. LOVE the main character's fortitude and humourous self talk. She cracked me with the running dialogue in her thoughts and liked that the author portrayed a self sufficient female who relied on herself and her strengths AND exhibits a self pride in doing such. What a pleasure to read an intelligent character who challenged her weaknesses and empowered herself. I couldnt put the book down....I was immediately on to the next book in the series. OH what a joy to also have a mature woman my age cast in such an action packed thriller & as many can vouch, women nearing their 50's are far from tired hags! Haha
    Hope this encourages other ladies to read & enjoy as I have!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Fun and Awesome Spy Adventure for Women or Men! The Jan 24th re

    Fun and Awesome Spy Adventure for Women or Men!

    The Jan 24th review says it all. The humor is in these really strong characters and how they, especially Ayden, face the world. I was so hoping that this was the beginning of a series and it looks like it is. To whoever recommended Never Say Spy, thanks. I am now a Diane Henders fan!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    After reading about the writer, I had a feeling I would enjoy th

    After reading about the writer, I had a feeling I would enjoy this book.  Yep, I
    just had no idea how much!  There's inner dialogue, but not too self-centered. 
    I love the irrepressible, quirky heroine!  She stands up for herself and doesn't 
    take crap from anyone, even if she has to use her fists!   I couldn't put it down
    and ended up reading until dawn.  So much for sleep!  I will be getting the rest
    of the series, for sure!  (Four more with a sixth coming out Spring 2013). Highly
    recommended! 

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Hooked on Action and fun characters

    Enjoyable read, different and fun. Added to my favorites.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Good read

    Quirky humor and good writing made this book go quickly. I even bought two more to enjoy the fun. Highly recommend!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Wow!

    I so enjoyed this book! I sat up until 3am reading and only stopped because I fell asleep. I had to keep reading about Aydan and her adventures! Such a self reliant strong woman. Love books where the woman is the hero and not a wimp. I have already bought the rest of the series and cannot wait to get started on it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Awesome!

    How good was this book? I bought the rest of the series! This is the first time i've done that. Well worth the read. Funny, suspenseful, and sexy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Fun, quirky, sometimes hilarious, sometiemes, damn scary

    My favorite type of book is sci-fi. Every once in a while I'll read a spy or mystery novel. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and definitely plan to buy the other books in the series.

    BTW, there is nothing wrong with two unmarried adults having sex, fun, happy, sex. It is good for the mind, body, and soul. Oops, sorry fundamental, judgemental religous bigots. I forgot, God (Allah) doesn't want anyone to have happy, fullfilling sex. Fun is badddd!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Entertaining and fun to read

    Diane Henders stepped outside the usual cliches of women in the spy biz and created a likeable; realistic protagonist who is heterosexual but not slutty; self-sufficient but also a good team player, and who is mature, attractive, athletic, and even (gasp!) has a few gray hairs. It was a treat to discover that the character is in her forties. Female readers will want to be her. Male readers will just want her. Can hardly wait to read the next one. Because I, too, am a writer, I am uber-critical of fiction authors. Diane's writing style is fast-paced, with excellent plotting, great dialogue, and--oh, just buy the book and see for yourself. Happy reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Love it!

    It nice to read a book with an older and extremely competent heroine. Quirky dialogue, interesting plots, smooth transitions to scenes. A book that is truly fun to read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Love this series

    I love the characters and the story development. I couldn't put this one down and now I own them all. Can't wait for the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was a fantastic read. If it wasnt 2am I'd already be devouring the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    You will enjoy it - check it out

    Interesting and creative storyline. Loved the characters. Plan to have a lot of time to finish the series 'cause you will get hooked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Loved it

    A bit of mystery a bit of sex, a bit of fun

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    I was really surprised how much I enjoyed this book. It is so ni

    I was really surprised how much I enjoyed this book. It is so nice to read about a smart independent woman, who can
    isn't perfect and isn't 20. I liked it so much I have read the other books in the series and am on book 5 now. If you like spy 
    Stories you'll probably like this one too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I highly recommend this series. I loved it!!

    I highly recommend this series. I loved it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    An entertaining, laugh out loud read!

    I got this book when it was a freebie and can honestly say I would pay for it if I had to. This book was a great change of pace from the normal heroine books. She's a kick-butt, older female who isn't ashamed of who she is. I've read all 5 books at this point and cannot wait for the next one to come out. Diane Henders does a great job drawing the reader in and making them want to read what happens next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Great read!

    I really liked this book. The main character was definitely not a damsel in distress type. She was funny and hungry, which I find to be good qualities. I will be reading more by this author, for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Loved it!

    A fun read that doesnt give up all its secrets in the first 3 chapters. Already started book 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Fun read

    Exciting story, fun characters. Def recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6