Customer Reviews for

Never Seduce a Scot (Montgomerys and Armstrongs Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Amazingly crafted

ABOUT THE BOOK:
This sinfully sweet new romance from Maya Banks features a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart.

Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but considered "touched...
ABOUT THE BOOK:
This sinfully sweet new romance from Maya Banks features a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart.

Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but considered "touched" to outsiders. Beautiful, fey, with a level, intent gaze, she doesn't speak. No one, not even her family, knows that she cannot hear. Eveline taught herself to read lips and allows the outside world to view her as daft, content to stay with her family. But when an arranged marriage with a rival clan makes Graeme Montgomery her husband, she accepts her duty—unprepared for the delights to come. Graeme is a rugged warrior with a voice so deep and powerful she can hear it, and hands and kisses so tender and skilled he awakens her deepest passions.

Graeme is intrigued by his new bride, whose silent lips are ripe with temptation, whose bright, intelligent eyes can see into his soul. As intimacy deepens, he learns her secret. But when clan rivalries and dark deeds threaten the wife he has only begun to cherish, the Scottish warrior will move heaven and earth to save the woman who has awakened his heart to the beautiful song of a rare and magical love.

REVIEW: Oh my, Ms. Banks has woven an extremely touching story. The story is compelling and draws you in every step of the way.

While the book started off slow, a bit of background tossed at you, by a third of the book I couldn’t put it down. It is a story that you will want to take in the shower with you, one that you’ll sneak a peek at during red lights, and one that will make your night of rest, alive.

Graeme is an amazingly built character, a man that many should strive to be like. Eveline is such a sweet and strong soul that with each passing scene, you feel your heart growing along with hers.

The chemistry and conflict between these two was nicely played out and the plot of the story was one that keeps you intrigued. I loved watching it all play out and in the end, adored the happily ever after.

If you are looking for a fantastically written historical romance that will give you a bit of a thrill, pick this one up today. Five out of five stars for a job well done.

posted by DComfort on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

?...

Sex

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Great read

    Loved the story and the writting, but there may have been some problems with the editing or quality of this nook book. It skiped entire pages and had to manually go to the page to continue with the read. I will try another book to make sure it was not my nook that was the problem.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    294pgs

    Enjoyed the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    very good

    I loved it! the use of the Gallic words, the description of the battles and the development of the feeling of the two main characters is what makes Maya Bank's books are wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    Read all the Highlander Books, you won't regret it

    Definitely could not put this down either....Maya....you so rock.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a series

    This is a great start to another Highlander series. Maya is fantastic at plotting a story line that grabs you from the first chapter and makes it so you can't put the book down. This book was exactly that situation. I fell in love with the characters. I was taken by surprise at the outcome. I bought the first and 2nd books together and now I have to wait for the 3rd to be released. Waiting is the only bad part of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    Enjoyable start to the series. The beginning and end were aweso

    Enjoyable start to the series. The beginning and end were awesome - so much suspense and twists. But, I did find the middle alittle slow going. This is the first book I've read that dealt with the problem Eveline had, and I give 5 stars to Ms. Banks for that alone. I can't wait to read about the other family members. I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Never Seduce a Scot is the first book in the Montgomerys & A

    Never Seduce a Scot is the first book in the Montgomerys & Armstrongs series by New York Times best-selling author Maya Banks. Eveline Armstrong and Graeme Montgomery are forced into marriage by King Alexander II of Scotland in an attempt to end the decades-long blood feud between their two families.




    Never Seduce a Scot came as a bit of a surprise to me. The title and cover scream "bodice-ripper", but in reality, it sits solidly in the historical romance genre. I was expecting to skim through quite a few sex scenes, but there were only two, and they were important to the progression of the novel and the character development of Graeme and Eveline. (Yes, there is some steaminess, but it's not the focal point of the novel.) It was very well done and well written.




    Never Seduce a Scot is the first novel that I've read by Maya Banks and, again, was nothing like I expected. The writing was gripping, and the characters were easy to connect with. I found myself not only attached to Eveline (who I adored) and Graeme, but also the pool of secondary characters. This sets up nicely for a series because I know that I'll enjoy getting to know each of the characters (though I may not want to imagine them sparking). I will say right now though that Rorie is awesome, and she should remain single. I will be displeased if her happiness depends upon lurve and a man. Back to Eveline - she is probably my favorite heroine that I've read this year. She had an accident three years before the start of the novel that left her deaf, but she pretends to be "daft" in order to escape marriage to the cruel Ian McHugh. Even though she spends years deceiving her family, she felt bad about it and always wanted to come clean. She also works really hard for the acceptance of the Montgomery clan, even though she was faced with meanness, hatred, and disdain at every turn. Graeme Montgomery is written to be a very intelligent man, and it was a bit surprising. He figured out quite a few things in the story that I figured would have me yelling at the characters about for most of the book. They were a good match, and I found myself pulling for them in a way that I have not done in ages.




    The one drawback of Never Seduce a Scot is the dialect. I found the over use of "tis", "lass", and other Scottish slang to be very jarring at first. As the novel went on, I paid less attention to it, but there were occasions that the book got the stink eye from me.




    All in all, Never Seduce a Scot was a very good book and not one to judge by the cover. There are some very fabulous characters, and it is a novel not to be missed. I look forward to reading and reviewing Highlander Most Wanted later this month.




    4/5 Stars




    To satisfy FTC guidelines, I am disclosing that I received a copy of the book from the publisher in preparation of a TLC Book Tour for the second novel in the series in exchange for an honest review. It has in no way affected the outcome. All opinions expressed are rambling, honest, and completely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Loved it

    Maya banks is one of my favorite authors, you will love the H and H in this book her stories pull at your heart strings she is truly gifted as much as i loved this book l still put the mcabe trilogy as my favorite with this suthor but im looking forward to book two : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A pretty good historical romance! Graeme, Graeme, Graeme. Dear

    A pretty good historical romance!


    Graeme, Graeme, Graeme. Dear Lord Graeme. I would love a man like him pleading for me to stay with him. This book was unique from all the others that I have read because of two facts: 1. Eveline is deaf and doesn’t want people to know it. Instead they all thinks she is daft/dumb. And, 2. Graeme isn’t you average Alpha Male. Actually he doesn’t come across as an Alpha male until the end. Graeme made me smile like no other. He wasn’t hard and bristly and needed a woman to change him. Oh, no. He was a bit of a softy to begin with. Which, I really really liked about him. And then when you finally start to get a little ticked and want him to man-up…he does. And then you end up smiling all over again. Now, I kind of expected the over-all plot, but it was still very interesting when it played out including the big climactic scene. The only thing is that it took some time for the action to really start. Overall, I was pretty pleased with this book and this will definitely be a series that I continue with.
    Good:
    Eveline—A different kind of character
    Graeme—A different kind of Alpha male
    Graeme’s brothers—loyal, which is hopeful for the next couple of books.
    Bad:
    The action was a little slow.
    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):
    Overall this is a series I plan on continuing. I liked Maya Banks’ other historical romance series The McCabe Trilogy and I am a giant sucker for Highlanders. I found that I loved the characters and that both seemed pretty different from the standard that many readers have come to expect. The plot was interested, although somewhat slow, and the big large fight scene that we expect with a warrior novel was very well done. Overall I was scooped up into the Scottish world or rivalling clans and a betrothed couple just trying to do what is best for themselves and their people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Just a short story...

    Didn't entice me to read further.
    Should not be regarded as s "book".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Vacation novel

    Great book for vacation read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Enjoyable read!

    Page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    Good read

    I like her books. It is not as good as her first series, but not bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Loved the story.

    Even more so after learning the author's husband is deaf as well. While I am waiting for book 2, I will go back to the McCabe series for a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Entertaining

    I very much enjoyed this book. I sincerely love Maya Banks as an author. I found myself disappointed in only one way. While I would not have expected love scenes to rival her "Sweet" serious, I would have liked to see 'more' in this area. The characters were awesome and I would never turn down a chance to read another in this series. I do think Maya Banks writes truely entertaining and gripping stories, this one included :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3