BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Never Seduce a Scot: The Montgomerys and Armstrongs

Average Rating 4.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Amazingly crafted

ABOUT THE BOOK:
This sinfully sweet new romance from Maya Banks features a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart.

Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but considered "touched...
ABOUT THE BOOK:
This sinfully sweet new romance from Maya Banks features a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart.

Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but considered "touched" to outsiders. Beautiful, fey, with a level, intent gaze, she doesn't speak. No one, not even her family, knows that she cannot hear. Eveline taught herself to read lips and allows the outside world to view her as daft, content to stay with her family. But when an arranged marriage with a rival clan makes Graeme Montgomery her husband, she accepts her duty—unprepared for the delights to come. Graeme is a rugged warrior with a voice so deep and powerful she can hear it, and hands and kisses so tender and skilled he awakens her deepest passions.

Graeme is intrigued by his new bride, whose silent lips are ripe with temptation, whose bright, intelligent eyes can see into his soul. As intimacy deepens, he learns her secret. But when clan rivalries and dark deeds threaten the wife he has only begun to cherish, the Scottish warrior will move heaven and earth to save the woman who has awakened his heart to the beautiful song of a rare and magical love.

REVIEW: Oh my, Ms. Banks has woven an extremely touching story. The story is compelling and draws you in every step of the way.

While the book started off slow, a bit of background tossed at you, by a third of the book I couldn’t put it down. It is a story that you will want to take in the shower with you, one that you’ll sneak a peek at during red lights, and one that will make your night of rest, alive.

Graeme is an amazingly built character, a man that many should strive to be like. Eveline is such a sweet and strong soul that with each passing scene, you feel your heart growing along with hers.

The chemistry and conflict between these two was nicely played out and the plot of the story was one that keeps you intrigued. I loved watching it all play out and in the end, adored the happily ever after.

If you are looking for a fantastically written historical romance that will give you a bit of a thrill, pick this one up today. Five out of five stars for a job well done.

posted by DComfort on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

?...

Sex

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazingly crafted

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    This sinfully sweet new romance from Maya Banks features a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart.

    Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but considered "touched" to outsiders. Beautiful, fey, with a level, intent gaze, she doesn't speak. No one, not even her family, knows that she cannot hear. Eveline taught herself to read lips and allows the outside world to view her as daft, content to stay with her family. But when an arranged marriage with a rival clan makes Graeme Montgomery her husband, she accepts her duty—unprepared for the delights to come. Graeme is a rugged warrior with a voice so deep and powerful she can hear it, and hands and kisses so tender and skilled he awakens her deepest passions.

    Graeme is intrigued by his new bride, whose silent lips are ripe with temptation, whose bright, intelligent eyes can see into his soul. As intimacy deepens, he learns her secret. But when clan rivalries and dark deeds threaten the wife he has only begun to cherish, the Scottish warrior will move heaven and earth to save the woman who has awakened his heart to the beautiful song of a rare and magical love.

    REVIEW: Oh my, Ms. Banks has woven an extremely touching story. The story is compelling and draws you in every step of the way.

    While the book started off slow, a bit of background tossed at you, by a third of the book I couldn’t put it down. It is a story that you will want to take in the shower with you, one that you’ll sneak a peek at during red lights, and one that will make your night of rest, alive.

    Graeme is an amazingly built character, a man that many should strive to be like. Eveline is such a sweet and strong soul that with each passing scene, you feel your heart growing along with hers.

    The chemistry and conflict between these two was nicely played out and the plot of the story was one that keeps you intrigued. I loved watching it all play out and in the end, adored the happily ever after.

    If you are looking for a fantastically written historical romance that will give you a bit of a thrill, pick this one up today. Five out of five stars for a job well done.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Astounding Love Story Never Seduce a Scott is what Scottish Hist

    Astounding Love Story
    Never Seduce a Scott is what Scottish Historical Romance genre is all about. It is an astounding love story that had me in tears. But be forewarned, this book will give you a book hangover and your next book will for sure to put you in a book slump.

    The Armstrongs and the Montgomerys are feuding clans that go back centuries and their hate towards each other are ingrained from childhood. As a last resort to end this quarrel, King Alexander II decides to marry them off. Both clans are furious but a forced alliance was made through Graeme and Eveline’s marriage.

    Maya Banks did a wonderful job with Graeme as the hero, a total Scottish alpha male. He is every bit romantic, as he is a warrior. Everyone respected him, all the women wanted him and he is well endowed!!! He is the exact alpha I love to read about.

    Eveline, is known to be “daft” but yet, forced into a marriage without knowing her groom, live in his household, deal with his clan who hates her, not to mention she has a disability but somehow survived it all. She stood tall, proud and made the worse situation to a better one without help or a pity party. I cheered for her right from the start and reading about her was so uplifting. Let me tell you this chick rocked.
    Maya Banks did well to put these two very strong personalities together without clashing to a disaster. It was so easy to fall for them both. The Romance was just epic!!!

    Never Seduce a Scot is without a doubt. one of my top reads of the year!

    *ARC provided by publisher

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    A must read!

    I loved the entire series, but this one was my absolute favorite. Character development was awesome - angst was just right! Wonderful couple, I will be reading many times! Can't wait for highlander series from this author!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A beautiful love story

    Maya Banks has done it again! “Never Seduce a Scot” kicks off her Montgomerys and Armstrongs Scottish historical trilogy with a very powerful story. The story takes place in the 1200‘s with the King wanting his two most powerful allies and clans in the realm to end their feud. To accomplish this he orders the chief of clan Montogomery to marry the daughter of the chief of clan Armstrong. There are two problems with this, the clans have been at war and Eveline is supposedly “touched”. Graeme, chief of the Montgomerys, knows he must obey the king and the story begins with many conflicts. Eveline and Graeme's story, will warm your heart, bring tears to your eyes and give you hope. If you are a Maya Banks fan you know she loves her tortured characters and Eveline is one them. I think one of the things I loved about Eveline who wasn’t “touched” but deaf, was that you felt her pain and frustration with her hearing loss but she found a way to deal with it making what some would call a negative a positive thing. Maya dealt with her situation with such compassion and strength. At the end of the book Maya explains she based Evelines hearing loss on her husbands own hearing condition. Her personal experience comes through and this is such a wonderful facet of the character and adds richness to the story. One of the many strengths of Maya Banks books is the complexity and depth of her characters. You feel as if you know them in this book as with her others. They bring tears to your eyes and take your breath away. No matter what the genre, Maya is consistent in the sensitivity of her characters and they add a richness to her stories that can’t be ignored. Maya’s stories are unique and if you love reading a book that will take you away then Maya Banks is the author for you. This book is a wonderful addition to her list of successes.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Previously, I enjoyed Maya Banks KGI Series and her Highland Series. I was looking forward to this read since I read a synopsis about it at the beginning of the summer, I was not disappointed. Banks gave more depth to each character in "Never Seduce a Scot." You enjoyed both the hero and heroine as individuals. Then Banks built the relationship and established a depth in the characters you felt connected to those individuals and their clans.

    In addition, this book is a wonderful jumpstart to her new series. There were so many characters introduced that you enjoy and wonder when their story will be written next. The next one is already being anticipated.

    Definitely check this one out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Never Seduce a Scot

    Maya Banks delivers once again.

    In this new historical romance story by Mrs. Banks we have Eveline Armstrong-a gentile lady who has being wronged by those that love her-and her clan's archenemy Laird Graeme Montgomery.

    After a decree from the king to unite the clans in marriage, to starve off impending war between the two strongest clans under his rule, Eveline has her opportunity to have a happy normal life if she has the courage to take it.

    Meanwhile Graeme fights his attraction to his daft wife, only to discover the she is not daft but deaf and that he can have a real marriage and wife. Soon passion ignites and feelings start to surface. But as more time passes it is apparent that the Montgomery clan is not as accepting of their mistress as Graeme is. What will he do and will he do it before is too late?

    It is here that lies the true test of love, and I think that Mrs. Banks developed this book to reflect the deep emotions running rampant between the characters. I cried like my heart was being rip apart for poor Eveline. Specially when she was telling Graeme the story behind the rumor that she was daft.

    This book has depth in conveying what the characters were feeling.

    What I have left to say is that I can't wait to read Bowen's story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Never Seduce a Scot is a wonderfully written, emotion inspiring

    Never Seduce a Scot is a wonderfully written, emotion inspiring book. The story is about two feuding families ordered by the king to have the laird of one marry the daughter of the other. This book is filled with love, treachery, hatred and misunderstanding. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Loved it!!

    This book was really awesome great characters and story, an actual believable story would give it six stars if i coulf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Wow.. a total must read

    I was hesitant to see how the story would be written with her difficulties because it could have ended up a mess, but the author created a wonderful story with a strong but gentle female character and a man who treats her with respect. Yes there are conflicts but it enhances the story so well. Amazing story, now one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    OMG! This book was totally amazing, exciting and yummy! I LOVE h

    OMG! This book was totally amazing, exciting and yummy! I LOVE historical romance and this one didn't let me down. I stayed up until 3:30 am and I had to get up for work at 7:30 am. Was it worth only getting 4 hours sleep? YES!!! I swear, I couldn't put it down! I'm ready to start reading Highlander Most Wanted (tonight) and I'm glad to have read that the third book, Highland Ever After, will be available spring/summer 2015 (posted by author on goodreads). I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Amazing

    It is a very good book with an amazingly nice hero and a great heroine. You wont be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Very good book ,cant wait to read the others in the series!

    Very good book ,cant wait to read the others in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Great Series

    Love Maya Banks and loved this series of Highlanders. Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Must read!

    Crafty story that will keep you entertained to the last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved this book and the author!!!!! You could feel the emotions of Eveline and of Graeme. I cried and was mad for the way Eveline was treated when she went to the Montgomerys. I loved Graeme and how much he loved Eveline. All the supportings characters were very good too. I was disappointed in the 2nd book. This book is a keeper to reread!!!! Highly recommend!!!! This book would make a great movie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Original Post on Romancing the BooksMaya Banks is amazing as she

    Original Post on Romancing the BooksMaya Banks is amazing as she delivers a marvelous tale woven with threads of longing, love and loyalty.

    Never Seduce a Scot has earned a place on my keeper shelf. I absolutely adored this book. I don’t often get emotional while reading but this one moved me. One of the ways I know this is a fantastic read is that it made me cry. I highly recommend reading this wonderful tale of two loving souls coming together to create one beautiful union.

    I loved the premise of the book. The two lead characters are each so intensely loyal to their families it was interesting to see how the story unfolded considering how they had to integrate an Armstrong into the Montgomery clan. This is the first book in The Montgomerys and Armstrongs series. I loved this book so I will absolutely be continuing with the rest of this series.

    Graeme Montgomery the Laird of the Montgomery clan has such integrity and gentleness that I could not help but love him. From the beginning he tries to put aside his ingrained hatred of the Armstrong clan at least in his treatment of Eveline. Graeme’s character throughout the story repeatedly is tested; his hatred of clan Armstrong and his wife who is an Armstrong by birth; his feelings for Eveline and his belief that she has the mind of a child and will never be a true wife to him. I admired him because he was able to be honorable, loyal, gentle, fair and harsh when that was what was needed.

    Eveline Armstrong is resourceful and courageous and even though she did not always behave as I wanted her too, I wanted her to find her way to happiness. She has suffered much and has not been exactly honest with her family for many years. She hides passion and strength underneath a quiet and weak façade. She just needed a sexy highlander to uncover her secret treasures.

    I really like the manner in which the characters interact with the secondary people. This always creates wonderful avenues for future books and sets my mind wondering who and what may happen next.

    Favorite Quote: He wanted there to be no doubt in her mind that he loved her more than it was possible to love any other.

    He place his hand on the closed chamber door and whispered softly, “I love you, Eveline. I’ll make you hear me if ’tis the last thing I do.”
    blog
    / Reviewed by Patti /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Love this book!!

    Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    5 totally worth it stars! Can two people learn to love each othe

    5 totally worth it stars! Can two people learn to love each other despite hatred between their clans and a deception made to save a beautiful woman from a tormenting villain? All the Montgomery's and Armstrong's know is hate and vengeance toward a long standing feud with their clans. When the king degrees a wedding to stem the bloodshed neither side has a choice. Years earlier Eveline was in an accident which left her deaf but in order to save herself from a marriage she doesn't let her family know of her condition and plays the daft lass. Now however she is forced into a marriage with the enemy but surprisingly when Graeme meets her he is kind and understanding. As she is ready to start a new life away from the fear of discovery and of her personal villain she accepts her new position, unlike his clan. I like that she is so gentle and even though it does not start off well she does not give in or wallow. Will Graeme be as understanding when he learns of her deception and what about the unforeseen danger that they will both face? You will just have to read this amazing book to find out. Honestly one of the best books I have read all year. Can't wait to read more from this author, the next book in this series is Highlander Most Wanted.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book started my love affair with Maya Banks. While most of her books are set in modern times, her historicals such as this book are just as well written. The hero is strong enough to be oh-so sexy, but sensitive enough melt your heart, while his woman is a wonderful combination of strength and vulnerability. Their journey to their happily ever after was a joy to read. Oh, and they were smokin' hot, but Maya Banks always delivers in the "steam" department!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8